We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but pokey room and guests should be made to feel more cherished”
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We took our parents here for a birthday celebration and on arrival upgraded their room as it was tiny and they looked out straight into someone else's room! Could see the inhabitants resting on their bed!! I realise we were all only staying for one night but that's no excuse for not giving a warm welcome to guests. Our daughter is studying at Bath University so we planned to perhaps return several times to this hotel but would now go elsewhere. There is after all lots of choice in the beautiful city of Bath. Location is wonderful, right in the centre next to the Abbey but there is no car park attached to the hotel so you need to use the multi-storey a five minute walk away. Breakfast was nice but a smiling face leaves guests with that warm fuzzy feeling. Staff should try it. Guys you need to up your game . Will not be returning

Room Tip: Upgrade to a bigger room
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katrina58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbeyhoteloperations, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to post a reply on this site. We appreciate all forms of feedback.

All the bedrooms are provided with privacy blinds and we do have a three main categories of rooms - cosy double, standard double and large doubles which we hope are clearly identifiable at the booking stage. We also do specify the size of the room on all of the sites on which we advertise. We would like to think that we do not mis-advertise our services on any level.

Our location and hospitality are two great strengths – and we pride ourselves very much in the friendliness of staff which many of the other reviews on this site acknowledge.

We would very much like you to give us another opportunity when you visit your daughter again in Bath to redeem the poor impression this time around.

Kind regards

Richard Goodwin
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,412)
There are newer reviews for The Abbey Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,094 - 1,100 of 1,412 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel is the best hotel for the position and the quality of the staff,
During september 2013 we stayed at the BEST WESTERN Abbey Hotel.uk for one day. We found the staff and management very friendly, polite and always willing to help (above all Rose a very smart girl). It was in a central location and in all a very relaxed stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the square are fantastic
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mondreche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Last minute check in having decided to stay in Bath for a couple of days. The staff were friendly and helpful food to a good standard but a little disappointed with the room which was way to hot and needs to be updated but in all fairness there were renovations being carried out while we were there.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms to the rear of the hotel. Sleep quality would be higher if the room was not so hot a...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on the train and the railway station was a five minute walk away. The hotel is beautiful from the outside and so central. Next to the Abbey and a stones throw from the Roman Baths. Our check in was welcoming and warm and we were on the second floor. Our room was out the back so had a view of other properties but we weren't worried as it was a base. The room was very clean - a little smaller than expected- but everything was lovely. Bathroom was clean and had complimentary REN products, hair dryer, tea facilities and a great flat screen tv.
Breakfast was a great choice and we also had dinner on our last night which was AMAZING! It was more expensive than some places but so yummy we really didn't mind paying that little extra.
As I said, the hotel was central, next to the Abbey, opposite the gardens and so close to the Roman baths. The open top sight seeing bus stop was outside the hotel too.
Excellent value, very friendly and would definitely stay again. It was our first trip away together and this made it just ideal. Would recommend for sure :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

All of the staff were very helpful and friendly. We only stayed one night, the hotel is a little dated in parts but location and staff are second to none. The room was a good size with a great view. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveRayf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The room was extremely hot, no air conditioning. There was a fan but it was so covered in dust we had to switch it off if we didn't want yo trigger an asthma attack. The toilet flush didn't work. The window opened on an extremely noisy back alley. To get to our room we had to pass near the kitchens and the smell was untolerable, at all times!!

On the other end, the location was very convenient and the bed very confortable. The staff at the reception was nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graziella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbeyhoteloperations, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you greatly for the construtive feedback and the positives about staff, great beds and location of The Abbey Hotel.
Regarding the Air Conditioning, we have one third of our bedrooms installed and are scheduled to install air conditioning in another 15 over the next 6 months. Although we do not advertise as having this facility and will not until we are 100% installed, we do realise the benefit in hot weather as we have been experiencing in Bath as of late.
The Kitchen smell is due to the location of the stockpot which is being relocated as a matter of urgency.
Regarding the noise , unfortunately city centre is difficult to control the noise from the general public. At weekends we have a member of staff outside at night to minimise noise issues. As with all city centre hotels, hopefully the location outwieghs the odd bit of street noise.

Hopefully you will give us another opportunity, we have been very busy over last few months in refurbishing our bedrooms.

Warm regards

Richard Goodwin
Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent one night here and booked 2 Cosy Double rooms. One was bigger than the other, but one was certainly more 'cosy' than the other. This really didn't matter though as it was very clean, the beds so comfy and the bathrooms a great size, unlike some hotels were you can't extend your arms! The TV was great and the radio / ipod dock a nice added feature!

For us, the hotel was just a place to sleep, we didn't use the restaurant but it did look very nice.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and the location was perfect for exploring the city.

The only downside was that our rooms were next to a kitchen vent which was quite noisy and night and in the morning, it almost meant we couldn't have the window open and food smells did come into the room.

A great hotel for exploring the city and enjoying all lovely Bath has to offer, also very close to the train station, we walked there with cases in about 5 minutes.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sa_585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#24 of 31 in Bath
2,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.7 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 31 in Bath
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Address: North Parade, Bath BA1 1LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: $149 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Hotel is a privately-owned hotel in one of the best locations in Bath. Situated in North Parade, close to Bath Abbey, Pulteney Bridge, The Pump Rooms and the main shopping centre, it's the perfect base for exploring this glorious city, recognised as a World Heritage Site. The Abbey Hotel is also the ideal place to stay for rugby at Bath, and we are only minutes away from Bath Cricket Club and the Thermae Spa. Guided tour buses exploring the rest of Bath, including the Royal Crescent, Circus and Assembly Rooms, leave from outside the Hotel every 10 minutes. With 60 comfortable rooms, a lounge where you can enjoy coffee and drinks, and The Allium Brasserie selling drinks and meals throughout the day, the Hotel is a great place to unwind, whether you're here for business or pleasure. Watch the world go by from our pavement terrace over a cappuccino, light lunch or an early evening drink.Just opened: our brand new restaurant, The Allium Brasserie, created by our new former Michelin-starred Executive Head Chef, Chris Staines. It's set to become the most popular place to eat in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing