We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great hotel, perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent one night here and booked 2 Cosy Double rooms. One was bigger than the other, but one was certainly more 'cosy' than the other. This really didn't matter though as it was very clean, the beds so comfy and the bathrooms a great size, unlike some hotels were you can't extend your arms! The TV was great and the radio / ipod dock a nice added feature!

For us, the hotel was just a place to sleep, we didn't use the restaurant but it did look very nice.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and the location was perfect for exploring the city.

The only downside was that our rooms were next to a kitchen vent which was quite noisy and night and in the morning, it almost meant we couldn't have the window open and food smells did come into the room.

A great hotel for exploring the city and enjoying all lovely Bath has to offer, also very close to the train station, we walked there with cases in about 5 minutes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sa_585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    505
    187
    58
    30
See reviews for
204
663
60
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We booked on line and got a great price. We arrived by train from London and it was a short walk to the hotel. It is located close to everything and we could have spent a week here instead of 2 days. The staff was stellar and the room was clean and well appointed. There is no air conditioning but on that's par for Europe.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianFunGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We came across this hotel by accident, we needed a place to stay for three nights in Bath. It couldn't have been better if we had planned it in fine detail.
The room we had was at the front of the hotel with fantastic views over Bath. The hotel is only two minutes walk to The Roman Baths, with the Sally Lunn Museum and shop virtually next door.
The restaurant offers a superb menu prepared by an adventurous chef. The meal we had here was the best in our travels in the Uk.
The only issue we had was that it was very warm during our stay and the room, (which had every other facility you could possibly want for a short stay), did not have air conditioning.The hotel provided a fan which was very welcome and as we were on the third floor the windows opened to allow a refreshing breeze into the room.
The staff both in the hotel and the restaurant are wonderfully polite, courteous and helpful. Nothing seems to be too much trouble for them at all.
All in all a great stay we would not hesitate to return to this hotel

Room Tip: At the front of the hotel for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed 4 nights over the banking holiday weekend in August.
We had a lovely room, spacious and very nicely decorated and with very comfortable beds. The only downside was the noise of the pub opposite the hotel on Friday and Saturday nights.
All staff was always friendly and very helpful, particularly in the restaurant (Asta is a star!).
Any remark or question to the front desk staff was sorted very quickly and with no fuss at all.

The restaurant is outstanding, with a creative chef preparing exquisite dishes as appealing to the eyes as to the tastebuds, including for set menus at a very affordable price.
The hotel is in a great location, within walking distance from the station and everything of interest in Bath.
This is definitely a place we'll come back to.

Room tip: room 204 is spacious and lovely. Ask for a room at the back if you visit on Friday or Saturday night and are light sleepers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Lovertoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

The location for this hotel is even better than I had realized. We really liked almost everything about this hotel, although with a couple of small notes. It is very lovely, including the outside, the main restaurant, and the small bar/lounge area at the back of the lobby. Our room was very plain, but I had no problems with that. It was a very plain white room with almost no decor (but had a padded large headboard, and nice black-out Roman blinds on the windows. No closet, but it did have a hanging bar with hangers. Bathroom fine, size of room fine. We were at the back, looking out at rooftops and a beautiful courtyard. This might be a good choice for those going to bed early as there are two pubs outside the front of the hotel and people hang around in front of them almost next to the hotel entrance. We found this charming, but it could create a little noise. The hotel is on a small plaza and not directly on a street (it's not far from the street -- it's more like an extremely deep sidewalk). Bed extremely comfortable. Those with any mobility issues need to talk with the hotel to make sure they don't have steps in the hall outside their door, we did, but it was not a problem. There is a lift, but the steps are between the lift and some room doors. Desk staff extremely nice. Wish we had tried the bar in the lobby, but no time! One tiny criticism: hotel really needs to provide soap dishes. Overall, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Pick rooms at the back for more quiet, and ask about stairs in the hallway if mobility is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxieLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Staff from check-in (a trainee, Jenny, I think, was great) in the bar and restaurant were superb.

The restaurant is much better than you'd expect in a hotel of this nature. (Sometimes too) imaginative cooking, beautifully presented and very accommodating in terms of preparing half portions of anything on the menu for the kids - nice that the children can get some proper food and not be fobbed off with a fish fingers style children's menu.

The rooms, however, verge on the depressing. Certainly the standard ones. Bathrooms would be subpar in a Travelodge. Rooms are boxy and lack any individual touch (considering the amount of art in the public areas of the hotel, completely bare walls in the rooms came as an unwelcome, surprise).

However, we (and I expect quite a number of guests) were only there for 1 night, so a good restaurant and bar on-site, good breakfast and, especially, being slap bang in the middle of everything you'll want to do in Bath mean that you may want to give it a look.

I'm also given to understand the new(ish) owners are in the process of tarting the place up, so perhaps the rooms will come to meet the standard of the staff and public areas of the hotel.

Room Tip: It may be worth asking if your room has benefitted from the renovation programme and what it has by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandy_abstentia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Ledge, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed three nights here. The location is great as it is right downtown in Bath. The room size was labeled as cozy on their website. It really was tiny. We could not walk around the bed even with our suitcases on the floor. Their is no AC and the fan they gave us completely blocked the bathroom entrance. They also charge an additional 30 pounds a night if you have two people instead of one. The lift had room for one person and one suitcase. It required several trips to take our luggage up one floor. The hallways are tiny and we had to go two flights of stairs and through 3 doors to even get to our room after using the lift. The TV was a "smart" TV but you could not use any of the apps because their WiFi required a pin. I brought my Chromecast but alas the TV did not allow switching inputs so I could not enter the code that should have been on the screen. There was also only about 10 channels of which 3 had any actual programming. Normally this wouldn't be a problem but all the shops close early so you are stuck in the room at night. The staff was not friendly or helpful when we asked about the charges or TV. There was no pool or fitness center. They told us to go down the road a half mile and use that gym. It was another 10 pounds a day. In such modern times and the rate they charged I expect much betters.

Room Tip: Don't get a cozy and find something to do late nights to avoid being in the room. Don't sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jyg0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
1.7 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Property: The Abbey Hotel
Address: North Parade, Bath BA1 1LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Hotel is a privately-owned hotel in one of the best locations in Bath. Situated in North Parade, close to Bath Abbey, Pulteney Bridge, The Pump Rooms and the main shopping centre, it's the perfect base for exploring this glorious city, recognised as a World Heritage Site. The Abbey Hotel is also the ideal place to stay for rugby at Bath, and we are only minutes away from Bath Cricket Club and the Thermae Spa. Guided tour buses exploring the rest of Bath, including the Royal Crescent, Circus and Assembly Rooms, leave from outside the Hotel every 10 minutes. With 60 comfortable rooms, a lounge where you can enjoy coffee and drinks, and The Allium Brasserie selling drinks and meals throughout the day, the Hotel is a great place to unwind, whether you're here for business or pleasure. Watch the world go by from our pavement terrace over a cappuccino, light lunch or an early evening drink.Just opened: our brand new restaurant, The Allium Brasserie, created by our new former Michelin-starred Executive Head Chef, Chris Staines. It's set to become the most popular place to eat in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing