We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend in Bath”
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend in Bath”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and had a great time. The room was clean and tidy. The staff very friendly and helpful. The breakfast which was included within the price was excellent. Very convenient for all facilities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbeyhoteloperations, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are Delighted that you clearly had a thoroughly enjoyable visit and stay in Bath. Thank you for the positive recommendation.

We hope that you will visit us again soon.

Kind Regards

Nicola Harvey
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    515
    192
    60
    31
See reviews for
208
678
62
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We spent 2 nights B & B at the Abbey Hotel. location for the city is excellent. It is only rated as 3* and the rooms are in much need of refurbishment as are the stair and hall carpets that are badly worn in places. There was a lack of hot water the first morning and the shower hose and head were faulty. That said the hotel management were quick to respond and very obliging. My wife and I were overlooking the front of the hotel and it proved to be particularly noisy in the early hours of Saturday morning but that was not the fault of the hotel. Our friend were overlooking the rear 'courtyard' and slept undisturbed.
The staff were all very attentive and I could not fault any of them Breakfasts compared well with hotels of 4 and even 5* ratings.
The hotel is only a few doors away from Sally Lunn's.
Definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the rear of the hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanA46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbeyhoteloperations, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel and for your recommendation,

We are fortunate to be offering accommodation within three superb Georgian townhouse properties situated in the heart of Bath. Whilst the doors may show the patina of many visitors, and in places seem a little tired we are in the process of replacing and refurbishing many areas, the carpets being one as I write! Our interest is in offering a warm welcome and ensuring that our guests have an enjoyable stay. Thank you for your open, helpful and honest review and we look forward to seeing you back at the Abbey Hotel.

Kind Regards

Nicola Harvey
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed here for weekend away and found the hotel to be perfect for us. Lovely staff, clean room and great central location. Breakfast was lovely and although we chose to eat out on both nights the hotel restaurant looked very good.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andypandy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbeyhoteloperations, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Delighted that you clearly had a thoroughly enjoyable visit and stay in Bath.

Our breakfast chef takes great pride in using the best ingredients and preparing to order - it is always re-assuring to receive heartfelt appreciation. The Allium Brasserie is also a great place to eat in evening and we are proud that it is one of the top restaurants in Bath.(As per Tripadvisor reviews)

Thank you for the very positive recommendation. I hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you again to the Abbey Hotel.

Kind Regards
Nicola Harvey
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Nazaire, France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

What a great hotel, right in the heart of Bath. The hotel has nice rooms clean and tidy and the staff is extremely helpfull, a great explanation of where to park and every attention is made for you... I would recommend without a doubt..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbeyhoteloperations, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your review, It was very nice of you to pass along such wonderful comments regarding your recent stay. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for the thoughtful review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards

Nicola Harvey
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The hotel is well placed for all the attractions. A few steps away from Sally Lunns.
Parking is neaby in the Southgate shopping centre about a 7 minute walk.
We found the staff friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was good and politely served.

All in all a good hotel in a tourist busy city.

Room Tip: Book a large double. Number 307 is on the 3rd floor (Top floor) looking out towards the Catherdral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank encodeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Unlike the other reviewers I do not feel this hotel had particularly helpful or friendly service. When I arrived 2 hours early I was told my room was ready and I went upstairs to see it. It overlooked another bedroom and the kitchen fan. With the windows closed it was very loud and you could hear a constant "whirring" of the fan. I opened the window to try and see where the noise was coming from and it was basically from a very large fan down below. When you have paid quite a high price to stay for 2 nights and have booked in advance you do not expect this kind of room. When I rung the receptionist she told me that the fan would only be on until 9:30pm at night and then back on for breakfast (so basically back on at 6:30am). I told her this wasn't good enough and she explained to me the hotel was quite full and so she did not think there would be any spare rooms but she'd call me back. I never got a ring back and there was a sign outside the hotel saying they had plenty of accommodation available for that night.

I decided to go downstairs and spoke to a different receptionist who in the same patronising tone told me about how long the fan would be on for and then proceeded to tell me that I had in fact been upgraded into a cosy double from a single room. I told her I would be happy enough in a single as long as I was in a quiet room as this was a holiday and paying £87 a night was already quite a lot of money. She found a room and told me it was ready and I could go up. The room was on the third floor, front facing, bigger than my original room with a beautiful view and was a lovely size. I really can not see how a cosy double was an upgrade from the single room.

I used tripadvisor reviews before booking this hotel and I am surprised by the manager's comments to the bad reviews of the poor service at breakfast, the rude receptionists or hot and stuffy rooms by saying it is not normally like that. I think rather than keep apologising to reviewers it's important they actually do something about it. If they put a small electric fan in the cupboard this would really help because the rooms are too stuffy and my first night was awful it was far too hot and I slept with a wet towel round my head as I was boiling!! The second night was much better as I had kept the window open the whole day.

I do agree with another review who mentioned the rudeness of the two girls who serve breakfast. After asking what I wanted they would give the male restaurant staff (for lunch) eyes. It made me feel uncomfortable.

Where this hotels falls short is the service. The nicest people in the hotel were the cleaners. The waitresses at breakfast would screech at me if I sat in the wrong table, no one was there to meet you at breakfast so you never knew where to sit! And when I'd found the right table they just did not seem bothered about me and I felt like they were busy getting ready for lunch and didn't want me there. I think the best service I had was at the end of my stay when I asked the receptionist if I could leave my suitcase behind while I did some walking and picked it up later, she was very accommodating and helpful.

The restaurant and reception staff appeared very preoccupied with their restaurant and appeared to forget they were a hotel and had hotel guests staying. It seemed as if they wanted to make sure their restaurant was the best in Bath and so as a guest coming to Bath for a short holiday I did not feel well cared for at all during my stay. I was made to feel like I was a difficult guest for not being satisfied with a room facing the loud kitchen fan.

Room Tip: If you are not satisfied with a room (ie. a cosy room facing the kitchen fan) ask reception for a fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ye Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbeyhoteloperations, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback which we have read with interest, we appreciate all objective and reasonable comments and your points regarding the room have been noted.

We were however disappointed by your comments regarding the unfriendly and uncaring staff as this could not be further from the truth and we are sorry that you did not feel this was so - Customer service remains our focus and as others have kindly pointed out many times through this medium, we deliver on a daily basis; occasional shortcomings, some within and others outwith our control, are regrettable and we always seek to react positively to those who, quite correctly, “keep us on our toes”.

Regards
Nicola Harvey
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We spent two nights here exploring the delights of Bath. This hotel is in a fantastic location within walking distance of great pubs, shopping and the tourist things to see, just around the corner from the Roman Baths. The room was spacious, beds comfy and breakfast good. The only slight letdown was the shower...the pressure was low and when the shower was going next door there was no hot water. I do think this hotel is a very good three star hotel and excellent value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaynebro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#13 of 34 in Bath
1,344 reviews
0.3 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 34 in Bath
2,740 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Property: The Abbey Hotel
Address: North Parade, Bath BA1 1LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Hotel is a privately-owned hotel in one of the best locations in Bath. Situated in North Parade, close to Bath Abbey, Pulteney Bridge, The Pump Rooms and the main shopping centre, it's the perfect base for exploring this glorious city, recognised as a World Heritage Site. The Abbey Hotel is also the ideal place to stay for rugby at Bath, and we are only minutes away from Bath Cricket Club and the Thermae Spa. Guided tour buses exploring the rest of Bath, including the Royal Crescent, Circus and Assembly Rooms, leave from outside the Hotel every 10 minutes. With 60 comfortable rooms, a lounge where you can enjoy coffee and drinks, and The Allium Brasserie selling drinks and meals throughout the day, the Hotel is a great place to unwind, whether you're here for business or pleasure. Watch the world go by from our pavement terrace over a cappuccino, light lunch or an early evening drink.Just opened: our brand new restaurant, The Allium Brasserie, created by our new former Michelin-starred Executive Head Chef, Chris Staines. It's set to become the most popular place to eat in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing