We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Abbey Hotel
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location and good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We spent two nights here exploring the delights of Bath. This hotel is in a fantastic location within walking distance of great pubs, shopping and the tourist things to see, just around the corner from the Roman Baths. The room was spacious, beds comfy and breakfast good. The only slight letdown was the shower...the pressure was low and when the shower was going next door there was no hot water. I do think this hotel is a very good three star hotel and excellent value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaynebro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    498
    180
    58
    26
See reviews for
200
648
60
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed one night (28/3/13), we picked it from the internet and booked a couple of days ahead. We had difficulty finding it at first as we were driving a hire car in unknown territory! It is on the edge of the mall with a public car park a short walk away (not too expensive). This was a great hotel, very clean and the most comfortable beds ever! The staff were very friendly and helpful. A tiny little lift, but hey it did the job. Shower over bath, which had great pressure. we were on the 3rd floor and had good heating and a window that could be opened. Breakfast was included and was great; cereals, fruit and toast and hot food cooked to order. Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieHCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Booked a cozy double and it was cozy.The bed was comfortable with plenty of pillows. I can't imagine two people staying in this room.Not much room for luggage or to move. The bathroom appeared to be partially updated- new fan,fresh paint and lighting older sink and shower fixtures..plenty of hot water. View of roof and fire escape stairs. Tv is on wall to the side not the front of the bed which was awkward. I think this room may have been a single and they jammed a double bed in the room. For one person it's great to have a large bed. The cooked breakfast was made to order, which I appreciate as I am not a big fan of buffets. Coffee needs work but the tea was good. Many restaurants and tea shops just steps from the hotel and a 5 minute walk to the station. I would consider the abbey the next time I am in Bath

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank qprrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
196 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

The problem I get with Best Western is that you never know what you are going to get, you can go from a great venue with wonderful service to something that is really not acceptable. Its this lack of consistancy across the group that reduces the number of stays I make with them.

However, after checking out on Tripadvisor and given it was a one-night stay, I selected this hotel.

It is well situated in the centre of Bath, a short and easy walk from the rail station.

Check-in was good and I was walked to my room which was hidden away behind the dining room.

The room, for me, was excellent - a tall room with windows high up, but lovely and warm. I was staying alone and for one night, so it was great for me, however if it is a couple staying and particularly for more than a night I could see this room as being unacceptably small.

Bathroom was fine for me, but the shower performance was not that powerful. The shampoo etc are very good.

TV in the bedroom is a bit small and choice of channels was low, with a bit of a fuzzy screen - not really acceptable in these digital days,

Wi-fi is free and the quality was fine for me.

Breakfast was very nice - good choice and good quality. Hot breakfast is cooked for you and was also very good quality. The only issue is catching someone's eye to serve you, although this was not a big problem.

Overall, if you want a stay in Bath, this is a very nice, centrally situated hotel run in a professional manner by people who care about their product.

I would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Given the age of this building I suspect there will be significant differences in the size and layou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawkwind1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbeyhoteloperations, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again to the hotel in the future

Kind regards
Nicola Harvey
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a fantastic central location, close to all the sights and lovely restaurants in Bath. I asked for a room with a view, and got just that. The room was very basic and with slightly tacky furniture. The bed was VERY small and a bit uncomfortable and the room a little cold. There were no extra blankets but I asked and one was delivered straight away. The bathroom was fine but we couldn't work the shower(!). The breakfast was delicious (but no marmite!)and the waitresses and receptionists were very helpful and cheerful. I would recommend the hotel if you don't mind compromising a bit... Food lovely, service excellent, location brilliant but room a bit disappointing.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shinyhappy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbeyhoteloperations, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the hotel, as all feedback whether positive or otherwise is constructive and helps us maintain the high standards we aim to achieve.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your room, along with redecorationg the rooms we are currently replacing all the beds in the hotel and have now completed 98% of them the latest arriving just today so I hope that you will consider staying with us again, when I am confident you will have a great stay.

Finishing on a positive note, thank you for your kind remarks regarding the food and staff, we look forward to hopefully welcoming you again to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Nicola Harvey
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Excellent location, central to Bath and easy walking distance to all shopping and entertainment and attractions. Staff were very welcoming and friendly. I would highly recommend this hotel and hope to return again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Discerning101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbeyhoteloperations, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the hotel, as all feedback whether positive or otherwise is constructive and helps us maintain the high standards we aim to achieve.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind comments. We also hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future

Kind Regards

Nicola Harvey
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed for the Easter Bank Holiday weekend, and asked for a front facing room for the view, which was fantastic. As others have stated, it does get a bit noisy outside but there was pretty good sound insulation from the double glazing.

Unfortunately this was no help blocking out the idiotic stag/rugby group who stayed on our floor. Every single night they rampaged along the corridor at 4am screaming, shouting, knocking on doors and singing, on one occasion for a whole hour. We complained at reception, who were very apologetic. They said they would speak to them, and offered us complementary drinks. It might, however, have been better if they had not continued to serve them in the hotel bar until 4am, which they continued to do so the whole thing happened all over again - although at least not for quite as long. Staff could not have failed to have heard the noise, but at no point on any of the three nights did anyone come up and ask them to stop.

Apart from that the hotel was very well placed, making it perfect for popping in and out of while exploring Bath (which is a fantastic place to visit). The room was clean, although we did have to ask three times one day for a cleaner, as she'd missed us out, and the hotel bar was very nice indeed. They also had Ren products in the bathroom, which was a nice touch,

Overall it felt a little over-priced - a good area, but could do with some more creature comforts and definitely a more active stance on noisy guests!

Room Tip: The hotel faces a square with two pubs, one of which is open very late, so light sleepers would be b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJHibbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbeyhoteloperations, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your candid feedback. Please accept my sincerest apologies for any inconveniences you encountered during your stay with us-- this does not by any means represent the standards The Best Western Abbey Hotel is known for, nor is it the usual type of guest that we have staying at the hotel.

I am truly confident that we can provide you with a great stay in the future and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back. I would like to invite you to contact me directly should you wish to stay with us again and I will be more than pleased to assist you. Once again my sincere apologies.

Kind regards
Nicola Harvey
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#8 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
1.7 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Property: The Abbey Hotel
Address: North Parade, Bath BA1 1LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Hotel is a privately-owned hotel in one of the best locations in Bath. Situated in North Parade, close to Bath Abbey, Pulteney Bridge, The Pump Rooms and the main shopping centre, it's the perfect base for exploring this glorious city, recognised as a World Heritage Site. The Abbey Hotel is also the ideal place to stay for rugby at Bath, and we are only minutes away from Bath Cricket Club and the Thermae Spa. Guided tour buses exploring the rest of Bath, including the Royal Crescent, Circus and Assembly Rooms, leave from outside the Hotel every 10 minutes. With 60 comfortable rooms, a lounge where you can enjoy coffee and drinks, and The Allium Brasserie selling drinks and meals throughout the day, the Hotel is a great place to unwind, whether you're here for business or pleasure. Watch the world go by from our pavement terrace over a cappuccino, light lunch or an early evening drink.Just opened: our brand new restaurant, The Allium Brasserie, created by our new former Michelin-starred Executive Head Chef, Chris Staines. It's set to become the most popular place to eat in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing