We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Location, location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Just straight out of the train station, 5 min walk. Staff is hardworking, pleasant and all smiles. Fabulous food, great prices for all meals. Rooms are sufficient and quiet. It's perfect location for exploring the city. It is so central that my husband could take my packages back to our room, while I sat for a cup of tea in Sally Lunn bun house!

Room Tip: Value for your money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ze888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    504
    186
    58
    30
See reviews for
203
662
60
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

The location of this hotel is fantastic. You can walk to the shops & resturants and the Catherdral is literally a stones throw from the hotel. It was a prefect location for the Christmas markets. The hotel itself was ok. Downstairs they have a lovely bar area and whilst we didn't eat in the restaurant those that did gave postitive reveiws. The stairways and halls need a revamp - there is some ripped carpet as you go up the stairs and it does needs a lick of paint as it looks a bit tired. Our room was small but perfectly aduquate, as to was the bathroom. The windows are old sash windows; whilst they look lovely we were woken up early morning with the noise from outside. We stayed at the front of the hotel which had lovely views to the Cathedral and park. If your a light sleeper it may be worth requesting a room at the back of the hotel, although then you would miss out on the views.

Room Tip: If your a light sleeper maybe choose a room at the back of the hotel - the rooms to the front have l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshchick86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at The Bath Abbey Hotel during the Christmas market and holiday activities. The hotel is centrally located in Bath with restaurants, pubs, historic sites, and shopping just out the front door. Our room was small, which was okay. My partner complained to me about the quality of the mattresses. I would recommend this hotel if you are planning a visit to beautiful bath.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoshIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Normally when visiting my daughter at Bath uni we stay at the Hilton or the Macsonalds bath spa, but as I was supposed to be travelling alone went for the cheaper option and booked a std double room, then my beautiful wife decide to tag along got to the hotel which in a great spot overlooking the abbey, when we arrived the chap on reception was very pleasant I asked if we could have a larger room and pay the extra, he duly upgraded us but !!!!!! At no extra cost how good is that in today's market place when most are out for every last penny.
Room was great good bed lovely original fireplace and a fantastic view of the Abbey, parking is about 5 mins walk which is normal in bath as very few hotels have parking but only £12.50 for overnight an all the next day
We will be back it's a good hotel and in. Great position for town.

Room Tip: We had 30 really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owenski37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Some people have written some very average reports about this hotel, but I am here to counter these!

We arrived on a wet december morning, and although we knew it was too early to check in we thought we'd give it a go.

The receptionist was very friendly, offered to store our bags and said they would contact us if the room was ready early. It wasn't but that was ok, we went out sightseeing and shopping, and when we came back we were told our room was ready.

And the secret is out. 201, that's the room you should be asking for. Tastefully refurbished, with a great view. We were celebrating a special occasion, and they gave us a voucher for the bar to use.

The toiletries in the bathroom were REN, (very nice) and they supplied me a toothbrush and razor when I realised I'd forgotten my washbag, the water was hot, the bath relaxing.

We had a drink in the room, and went to the refurbished bar. The barman was very welcoming and professional, and the lounge had a nice feel to it.

We ate out but came back for a late drink at the bar before falling asleep in the ultra comfortable bed. The room was warm and not draughty at all, and with the double glazing closed, you couldn't hear anything from the street.

Breakfast was just right, and even though the vegetarian breakfast I had was a little on the small side, (bit mean considering the price £15) and the veggie sausage wasn't quorn, and more like a croquette, but all the continental extras made up for it.

Overall, the staff were amazingly helpful, and professional and we were made to feel really welcome.

We'll definitely be returning, special occassion or not. But. Make sure you get a refurbished room, then you'll have nothing to complain about!

Room Tip: ask for room 201. Best View. And refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales U.K.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Wonderful staff.first class location,good cocktail bar,and last but not least,good restaurant.We had a great weekend.Nothing was too much trouble.We had a room at the front of the hotel which was very quiet.We did hear from someone that it can be a little noisy if in the back of the hotel.I guess that's because there are bars there.
We will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellissimaWalesU_K_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbeyhoteloperations, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments, it is important to receive feedback from our customers to assist in our efforts to exceed expectations.

I am so pleased that your stay was an enjoyable one. We will be delighted to welcome you back to the Abbey Hotel

Kind regards
Nicola Harvey
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Mistakenly we thought the hotel had started to refurbish the rooms. We were initially shown to a very small double room which was very tired and dated. On asking whether there was a refurbished room available we were told that there were no refurbished rooms other than a 'lick of paint'. However we were shown to an alternative room which was more spacious and at least had a new flat screenTV althought it still had the same dated furniture. However the bed looked nice and inviting. However we discovered when we slept on it it was from the 'Old tired hotel' that the new owners had bought and had yet to replace the worn out beds. As a result we had a sleepless night. Please be warned and if staying at the hotel make sure that you ask for a room which at least has a new matress!

The good news is that if the new owners can refurbish the rooms to the same quality as the restaurant and bar area then this very central hotel, with excellent food, will be a great place to stay.

The meal we had in the restaurant was excellent as were the staff. Breakfast was also good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a new bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
1.7 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Property: The Abbey Hotel
Address: North Parade, Bath BA1 1LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Hotel is a privately-owned hotel in one of the best locations in Bath. Situated in North Parade, close to Bath Abbey, Pulteney Bridge, The Pump Rooms and the main shopping centre, it's the perfect base for exploring this glorious city, recognised as a World Heritage Site. The Abbey Hotel is also the ideal place to stay for rugby at Bath, and we are only minutes away from Bath Cricket Club and the Thermae Spa. Guided tour buses exploring the rest of Bath, including the Royal Crescent, Circus and Assembly Rooms, leave from outside the Hotel every 10 minutes. With 60 comfortable rooms, a lounge where you can enjoy coffee and drinks, and The Allium Brasserie selling drinks and meals throughout the day, the Hotel is a great place to unwind, whether you're here for business or pleasure. Watch the world go by from our pavement terrace over a cappuccino, light lunch or an early evening drink.Just opened: our brand new restaurant, The Allium Brasserie, created by our new former Michelin-starred Executive Head Chef, Chris Staines. It's set to become the most popular place to eat in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing