We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to start our vacation!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to start our vacation!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Abbey Hotel, on the recommendation of our travel agent, before continuing to Cornwall. We could not have been more pleased! Our room was updated, clean, and comfortable. The front desk staff were friendly and accommodating. The central location was very convenient for seeing all of the sites in Bath. We were especially happy with the service in the bar and restaurant. I would highly recommend the Abbey Hotel for anyone visiting Bath.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitch S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    506
    187
    58
    30
See reviews for
204
665
60
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Central location, good price considering there are some very pricey places in bath. Large well equipped room and staff polite and efficient. Will book again for the Christmas market. Look around online to find special rates. No parking

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

The hotel is in a very good location for central Bath and is reasonably well equipped. I found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. Although we had a room at the front of the hotel, there was very little street noise even with the windows open. Breakfast was nice and cooked to order, though the staff were not able to be as attentive on the mornings when the hotel was busy.

A couple of points to consider if you are thinking of staying:

1. No parking, you need to use a public car park but it's not far away;
2. Only one lift and this is quite small and can be busy at times. We used the stairs as we were only on the second floor but some may find its better to ask for a lower floor;
3. No air conditioning and the rooms are warm.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bobabout1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

The location is perfect but we did not sleep well here as it was the most uncomfortable bed we had ever slept on (at 150.00 per night!). The bathroom blind was too short to actually give you privacy in the bathroom (5 inches too short) and we were on street level.

Room Tip: Ask if you are getting one of the rooms pictured on their website as they look quite different than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
559 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We got the last room in the hotel that night! Front desk was very accommodating and the closeness to the Roman Baths was amazing. The food was a bit pricey and parking is across the street in public lot, but all was convenient and we were glad we found a good spot.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the ground floor. It can get noisy from the cafes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

On a recent return visit to Bath, I had the pleasure of staying at The Abbey Hotel. The location was amazing-right smack in the middle of this beautiful city. The immaculate accommodations were modern and very comfortable, and the food was outstanding! An exceptionally helpful and kind staff met every need, answered every question, and made every effort to make my stay a pleasant one. No air conditioning made for a bit of a warm room, but it hardly seemed more than a slight inconvenience. The city remains one of the most beautiful I've seen, and the Abbey Hotel, recently updated, is the perfect place to relax after a long day of sight-seeing. An excellent find at a reasonable price!

Room Tip: Even my single room had ample space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel has had a part make over. Its position is excellent for all attractions in Bath. Small bedrooms but comfortable and clean, with en suite. Brilliant Restaurant, Excellent staff, pleasant polite and helpful and nice enough lounge bar if you need to sit a while.

Room Tip: Probably a room at the back would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
1.7 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Property: The Abbey Hotel
Address: North Parade, Bath BA1 1LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Hotel is a privately-owned hotel in one of the best locations in Bath. Situated in North Parade, close to Bath Abbey, Pulteney Bridge, The Pump Rooms and the main shopping centre, it's the perfect base for exploring this glorious city, recognised as a World Heritage Site. The Abbey Hotel is also the ideal place to stay for rugby at Bath, and we are only minutes away from Bath Cricket Club and the Thermae Spa. Guided tour buses exploring the rest of Bath, including the Royal Crescent, Circus and Assembly Rooms, leave from outside the Hotel every 10 minutes. With 60 comfortable rooms, a lounge where you can enjoy coffee and drinks, and The Allium Brasserie selling drinks and meals throughout the day, the Hotel is a great place to unwind, whether you're here for business or pleasure. Watch the world go by from our pavement terrace over a cappuccino, light lunch or an early evening drink.Just opened: our brand new restaurant, The Allium Brasserie, created by our new former Michelin-starred Executive Head Chef, Chris Staines. It's set to become the most popular place to eat in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bath
Bath Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing