We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Bath(Bath)(Great Value!)
$140
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$205
$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Bailbrook House Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Abbey Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Henrietta House(Bath)(Great Value!)
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Queensberry Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
$167
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$311
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$409
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,545)
Filter reviews
2,545 results
Traveler rating
1,354
834
253
81
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,354
834
253
81
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbrasserie blancfeature roomqueen squarecar parklovely hotelsuperior roomafternoon teacentral locationclassic roomnespresso machineper nightthird floorbed was very comfortableroyal crescentmain attractionswithin easy walking distanceeggs benedict
Filter
Updating list...
278 - 283 of 2,545 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2017 via mobile

Nice enough and really well located. But when i pay over gbp300(excluding breakfast, and only 24 hours free wifi), i would expect some basics such as level floors, not waking up every time someone walks down the corridor, and not having to climb over the toilet bowl just to get into the shower....

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank mvandervlugt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisHotelBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2017

Dear mvandervlugt
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. I'm pleased that you found our location convenient but disappointed to read of the shortcomings you experienced. I'm puzzled as to why your device limited you to only 24 hours free wi-fi as this service is extended throughout a guests stay and normally updates automatically. The building itself is almost three hundred years old and I agree that some of the corridors are a little uneven and creaky but your point is well taken.

Kindest regards
Mads Nielsen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2017

Relaxed elegance, attentive service and comfortable, well appointed rooms makes the Francis Hotel a home from home when visiting Bath. Add to that the central location on Queen's Square and I look forward to staying there on every trip I make to Bath.

This Hotel and the team there get it 'oh so right' consistently and that is easier said than done!

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank ttfothergill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisHotelBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2017

Dear ttfothergill.
Thank you so much for your glowing review! Its always a pleasure to welcome back regular guests, and with Bath having so much to offer, one visit never seems enough! Thank you too for your kind words about the team. I know they were delighted to read them.

We look forward to seeing you next time.
Mads Nielsen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2017

The hotel in my opinion was very very nicely decorated and everything was to a high standard. The hotel was great, worked well and felt comfortable without pretence.

All the staff were wonderful. Great location, would highly recommend and would definitely stay again.

Thanks

Room Tip: All good chic rooms as far as I'm aware, good sound insulation even street / park facing
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Missing_1ink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisHotelBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2017

Dear Missing_1ink

Thank you for sharing your excellent view!

We are glad you liked the room and the positioning of the hotel, we are very lucky with the position of the hotel.

Thank you too for your kind words about the team. We will pass your kind words to the team.

Mads Nielsen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2017

This hotel is well situated for any city discovery. We had a standard room which was cosy, but quiet as it was at the rear of the hotel. We had requested this as Queen Square is very busy.
The breakfast was a buffet although a menu was offered to us nobody bothered to ask if we wanted to order anything from the menu. Lack of staff made the experience poor and inefficient.
We were surprised to return to our room at 11.00 to discover the maid cleaning our room despite our cases and bags being visible and moved! We were not due to check out until 12.00 so we were not impressed.

Room Tip: request a quiet room wnen booking
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlD134634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisHotelBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2017

Dear AlD134634,

Thank you for your review of your stay, and the feedback to help us improve.

We have passed the comments in reference to Brasserie Blanc so they are able to put training in place, to help a repeat of the issue you experienced.

The head housekeeper has been informed of the cleaner entering the room before your departure, and has spoken to the member of staff to make sure there is not a repeat off this.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon and show you this is not how our usual high standards are.

Kind regards
Mads Nielsen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2017

This hotel is in a perfect location, by a leafy square close to a beautiful park and the town center, surrounded by restaurants and bars. The concierge and staff at reception are friendly and efficient, and our room facing the square was large and nicely decorated. The bed is also very comfortable. I would give it a 5 if it were not for two things that the hotel could do better (particularly for the price). First, breakfast is not up to standard. The staff seemed to be bothered by any little request, and the food was of lower than average quality (e.g. cheap sliced bread and dry baguettes, hard as stones fruit, soggy eggs, etc). Second, the hotel markets itself as "for ladies". I think this is a nice idea, but the problem is that it is poorly executed. If you are going to make a case for targeting women, you need a few basics: decent lightning in the bathroom (it was impossible to do my make up); a telephone shower that works well and has enough pressure (so you can properly wash your hair); a hair dryer, etc. Mind you, these things were not particularly worse than in other hotels, but then other hotels don't try to capitalize on the "ladies" segment. It is all about matching what you promise to what you offer. Overall, though, we had a nice stay and I wouldn't mind staying here again for a reasonable price. I'd just go to breakfast to the bakery by the corner.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisHotelBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2017

Dear Maria M
Thank you very much for posting your valued review. I was pleased that you found our location suitable and our welcome warm and efficient. Thank you too for your constructive feedback regarding breakfast. Your comments have been passed on to the Breakfast Manager who wishes to express his apologies. I found your thoughts on our new initiative "inspired by her" particularly interesting and have taken your suggestions on board.

See you next time!
Mads Nielsen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews