We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and a pleasant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent service and a pleasant hotel”
Reviewed September 1, 2014

We stayed here for a break away from everyday life and both thoroughly enjoyed our time in Bath.
The staff were very friendly and the service was great in particular Alex who worked behind the bar was a credit to the hotel. He managed to persuade us on both nights that we should taste his excellent cocktails and his enthusiasm in wanting to make new ones drove us to ordering more!
The room was lovely considering we did a last minute booking however we were on the side overlooking the grass square which is lovely but noises from traffic. A choice you need to consider when booking.......nice view but noisy or car park view but quieter! Breakfast was delicious with a large selection of fresh fruit, cheese, salamis, croissants, full English, yogurts and more!bthere us also the option to order from a menu.
Ideal location for Bath city, you can walk everywhere!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burtie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for your review; I will make sure it is passed on to all concerned. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,194
    719
    216
    68
    20
See reviews for
306
1,372
70
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2014

Very fine regency hotel in the heart of Bath in Queen's Square with very distinctive rooms. Recently renovated with Raymond Blanc restaurant, ideal for central Bath.

Only down side is £15/night car parking and £19/person breakfast. Good news is there's lots of very good cafe's & restaurants nearby!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for your review. I’m glad to see you had a good time.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in a feature room and enjoyed our stay. No complaints apart from the £15 per night parking charge and the breakfast chaos. 2 attempts at scrambled egg on white toast failed abysmally as our waitress could not get to grips with a pen and paper. Would stay again but have breakfast somewhere else !

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robintaylor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for your comments; all feedback is valued and I will certainly be looking into this. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

Four of us went here for afternoon tea to celebrate a birthday and would not go again.

No one came to take our order, we had to ask in another room and when our tea came we were not given milk or sugar, despite asking twice, and were forced to minesweep from other uncleared tables. The food itself took far too long from ordering to arrive even though we were the only group there and was distinctly average when it finally came.

Service was extremely poor, the staff were obviously badly trained and communication was terrible. Would absolutely never go here again which is a shame as the setting is so perfect and the location is great. There are plenty of other great places to go in bath so I wouldn't even bother trying here for tea!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Flick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Oh my goodness, this is disappointing. I would very much like to discuss this with you in person so I can get some more detail. Please could you call me on 01225 424105.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead - UK
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2014

Everything a luxury hotel should be. We stayed in one of the feature rooms which had a "four poster" bed (very big, lovely and comfortable but although there were posts at each corner of the bed there was no canopy so not sure it was really a 4-poster). The fluffy towels were probably the softest I have ever had in a hotel and the staff could not have been more helpful. Definitely a hotel to recomend

Room Tip: You get for what you pay for, but check the comparison websites and get a feature room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam_in_the_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your recommendations I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay. The four poster beds in the Feature rooms in the Hotel are a contemporary design; I do hope you liked it.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in August in a tiny, (but not the smallest) room on the floor despite the high price. It's a nice looking hotel in a superb location but they've crammed so much in to it that even the reception is a temporary looking lean-to next to the lift and there are too many rooms - hence the size.
I gouged my leg on the glass topped table when returning from a visit to the bathroom because there was so little room between the bed and the table. I mentioned this on check out and while the receptionist did offer me a bandage he wasn't really concerned that I was hurt or there was a real problem with this situation. He then presented me with our bar bill, without even a pause to consider knocking at least that off. I emailed Accor HQ, and the manager of the Francis emailed back a week later to express his 'clear' concern (!?) and would follow up with a phone call. I'm still waiting a further week later.

I'd give it a lower rating if the location wasn't as great as it is and the decor is good. So, the service and small room brings it down to 'average'. The table top wasn't broken - it just sticks out, so it's not a suitable design for a small room. Americans beware - you'd hate the room size and unlike us Brits, probably sue them for causing injury!

Room Tip: Ask for a big one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to speak to me following your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back at the end of November.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2014

My husband and I had a fantastic two night stay in Bath at this hotel. It has been recently remodeled and is decorated to a high standard. The bed was very comfortable. There is a small refrigerator in the room, which was a nice touch. It's nice to be able to keep drinks cool.
The hotel is located directly across from a park and it's an easy walk to the Royal Crescent and Jane Austen sites. It's also right in the middle of the city center, so close for shopping and all sight-seeing.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mysticaltravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you very much for sending in a review. It’s great to see that you had such an enjoyable stay and we hope we see you again very soon.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,397 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 31 in Bath
2,805 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Mercure Bath
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing