We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

I only scored the Francis 4/5 because of the extremely slow service in the bar area. We waited 1/2 hour to order drinks when it wasn't busy on one occasion, on another we had to remind reception to send someone to take our order. We were a group of 9 on a hen weekend. The service was otherwise faultless and we all said we'd stay here again. Simon, the evening reception/duty manager was particularly patient especially with one member of our group who had a little too much to drink! He "handled" her very well and is a credit to the hotel. The location was perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel, away from the corner of the streets. We had room # 228 &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E-traveller1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for sending in your review. I am pleased you all had a good stay with us and enjoyed the hen weekend. I will certainly pass on your compliments to Simon; it is always a great boost to morale. I hope the wedding goes well.
Kind regards
John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,132
    666
    197
    65
    18
See reviews for
284
1,288
66
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

What a class of a hotel. Everthing like it should be. Old Victorian romantic style and so cosy.
Only minor thing dissapointing was at the bar. Asking for a White russian was turned down as it was not on the cocktail list...
Will come again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GunnarIngi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
I’m delighted you had a good stay with us. We have a new Bar Manager and I am confident that the service has already improved. I do hope we see you again.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

We visited with a large family group to celebrate an anniversary. The location of the hotel is really central, making it ideal for wandering round the city centre. The room was comfortable, well furnished and clean.Robes, water, and a kettle to make tea and coffee were all provided. We had a celebratory afternoon tea in the hotel lounge which was great with lovely home made sandwiches, and numerous small petit fours. Some members of our group had breakfast in the hotel dining room -fresh strawberries, a great fruit smoothie, a full English buffet style, and more interesting options ( eggs benedict etc) available on request. Others opted for a cheaper breakfast at the brasserie Blanc next door ( but which can be entered without leaving the hotel). The staff were unfailingly helpful, smiling and welcoming.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank OxfordJulieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you very much for sending in a review following your family get together. It is great to see you had such an enjoyable time and we do appreciate your comments.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
375 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

We have stayed here a few times and this was on a Tuesday in July.
We had a classic room which was nicely furnished in the baroque style that is the M gallery type of hotel.
Bathroom although small had a very good overhead shower head in a walk in shower.
The bed was very comfy as was the pillows.
As I have said before request a quiet room as many are situated facing busy roads and frequented at night by youngsters moving around the bars and clubs in the area.
We will stay again.

Room Tip: Request high floor quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for your review and constructive feedback. I look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

We came here for afternoon tea with an elderly visitor. First choice was the pump rooms but not being able to book was an issue for someone a little frail. So glad we came here; the lounge where tea is served is quintessentially Bath so, while it perhaps lacked the cachet of the pump rooms our visitor was entranced. Tea was excellent - we had the full afternoon tea - with far more than we could possibly eat despite the temptation of the lovely little cakes. The service was friendly and professional.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bathlady2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your very kind words. I am delighted that you came to The Francis to have Afternoon Tea and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed just one night and loved it, our only gripes would be that we felt rushed during check in, the carpet in 216 is stained, the floor is not level and would not suit elderly customers, the lights were either all or nothing - not individual, the room was a little snug and we had to ask for extras on the tea tray. I think we would have given 5 stars otherwise. Many thanks

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you felt rushed on check in; fortunately for us, the Hotel is very busy at the moment, however this should not have effected your arrival. I do hope we will see you on your next trip to Bath.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Our stay here was perfect. Lovely clean hotel with very friendly, helpful and knowledgable staff.
The room / bathroom was clean, spacious and we decorated. The shower was a large walk-in design and had a wall picture of the Roman baths which we thought was a great touch.

Location is perfect with all main attractions being less than a five minute walk.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JP07HAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Mercure Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing