We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon Tea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

Our children treated us to a surprise Afternoon Tea on Sunday 8th June and what a wonderful time we all had. A lovely low square table had been beautifully prepared for the six of us in a spacious area of one of the lounges. We didn't note the name of the member of staff who looked after us, but he was very welcoming from the outset, encouraging us to smell the large assortment of teas available to help with our choices - a fun start to the occasion! The occasion was a celebration of our 30th wedding anniversary and we were unexpectedly presented with two glasses of complimentary champagne - a charming gesture. We were then presented with 3 cake-stands holding the most attractive sandwiches, scones and cakes - the latter being almost small works of art. Without exception everything was delicious, and in fact so generous that we were unable to quite finish the entire selection! The service was attentive yet discreet and photographs were happily taken for us of our family group. A truly memorable and very special occasion.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Firstly, congratulations on your anniversary. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable day to remember this special occasion. Don’t leave it too long before you come back!
Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,140
    678
    197
    67
    18
See reviews for
288
1,302
66
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
243 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

After spending a week in guest houses along the coast of Devon and Cornwall I needed a bit of posh. From check-in until our "late" check-out, the staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. The room was beautifully furnished and it was an easy walk to the Roman Baths. We ate in the restaurant and it, too was wonderful. I'd love to go back since we only had one night here and there's more I'd like to see.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraE3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for sending in your wonderful review and we look forward to your return visit!
Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

Recently stayed at the Francis for 2 nights, the room we had (114) described as the best room in the hotel, certainly lived up to its description. Large room,well furnished and an extremely comfortable bed. The view from the windows was that of the small park opposite. Very short walk to City Centre. Excellent breakfast. The staff were extremely polite and helpful. Definitely would stop here again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with MGallery Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
It is great to see you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for posting your thoughts on here and we hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

My husband and i stayed here as a part of a tour we took so I can not rate the value for money but I can rate the rest of our stay.
The hotel staff were fabulous! Very friendly and helpful and went above to help out. I had a pair of jeans that need a zipper repair over night and they found a place and had it done for me and return the following day. The room was comfortable and had a warm inviting feel to it and was very clean with every thing you could ask for to make our stay easy.
Breakfast was included for us and was just delicious with a large variety of fruits, pastries, cereals and hot foods to cater to any taste. We also had included in our stay a dinner which was YUMMY!
Great place to stay =D

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki-Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, Operations Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to The Francis at some time in the future.
Kind regards – Pash Naidoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed for two nights and didn't want to come home! Room was lovely, comfortable and spacious. Staff so friendly and helpful. Breakfast was gorgeous and lots of choice. Hotel decor is lovely. Will be returning!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dooney87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, Operations Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you very much for sending in a review. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards – Pash Naidoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

What a beautiful hotel! The decoration is gorgeous --I absolutely loved the bathroom with the gorgeous shower mural. The room we stayed in was clean and comfortable and overall very, very nice. The hotel is in a very convenient location --the only thing that wasn't convenient was parking. When we arrived it was full and ended up having to park quite a distance away. Rather annoying having to drag around the luggage.... but regardless of that, I would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmericanExpeditioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, Operations Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
I am delighted you had an enjoyable stay; thank you for sending in a review. When our car park is full we generally take the guests luggage so that you don’t have to carry it back down; I am so sorry that this wasn’t the case when you were here. I look forward to your return visit.
Kind regards – Pash Naidoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We just came back from a hen weekend staying in Bath at the Francis Hotel. It was a lovely hotel with friendly and polite staff, lovely comfortable rooms and the perfect location which is walking distance to most things in Bath. Although pricey, I would stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your recommendations. I do hope you all had a wonderful weekend and hope you all return to Bath someday soon.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
1.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Mercure Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing