We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, cozy rooms, and excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This hotel was everything I expected and more. The decor is absolutely adorable and very stylish and British. The room I stayed in wasn't very small and I was extremely pleased. The bathrooms are modern which I liked becasue they are very clean. It did get loud at night becasue a car alarm went off but that isn't the hotels fault and is to be expected when you are located right downtown. The location is ideal for seeing any sites in Bath and I recommend this hotel to a tourist. There is an excellent coffee shop just a block down the road and your only 2 minutes from the High street. The attentive staff, cozy rooms and fabulous decor will definitely be the reasons for me returning here in the future!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

We look forward to welcoming you back! Thank you for your wonderful review.
Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,246)
There are newer reviews for Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,557 - 1,563 of 2,246 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2014

Bath is a competitive marketplace for hotels. Several upmarket ones are there and more (5*) coming soon. Accor are canny, in carving out this MGallery brand. Hopefully the other Ms are as good as this one.
First the reception. We were welcomed warmly, and made to feel at home. The room was new and clean. Nicely furnished.
Breakfast very nice. An acceptable range of options, and a great hot dish made to order. Good coffee.
Independent from the hotel, but physically integrated, is the superb Raymond Blanc's restaurant, worth a visit at any time, but this adds hugely to the attraction of the Francis.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobandGina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Thank you for your constructive review. I am delighted you have had an enjoyable stay and very much look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

On arrival staff seemed very helpful from check in to bringing our bags to our room. The room was a lot smaller then what we expected from viewing the hotel website but it was cozy and nicely decorated. Really cool shower but when we woke up the next morning there was no hot water which wasn't pleasant. On check out I told the staff about the problem, which she took a note of but didn't really do anything more to make me want to return for a second visit at this hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Thank you for sending in a review following your stay. We do have 4 levels of rooms in the hotel and it does sound like you were possibly in one of our Comfort Classic rooms, which is the first level of rooms we offer. Unfortunately, we did have a problem earlier this week with the hot water in a few of the rooms due to a faulty pump, which was rectified the following day; I am very sorry that you were inconvenienced. If you have 5 minutes please call me to discuss.
Kind regards
John Willcock – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Fabulous hotel - good location. The city centre is a very short walk making sight seeing on foot very easy. Everything you could possibly need for a break in Bath. Friendly attentive staff and lots of choice at breakfast. Would stay here again without hesitation. Great value

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiffcarnell1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback. We hope we see you again soon.
Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Hoppa2012
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Our first impression of the Francis was good when we pulled up outside and within seconds the concierge had welcomed us, taken our bags and drove our car off to the car park - very efficient.
Check in was fast and our bags arrived in our room a few minutes after we did. A very well appointed room, extremely clean and a super-comfy bed.

We did not use any of the hotel amenities such as bar or restaurant as we were staying here on an overnight whilst attending a function in the city.

Overall, very impressed with this hotel and would definitely use again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Many thanks for sending in your positive thoughts following your stay with us. We do value your feedback and hope to see you again next time you are in Bath.
Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

The hotel was quite impressive and beautiful. Great location.
The bar is not, as they say on their website, 24 hours. Nor is the room service. Tried to get a late night snack. Was essentially told there was nothing, but maybe they could find a sandwich. Fine. That dry, bland sandwich cost us over $20.
Also asked for an adaptor in the afternoon. Waited for 30 minutes without hearing anything from housekeeping. Wasn't going to sit in the room when there were things to explore. Never saw an adaptor. Nor was it mentioned again.
I ordered a signature drink in the bar. They didn't serve that drink again. Apparently the menu was from a year ago.
No big deals, just a lot of irritating small issues. The room was gorgeous and the hotel is quite prettily decorated. We stayed in one of the ground floor rooms. Very spacious.

Room Tip: ground floor room at the end of the hall is very spacious.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMann83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

I am so sorry to hear that there were areas of your stay which weren’t up to standard; this is disappointing and I will be bringing this up with my Night Staff. The bar should be open for 24 hours for our guests and there is a Room Service menu, which, although limited, has more to offer than sandwiches alone. I do apologise that you were inconvenienced and I thank you for bringing this to my attention. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Francis on another occasion
Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,412 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#24 of 31 in Bath
2,850 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: $152 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Mercure Bath
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing