We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary regency”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Contemporary regency”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

very well situated hotel on Queen Square. Helpful and courteous staff. The decor is intended to be Regency in a contemporary idiom. It is flash, modern kitsch and not to my taste, but the whole place is spotlessly clean and our room was very quiet. Breakfast at £15 wasn't special. On the first day, we had breakfast in the adjoining Cafe Blanc. That was better value, but we were the only people there! We had a very good meal in same restaurant one evening.

Room Tip: Our twin room was 229 on 2nd floor. Very quiet. I think the walls are original 18th century and thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, Operations Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for posting your thoughts following you stay with us. I do hope we see you again should you be in Bath at any time in the future.
Kind regards
Pash Naidoo – Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,178
    706
    210
    67
    19
See reviews for
299
1,349
70
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My daughter and I booked a one night stay in early January. When we arrived, the front of house staff were very helpful as we booked in. A beautiful looking hotel but our room was cold. We tried using the heating/cooling controls but to no avail. Eventually I rang down and asked if someone was available to get the system working. Despite waiting for a lengthy period, no one turned up so we went out in search of warmth! When we returned we finally managed to get the system operating. Then room service wanted to turn down the beds for the night. I was in the bathroom when the door was opened and she was about to walk in! (I didn't realise that turning down the beds involved going into the bathroom!!) After gaining my composure I asked for another towel as we had only been given one between us. This never arrived. I was also put off by the glass table tops which had smears all over them.
Despite these concerns, the beds were fantastically comfortable. The next morning we had a great breakfast served by a lovely waitress who certainly made up for our concerns.
Overall, my daughter and I both felt that the hotel has potential to be an even better place to stay if the issue of guest requests were attended to. As a guest I shouldn't have to make repeated calls for help with seemingly minor issues.

Room Tip: Check the heating in winter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, Operations Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for sending in a review. I am disappointed that no-one came to sort out your heating. The Room Attendant should have knocked loudly before entering the bathroom; I am very sorry for any embarrassment caused. The turn-down service includes emptying bins in the room and the replacing wet towels. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you both back at some time in the future.
Kind regards – Pash Naidoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Very lovely hotel and a great location. I was VERY impressed by the friendliness of the staff and the hotel in general. However a few points let it down. The parking was £15 a night (Very expensive)! Also the breakfast we had off the menu was not always good ... It often took a long time to come and was cold. On the whole though quite impressed and the staff there made the stay very nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sai726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for sending in a review; I am delighted you found the staff to be friendly. Parking in Bath is at a premium; we are fortunate to have a space in the centre of town. I am very sorry that the breakfast was not up to standard; this is disappointing. I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

(Booked for New Years Eve).
Paid a little extra for a "Feature Room". Rewarded with a freshly refurbished room.
Clean sheets, no knocks/dings, and everything worked. Also nice comfortable bed.
Nespresso coffee machine was welcomed. Much better than coffee granules in other hotels.
Always nice to wake up with a fresh coffee in the morning.
Bar staff very pleasant and prices not outrageous.
We ate in the Brasserie Blanc that is annexed to the hotel. As it was a very rainy New Years Eve this meant being able to go for a meal without getting wet and cold(!).
New Year meant the restaurant was quite busy. Food choice was limited (New Years menu) but overall okay. Prices were not astronomical either.
Any complaints? Only minor gripe was that we had travelled by car but did not realise there was parking at the hotel. So after unloading the car in the rain and trudging 1/2 mile to Car Park(maybe some parking closer but we are not locals) we then found out there was (limited) on-site parking. Just wish someone had told us.
*Note* We received an email from the Manager apologising for the oversight. This is a nice touch and hence we have given this review 5-stars instead of 4.

Room Tip: Pay Extra for "Feature Room". At time of this review Jan-2014 they are fresh and have a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanwellfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for sending in a constructive review following your stay at New Year. I am pleased that you had a good time and we hope you will return at some time during 2014.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

The location of the hotel is perfect you will be in the heart of Bath. The decoration of the hotel in general is very elegant and classic. The room was very nice and clean. The bed was very very comfy. You wont forget your stay in this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sofiah123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here. We really value your feedback.
Kind regards – John Willcock.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Just returned back from a child-free weekend staying at the Francis Hotel. What a gem. Every member of staff we had the pleasure of meeting was efficient and professional and very helpful. Initially we were allocated a room on the first floor at the front above restaurant and next to the bend in the road. Wasn't happy with the location and asked to view any other possible room that was free. The concierge showed me to two rooms at the back to choose from. One overlooked the rooftops of the city and was considerably quieter than the first room. All very accommodating and helpful. Check in was swift and pleasant. Our room was decorated beautifully with everything that you needed. The shower was amazing and high spec. The bed was very comfortable and the bedding and pillows very sumptuous.
Breakfast was relaxed and plentiful. Lovely little menu for hot choice of breakfast on Saturday morning and then a buffet hot breakfast on the Sunday. Very tasty and staff were very attentive to needs.
Overall a wonderful, relaxing break in a fabulously located hotel. Would highly recommend. Thank you and also to Tesco club card rewards.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JFDICheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and recommendations. I am delighted that you enjoyed your child-free stay with us; a well-deserved treat!. I look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,380 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 31 in Bath
2,763 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Mercure Bath
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing