We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of luxury in a beautiful city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A touch of luxury in a beautiful city”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Having had a very disappointing stay in another nearby city in England we decided to spoil ourselves with two nights in Bath at the Francis Hotel, as it was very highly rated on Trip Advisor and its own website also looked very attractive. We were not disappointed. It was a little more expensive than some of the other hotels but absolutely worth it. The hotel has been recently refurbished and the interiors are stunning - truly elegant and very pleasant to relax in from the moment you enter the front door, from the public rooms to the bedrooms. The beds and pillows are very comfortable and ensure a perfect night's rest. Everything has been done with attention to even the smallest detail. The central location in Queen's Square is excellent. We were able to put our car in the parking and walk everywhere we wanted to go in Bath. The staff were friendly and helpful and the attached Brasserie Blanc is well worth visiting for tasty and beautifully presented food again in very pleasant surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgowdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
It is lovely to see that you have had such a comfortable time at the Hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,164
    698
    205
    67
    19
See reviews for
292
1,334
70
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Welcome was great, the rooms however leave a lot to be desired an are certainly not what the website describes....we stayed in a feature room apparently the best in the hotel. I am a frequent traveller around the globe and this hotel is masquerading as a luxury hotel from a luxury brand....it is neither!
Great location, small car park and delightful staff lead you into a false sense of security. Upon enterin my room (the best they have remember) there is no bath, a tiny shower with what is described as a 'vista of Georgian Bath' on their website where infact what they should say is 'cramped shower with a photo of the Roman baths on the wall'....a tv smaller than one I would expect in a travelodge, furniture from IKEA (I kid you not!) and a noisy road straight outside the window......all in all not a great experience but not wanting to do the place down too much, the location is fab and the staff friendly even when they can't resolve your problem! 3 star Mercure style hotel this is....5 star 'luxury' brand this is not.....if you can get a £99 deal and only need to stay one night then it's ok....if you're looking for a relaxing tranquil and luxurious hotel (as they describe in the website ) then search elsewhere!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrislaw1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
It is such a shame that you didn’t like the design of your room in the Hotel. All of our rooms do vary in size, shape and décor and we would have been happy to show you an alternative room had we been aware that you weren’t comfortable with the room that you had been allocated. It is always difficult to please everyone and we have been fortunate enough to have had extremely positive reviews following our refurbishment. The Francis Hotel Bath is a 4 star, MGallery Hotel and all our Feature rooms have walk in rain showers, and 32” television screens and furniture from highly reputable suppliers. On a positive note, I am so pleased that you found the staff to be delightful.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed with a 6 month old baby. The room was fantastic and well decorated and comfortable. It was great to stay in a georgian style hotel. The hotel is well located on Queens square easy stroll for restraints and pubs and supermarkets.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank GrizzleyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Many thanks for your kind words and I hope we see you all again soon.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Recently stayed a couple of nights in this newly refurbished hotel , the standard of the fittings in the public rooms and the bedrooms were of a high standard .
We paid a premium for a feature room which was tastefully furnished but had no wow factor , the bathroom ( shower only ) was very clean and well appointed but nothing special .
The room overlooked Queen square which was nice except that because the hotel is a listed building there was no double glazing and so you are aware of the busy traffic passing under your window at all hours .
Breakfast was not worth the money at all , on the first morning we had to ask for cereal bowls and orange juice at the buffet and then plates and bacon for the cooked breakfast . the restaurant wasn't very busy at the time and was an hour before closing - the staff worked hard but didn't seem to know how to run a breakfast sitting very efficiently. the food quality was of a high standard though .
There is good car parking at the rear of the hotel although £15 per 24 hours is a bit steep when you are paying over £200 per night for accommodation and be warned there is a further £3 per hour charge if you stay there after your check out time of 12.00.

The best thing about the hotel is its location just a few minutes away from all the attractions , shops , restaurants ,theatres and cinema .

Room Tip: front rooms have a better outlook but experience traffic noise , I guess rear rooms are quieter , no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your helpful review following your stay with us. I do hope you will consider the Francis for your next stay in Bath.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I suprised my boyfriend with a night away in Bath. Neither of us had been to Bath before so I wasn't sure what hotel to book. I looked on Trip Advisor and decided to go for The Francis Hotel as the price was reasonable compared to others and we weren't disappointed - It was a great hotel. The decor was individual and brilliant, our room was perfect. The hotel and our room was clean which put me at rest as cleanliness is a must! The location was perfect a short walk to the Royal Crescent and the centre of Bath. The staff were very friendly and afternoon tea and breakfast delicious. It was worth every bit of money that we paid and we would highly reccommend it to others. We will definately be staying there again!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JodieLou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
That’s great and very much look forward to your return visit! Thank you for your review.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Great hotel, excellent location, very central beautifully decorated, brilliant customer service. Would definitely stay here if I visited bath again. Only negative was that parking could not be reserved even though you pay for it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
It is great to see that you had a good time with us. The parking, as you say, works on a first come, first served basis and is chargeable per overnight stay. Parking is very much at a premium in Bath and we are very lucky to have parking space, albeit limited! I do hope we see you again very soon.
Kind regards – Pash Naidoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Booked through NatWest points for room only so did not have to pay the £200 per room. Stylish clean room with one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. £15 per night to park the car but barrier controlled and cctv with valet parking if wished. Does get full though and then it is the local longstay car park. The staff were friendly and helpful. Excellent location being only a stone's throw from the shops and restaurants. Would return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
We look forward to welcoming you back! Thank you for your positive review.
Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 34 in Bath
1,366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#13 of 34 in Bath
1,344 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 34 in Bath
2,740 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Mercure Bath
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing