We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - service in dining poor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Geelong
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great location - service in dining poor”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The hotel is ideally location in the town centre. Parking at the rear is available and you can stay once you check out at 3 Pound per hour. Rooms and surrounds excellent. We experienced poor service in the breakfast dining area with our order being forgotten twice - we just did not receive our first order then breakfast menus we suddenly given to us when we asked for them. After ordering breakfast of scrambled eggs etc we waited 45 minutes - 0900 to 0940 approximately - and saw others whom arrived after us being served. After bringing this to staffs attention politely we were told it was going to be another 5 to 10 minutes and that we had been overlooked. No priority was given to getting our food out once their mistake was obvious. Otherwise a good overall experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel3220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your visit and we have noted your comments regarding breakfast. I am very sorry that you experienced this and can only reassure you that this is being addressed urgently.

Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,166
    699
    207
    67
    19
See reviews for
293
1,337
70
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The staff were very friendly and warm. They are very knowledgeable of the city and can direct you what to see in Bath and its surrounding area. The park in front was beautiful and everything was within walking distance from this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 76bruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay in Bath and hope you enjoyed the city and all it has to offer. Do come back again if you are in the UK.

Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Lovely hotel centrally located in Bath, professional friendly staff, breakfast room located downstairs in a bright and airy room, breakfast selection was better than expected from full English, continental, fresh fruit etc. We were offered a room at the front or the back, we chose the front as we hoped for a better view however Queens square is a busy thoroughfare and even late into the night there is some noise (we live in a very quiet area and so my wife noticed the elevated noise, however I didn't) We were given room 221 which was on the 2nd floor, we found the room clean and well laid out. I had noticed from previous reviews that there were no drawers for clothing but both my wife and I found the suit case stand and the wardrobe to be more than enough for our 3 night stay.
The bed was warm and comfortable, house keeping were discreet and efficient from making the bed, turning it down at night, to replacing towels when needed.
Our whole stay at the hotel for both my wife and I was a pleasure and when we return to Bath we will be returning to the Francis Hotel.

Room Tip: rooms at located at the front have a better view but Queens Square is a busy route and at times can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveChuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay wit us and hoe that you will return to the Francis Hotel Bath very soon.

Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Francis is the perfect location to stay in Bath. The new decor is kind of overwhelming with all the black and white checked tiles in too many places but the staff was wonderful. Our included breakfast was more that we expected with a menu to order cooked as well as the continental buffet. Our bed was very comfortable. The room and bathroom were a good size for an older hotel.
Only downfall was that we had a group of 38 people and it was 4:30PM before all the rooms were ready to be occupied. We had been told 2:30PM so the extra 2 hour wait was difficult for overseas travelers just arriving. Lots of restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenH_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
I do hope you all had a great time discovering the delights of the beautiful city of Bath. Thank you for your very kind words. I am sorry that your bedroom was not ready on your arrival. Our rooms are normally ready from 2.00 p.m. onwards (check out time is at 12.00 noon). We naturally always try to accommodate guests as soon as they arrive but this would depend on how full we were the night before and what time the preceding guest checked out.

Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent the night here on a Saturday before a wedding. It is perfectly located in the center of town within easy walking distance to pretty much everywhere, although Bath is small so most hotels won't be THAT far away. Check in was great, very attentive and friendly service, with bellman to greet as you enter and offers to take your bags straight away. Nicely decorated throughout in bright colors with boutique style furnishings both in rooms and common areas. Bathroom was nice and clean although the rainfall shower head could use a bit more pressure, but the regular shower head has great pressure so not a huge loss. Plush towels and bath robes are definitely up to the standard one would expect from an MGallery hotel as are the toiletries. Beds, linens and pillows were also very nice. I am a very light sleeper but had no problems getting comfortable and sleeping straight through the night (not a common occurrence for me!) The only real downside is that the rooms are quite small for £200 a night but it is city center so somewhat understandable. However, the window sill in our room was covered with tiny dead flies and there were also a few on the bed. The couple on the bed I can see how one might not have noticed but the window sill was literally covered in them and definitely should have been noticed and cleaned before sending guests in. I just took a tissue, wiped them off and got on with our weekend but some others could have been very put off. But, this oversight was definitely the exception rather than the rule. If you want a nice upscale, somewhat boutique feel in the heart of Bath I would definitely recommend Francis. And if you do stay get the breakfast at least once. Go down hungry and its well worth the £15!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZanderC13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Many thanks for all your kind words, although I am very sorry that there were flies in your room, which is rather unusual; my Housekeeper has asked to be associated with my apologies. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Francis very soon.

Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

A beautiful and comfortable hotel in a great location with attentive, polished staff and well-prepared food. I suggest that management stay a few nights in a room with luggage to appreciate the need for a few changes. The bathroom needs a hook or bar to hang wet bath towels. The rooms need a piece of furniture with drawers for clothing. The area is front of the closet needs better lighting.
Otherwise, we slept well and enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The management is responsive to concerns, so ask for another room if you are unhappy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul8008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your constructive review. We have taken on board the reviews of our guests and we will be actioning the storage request very soon! We have also noted your comments regarding the bathroom hooks. Do come back soon.

Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Group of seven family members, stayed in 3 rooms, as part of a 60th birthday celebration. we wanted something a bit special, and we got it! Gorgeous sumptuous rooms, great en-suites and attentive staff members.
Huge bed, comfortable pillows, all tea, coffee etc supplied in room. Great big shower, clean throughout.
Only down side was slight overspill from shower onto bathroom floor, resulting in puddles and sopping wet bath mat!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pink_wierdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
We are delighted that you all had such a good break at the Francis and took the time to send in reviews – thank you very much! I am sorry that you had overspill in the bathroom and hope you weren’t too inconvenienced.

Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 34 in Bath
1,369 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 34 in Bath
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 34 in Bath
2,742 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Mercure Bath
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing