We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our family of 9 people stayed here for our trip to Bath. The hotel is in a great location with a park just across the street in which there was some sort of bocce ball tournament going on, which was fun to watch. The hotel is in within walking distance of many great places which we fully took advantage of during our stay.

The rooms are very entertaining and unique. In order to accommodate the odd number of people in our group we had an upgraded room which included a pull out couch for our third person. The room was nice and quirky, with an entertaining picture of a woman and a disgruntled bird on the doors of the wardrobe. The room and bathroom were both clean (our shower had a mural of the Roman Baths on the wall which was a nice touch) and the staff was friendly and very helpful. We very much enjoyed our stay here and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

It is difficult to keep everyone happy when you are travelling with a party; I am delighted we were able to achieve the impossible! The Boules tournament on the Square is an annual event and is very entertaining to watch, we had a team playing. I do hope you keep us in mind should you return to Bath in the future. Thank you very much for sending in your review.

Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,925 - 1,931 of 2,390 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

A quality hotel, offering the very best service and attention but without ever coming across as stuffy or pompous.
It's a tough balance to achieve but achieve it they do.
Loved everything about the Francis and as is always the case..... The staff make it special. :-)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finchy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review; it is great to see that the staff were able to make it extra special and I will make sure they are all aware of your comments. We do have a wonderful team at the Hotel who work very hard and it makes it all worthwhile when reviews such as yours are sent in. Come back soon!

Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hotel offers a fair service but not value for your money, had I been the AA inspector I suspect they may have had a couple of issues.

Very small dbl room in the loft unable to open door fully into the bathroom, a carrier bag full of rubbish on a ledge outside the window. Breakfast was far to expensive at almost £20 and charging £15 on top of the very high room rate to park your car is verging on the criminal.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loggyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

I am so sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and am currently investigating the matter regarding the carrier bag on the window ledge; this really is inexcusable. Please feel free to contact me to discuss further.

Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Only spent 1 night there, staffs were friendly and helpful. Rooms are up to standard as others described though the bathroom is a bit cold during our stay and it was around <15 degrees.
Only 10-15 mins walk to most major attractions and dining places. I would recommend to other travellers but can try your parking luck elsewhere before handing over the car to them since the rate is quite pricy for 1 day when compared with the neighbourhood car parks.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to send in a review; I do hope you had an enjoyable time in Bath. The car park at the Hotel is limited and we recommend for guests arriving by car to drop off their luggage with us and to try Charlotte Street car park, which is located on the opposite side of the Square, especially at weekends: this is £8.50 per 24 hours. I do hope we see you on your next visit to Bath

Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We chose Francis Hotel for a 4 day accommodation and were astonished by the welcoming, warm and professional staff. This is what customer service should be: speedy, kind, efficient. There aren't words. We requested heaters because we felt the room was a bit cold for our taste and they brought us some radiators in no time. I have to repeat this 'no time' at all. I don't know how they did it whether they flew up the stairs or by magic but 30 seconds was all to solve our issue. The food in the hotel is only made fresh and they insist on keeping a minimum of ready made items in the buffet. Breakfast according to them HAS TO BE made fresh to your liking in the morning and it doesn't take long. I tried pushing my lack asking for two 4 minute soft boiled eggs and they didn't even hesitate in making just that. I absolutely fell in love with their fruit salad. I would even pay room service just to have it again and again. Fresh and cool and absolutely lovely every single day. No canned fruits just apples and berries and orange and passion fruit in lovely juice. Funniest thing there was a painting on the ceiling above the bed ! I was also astonished by the cleanliness of the bathroom. I went in showered clumsily for a long time and then got my bath robe and left it as is and honestly thought it would remain messy until next morning. Little did I know... They must be using really good detergents because after 30 minutes I couldn't find a trace of water inside the cubicle. Not even a dried drop somewhere to prove it was used recently. Must be a combination of detergents and the vileroy &boch materials used in the making of these showers. It was the closest thing to my dream house I have ever seen. It is a bit pricey according to some but so VERY VERY worth the money. Loved it:)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smiling890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Francis; it was wonderful to read your review. It is a fabulous morale booster and we hope you return to visit us again very soon.

Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This hotel is lovely, only minutes away from all the main attractions and opposite the stop for the tour bus. The hotel has been completely refurbished to a very high standard and rooms are stylish and comfortable. Staff are very helpful and nothing is too much trouble.
Breakfast can be a bit slow but was worth waiting for and they were prepared to serve after the 10am deadline.
A great place to stay , would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The Blanc Brasserie is next door and accessible from the hotel but I would look further afield as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jancampbellhague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. My team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards – John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. We stayed here a while ago and at the time it was a little tired but it recently has had a makeover and is superb.

The staff are excellent and nothing was too much trouble. My wife is disabled and they reserved a parking space for us and gave us a ground floor room.

The hotel is much better than its star rating suggests. The rating suffers because the hotel does not have a pool or spa so cannot get a higher rating.

If you are staying in Bath I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you very much for your positive review and your recommendations. Come back soon!

Kind regards - John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Apex City of Bath Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,506 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#9 of 34 in Bath
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: $136 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Mercure Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing