We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel very clean and gorgeous rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel very clean and gorgeous rooms!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

I went for one night away for my boyfriends birthday. As soon as we arrived one of the staff members took our bags from the car to our room. We were upgraded to the superior room which in one word was epic. The room was so clean with air con and an amazing shower and bathroom. The room even had a nespresso coffee machine which was a nice touch. The bed was amazing, so comfortable with lovely fluffy pillows! Great location too it's literally in the centre. We went to the thermae spa which is only a few minutes walk away. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone, fab stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laraamatoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your recommendations; why don’t you come back to celebrate your birthday next time!
Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,140
    678
    197
    67
    18
See reviews for
288
1,302
66
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We chose to stay here because of an offer from Brasserie Blanc, which has a bistro within the hotel's "footprint". Any excuse to visit Bath is welcome, as is any excuse to visit Brasserie Blanc (I've reviewed the Bath edition of this chain separately).
The hotel was easy to find in Queen Square, just minutes away from the pedestrianized centre of Bath and has its own car parking behind the hotel. Reception was friendly and welcoming and seemed not at all mechanical. Having arrived early we left our bags and wandered off into the lovely city centre; on our return we found that, automatically, bags had been taken up to the room. The hotel, and its surroundings, are early Georgian (so nearly 300 years old) with high ceilings and spacious rooms throughout - both lounges and bedrooms - which has all benefited from a simple and lightly-styled restoration.
Our large 2nd floor room faced South towards the wooded hills surrounding Bath and was welcoming with plenty of light, modern but simply-styled furniture and a huge, comfortable bed with two mountainous piles of pillows.
Other guests seemed to be a mixture of young-to-middle-aged tourists, the occasional family and quite a few retired couples (like us but MANY years older than our mid-60s.). Among these was a redoubtable octogenarian giving the lounge waitress stern and detailed instructions on how cheese should be sliced for her cheese sandwich. This experience may explain why the flustered young waitress took over half an hour before taking an order for a pot of tea (No special instructions, honestly!); this proved to be the only wrong note in our stay and certainly was not enough to dissuade us from staying here whenever we want to be in Bath again.
Our "special offer" included dinner in Brasserie Blanc which is accessible through one of the hotel's lounges. The brasserie was pretty full and it seemed to us that the majority of diners entered from the hotel rather than off the street so this arrangement seems to be a win-win-win for hotel, restaurant - and guests.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmc_oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for sending in a review following your stay with us. It is good to read that you had an enjoyable time, except for the delay in your order being taken for tea, for which I apologise. I’m delighted you had an enjoyable meal at Brasserie Blanc and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel at some time in the future.
Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Only hotel in 4 years of European travel I was not happy with. I was suppose to get breakfast with a coupon I found online on trip advisor). I spoke to them online and phone and they acknowledged it was there but would not honor it. Rooms were small and had thin walls. The front desk (small) was cold and unhelpful at all times no matter whom was working. This was these most expensive hotel on our European trip and this was the least favorite. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eileen038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
I am extremely sorry that you were disappointed with your reservation and booking. I am at a loss to understand how this misunderstanding has arisen as we do not offer any coupons regarding breakfast via TripAdvisor or any other media. Please feel free to contact me to discuss further.

Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I came to Bath in the hope of seeing the Roman Bath which was touted as the number 1 attraction. Yet I was captivated by something far more fun and attractive. It is the Jason's crazy corner at Francis Hotel at Queens Square. Nothing beats the company of the bar tender Jason and his special "johito" ( special variety of well known mojito.
I am glad I discovered this hidden gem tucked away at the Francis Hotel which is far more fun than any archaeological discovery in the locality. I recommend Jason and the " johito" to anyone who is after some good fun. Try it and you shall not regret. All the best to the team at Francis hotel; Roman baths are now relegated to the second most important attraction in Bath :)

Chanaka - Melbourne Australia

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chanaka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review; I will make sure that Jason sees it! How wonderful to be classed the number 1 attraction in Bath – move over Romans!

Kind regards – John Willlcok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Thought this was going to be a good central location when I saw that the hotel is shown in the DK Eyewitness "Great Britain" birds-eye, street-by-street view of Bath. How true - the location is excellent for walking to all attractions in central Bath. Bath is also a great exploration base for the region. Without a doubt the most luxurious and comfortable hotel we stayed in on our 5 week trip. Mum & I had a twin room and even though Mum was a little ill with a cold when we arrived - she soon recovered after 3 nights in the super comfy and warm beds. The service is really first class here as was the fitout of our room and bathroom. Breakfast is an experience (of the great kind!) due to the delightful waiting staff and restaurant manager. One morning when we were some of the last guests to leave he taught Mum how they fold the napkins into decorative shapes. A lovely kind man. I thought when we had to check out Mum was going to cry. Our travel agent booked for us so I was not aware of the parking charge for our hire-car, so be aware of if you don't make your own booking. Would love to stay here again one day if we get back to the UK.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
How wonderful that your Mum had such a lovely time! I do hope she has fully recovered. It is always a great boost to morale for the staff to read such positive feedback; thank you. I hope we see you again if you return to the UK.

Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

A 10 minute walk from the railway station and you come across this amazing hotel. I'd booked the hotel through Expedia for my friend's hen party as most Bath hotels required a 2 night stay and we only wished to stay for 1. Before we arrived at the hotel, I'd booked Afternoon Tea at the Francis for the group and they could not have been more helpful. One of the group had extreme dietary requirements, but she was catered for with no fuss at all.

Our twin superior rooms had been recently updated with a Nespresso coffee machine and all the other bits and pieces you'd expect. The bathroom only had a shower, but it was a good one! Bathrobes were also supplied. Sadly, the view from the room was of the car park, however this means that there was no noise of passing traffic.

The staff in the bar were superb and nothing was too much trouble. I mean, they were really good. Breakfast was good too - what an amazing buffet and a great variety of cooked options too. Again, staff were amazing and Salvatore was brilliant.

At least two people are already planning return trips to Bath and the only hotel they'll even think about are the Francis! I look forward to returning too.

Room Tip: A superior room has a few "extras". Those facing the car park may not have the view, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The Teacher7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you very much indeed for sending in such a great review following your stay with us. I am pleased that we were able to make the hen party a positive experience and hope that the wedding goes well. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

We love eggy bread and pancakes with maple syrup and bacon! That asides, all the staff are super friendly and helpful and the location was ideal for our two night first stay in beautiful Bath. Being able to park the car behind the hotel was also a big plus. Nespresso coffee in our room and fresh milk willingly put in our fridge for that ' ahh' cup of tea enjoyed. We too loved the Breakfast Manager.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Grimentz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
It is wonderful to read your positive review about your recent stay at the Francis; I will make sure the message is passed on to our Breakfast Manager. I hope we can welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
1.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Mercure Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing