We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate but maybe not the best choice if arriving by car”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Adequate but maybe not the best choice if arriving by car”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Having lived in Bath for 5 years previously, it seemed strange to be booking a hotel here! I'd been to a company Xmas party at the Francis, when it was previously part of the Mercure group and having heard it had undergone a significant face lift, I chose it for a return visit.

Several reviewers on here have commented on the decor and whilst I actually didn't think it was too bad, I did feel that the different areas of the hotel weren't at all in keeping with each other (i.e. the reception is very snazzy and modern, the adjacent dining area very Cath Kidston afternoon tea-esque and the room we stayed in, quite old fashioned and traditional).

We made use of the car park at the back of the hotel. Whilst small, we arrived fairly early and were lucky enough to get the last space. What was a bit of a pain though is the gates are kept locked so I had to leave the car with my Husband parked on double yellow lines whilst I ran around to reception to ask for them to be opened. I imagine it would be a pain if you arrived alone!

Our room was on the first floor, with a huge window overlooking Queen Square. There was no noise whatsoever, pleasantly surprising! The room itself was perfectly adequate with all mod cons as you'd expect from a hotel of this standard. The only thing which was strange is the positioning of the TV - it is attached flat to the wall but positioned halfway between the seating chairs and the bed, with no optimum place for watching!

We didn't have breakfast. I can't remember how much was quoted but it seemed extortionate considering you are in the centre of Bath with many options.

Overall I was happy with our stay, the location is the best thing going for this hotel and if you're arriving by train and looking for somewhere very central, this is the place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for sending in a review following your stay in March. I’m delighted you chose to come and stay at the Francis following our refurbishment.

Parking, as I am sure you are aware, is at a premium in Bath. We are lucky to have a car park, albeit limited. The car park barrier is only locked when the car park is full or nearly full so that guests don’t drive in and then have to manoeuvre back out again when they find no spaces.

I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back when you are next in Bath.

Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,140
    679
    198
    67
    18
See reviews for
288
1,304
66
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We enjoyed all aspects of our stay. The friendliness of the breakfast waiter, and the Italian waiter in the adjoining restaurant was a highlight. The bed was extremely comfortable and our room was quiet. Bathroom was clean and modern. Hotel is well located and made all of Bath easily accessible on foot. The hotels parking was much appreciated.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor, on the left hand side of the building away from the square and was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
It is good to read that you had a great stay in Bath with us at the Francis Hotel. I do hope you will return again soon.

Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Lovely hotel in a great location and one of the best breakfast's we'd had for a long time. All of the major attractions are a few minutes walk away and the city itself is beautiful - steeped in a rich history and culture.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank chrisjnunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for sending in a review. It is great to see that you had an enjoyable time.

Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I advised the hotel (that I hadn't booked direct with) that it was a special weekend and without quibble they upgraded us.
The decor shows that they have spent £6m.
It's a great location in a lovely city that is perfect for a weekend break

Room Tip: If its a special occasion tell them - they appear to want to make your stay memorable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GloryGloryLUFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Bath is a lovely city to spend the weekend and it is great to see that you also had a good time at the Francis Hotel. Come back again soon.

Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night following our wedding. We got a great deal through Secret escapes and used topcashback too! The hotel is centrally located for all the sites and has a car park which costs £15 for your stay.

The room was small but had a large bed and fantastic shower. The in room breakfast is exceptional and they only charge £5 per person for this facility.

We visited the Therma Spa and Sotto Sotto which are both highly recommended.

Room Tip: Chose a high room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Congratulations on your wedding. I am delighted that we were able to make your special occasion memorable. I hope we see you for your anniversary.

Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a one night stay to facilitate attendance at an evening function in the centre. From point of booking all staff were very helpful and made sure that a disabled parking space was kept, which was a relief, after a long journey, heavy traffic in Bath and a full car park. Such a pleasure to be so looked after.
There was a little noise from next floor guests which quickly subsided and we slept well.
Newly refurbished in elegant style with a magnificent breakfast and attentive waiting staff - we enjoyed the inventive menu the next day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandy1096757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
It is great to see that we were able to make your stay with us a comfortable one. I do hope you return to stay with us again at the Francis Hotel if you are ever in Bath again.

Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend in April with friends to explore Bath. The hotel is superbly located and the car park is a big plus in Bath. The hotel is well presented and our room was spotless but on the small side. The one downside was that we could quite clearly hear the adjoining rooms TV and the occupants talking.
The staff were very friendly and the breakfast very good

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_wendy181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for sending in a review following your stay with us; I am pleased that you had an enjoyable time. I do hope that you weren’t disturbed for too long. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Francis again soon.

Kind regards – John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
1.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Mercure Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing