We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The refurbishment has worked the rooms are nicely decorated and contemporary. The big plus side to the hotel is it's location close to some really nice pubs and the shops are on the doorstep. I would advise giving the car park a miss - it is a really tight squeeze in places and expensive compared to the large Charlotte Street car park located across Queens Square from the hotel. Breakfasts are also expensive - you would be better going to one of the many restaurants and cafes close by for "brunch" if you have the time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happy-Traveller046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

I’m pleased you had an enjoyable stay; we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards - John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,971 - 1,977 of 2,364 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed here over the Easter holidays with my girlfriend for a week of sightseeing around bath and the Francis hotel was exactly what we wanted. The location of the hotel was perfect, right in the Queens square in the heart of bath with a 5 min walk to all major attractions such as the Roman baths, pump rooms, the famous Sally Lunns buns and the Royal crescent which where all amazing. The rooms where very nice and had lots of character with a huge bathroom and a very comfy bed. Would defiantly stay here again if I was in bath the Francis is a brilliant hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jordantravelguide94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We are very lucky to be in such great location; come back soon to discover more of what Bath has to offer.

Kind regards - John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had a very nice stay in this recently refurbished hotel located in the heart of Bath. The rooms were well appointed and decorated beautifully. We were given a complimentary upgrade as the hotel was quite empty. This was greatly appreciated and is always a good touch!

We had a couple of drinks in the bar which also hosts afternoon tea. Unfortunately, we did not get a chance to sample it but it looked divine.

The staff were very pleasant and attentive, always asking us if there was anything that they could do, ensuring that we had a pleasant stay.

This is a very good hotel with very attentive staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joker79London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for sending in a review. Please return soon and try the Afternoon Tea

Kind regards - John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We came here for a weekend away, and was both our first time in Bath. The Francis hotel has everything that a boutique hotel offers:- Friendly and attentive staff, fashionable rooms, nice touches. You would have a choice of such places in any major city, but not Bath. It's USP is that it is one of the few. We liked the beds and the thick carpets and furnishings. We liked the Economist Life and other magazines. Parking was a little tight, but at least there was some. We would stay here again.

Stayed: February 2013
Thank fresh1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards - John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

My daughter, my 6 month old granddaughter and I spent a delightful night at this lovely hotel in the centre of Bath. The staff could not have been more helpful and delightful. Our rooms were beautiful, clean and very comfortable. The best parts of Bath are easily walkable, so the position is perfect. One important ingredient is that there is a car park at the back. Would return at the drop of a hat.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dolly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for your kind comment and compliments – I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards - John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We have always loved this hotel as it is in the centre of Bath and so convenient for a trip.
Since it has been refurbished it is even better and can't wait to stay again soon.
The rooms are lovely and the staff friendly and helpful.
A great place to stay in Bath.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bessywales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

I am delighted that you have returned to the Hotel following the refurbishment and you like it even more than you did previously. It was great to read all your positive comments and a great boost to morale for all the staff.

Kind regards - John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I've stayed at the Francis Hotel twice on business and am going back for a third visit. The rooms are good sized and comfortable, everyone working there is friendly and goes out of their way to help out, and the hotel is located in Central Bath. It's a 10-15 minute walk from the train station, and only 5 minutes to the center of the city. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Bath.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ioomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review. We look forward to your return visit to the Francis.

Kind regards - John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,986 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,486 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apex City of Bath Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: $131 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Mercure Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing