We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Nearby Hotels
$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$181
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Kennard(Bath)
$156
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bailbrook House Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Bath(Bath)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$108
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$222
$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Harington's Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
$113
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$386
$313
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,443)
Filter reviews
2,443 results
Traveler rating
1,295
802
247
78
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,295
802
247
78
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbrasserie blancfeature roomqueen squarecar parklovely hotelafternoon teasuperior roomclassic roomcentral locationnespresso machineper nightthird floorbed was very comfortableroyal crescentmain attractionswithin easy walking distanceeggs benedict
Filter
Updating list...
2,084 - 2,089 of 2,443 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I used this for a buisness event on 1.3.2013. You can tell its been refurbished as everything is fresh. we found the staff to be very firendly but they need a few more at breakfast and didnt quite get the afternoon tea right. The bar staff, however, were very good and accomodating.if your staying in Bath this is good value>

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you very much for sending in your review following your stay with us. I am pleased that you found the staff to be friendly and accommodating and I have taken on board your comments regarding the service; which has been addressed.

Kind regards - John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Perfect location, very helpful pleasant staff, we asked to change room due to noise of equipment and we were upgraded immediately to a very quiet room. Beds were comfortable and the room was beautifully decorated, with really fluffy towels and high quality toiletries in the bathroom. Indiviually controlled air con was quiet and very effective. Brasserie Blanc is in the hotel. We would definitely stay at the Francis again. Only criticism,car park expensive at £15 a day and no hairdrier in room.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that we managed to move you to a room that you were comfortable in. All the rooms in the hotel have hairdryers; they are located in the drawers of the dresser.

Kind regards - John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Francis a couple of years ago, and to be frank, it had become a little tired. However, we have just spent a brilliant weekend staying at the hotel once again. It's new owners have spent a fortune and have really raised the standards tremendously, not just in decor, but in service, and in food quality. The addition of the Blanc Brasserie has been a master stroke. The hotel is wonderfully located for central Bath, and has a smallish but secure car park to the rear which is a real asset in Bath. We would not hesitate to return to the hotel. A lovely experience. Room 213 was particularly nice.

Room Tip: Room 213 faces onto Queens Square and was large and comfortable with a lovely bathroom
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

It is always nice to see previous guests returning to the refurbished hotel. It is great to see that you like the new look and very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards - John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in Francis Hotel for only one night when visiting Bath. The location was very central and close to all the sights and shops. I especially liked the hotel decor. It was very cute and cosy. Our room was very clean, the bed was super comfy and sheets soft soft soft! The only criticism I have was the ridiculous long wait for our cooked breakfast in the morning. We waited 50 mins for poached eggs and toast! The breakfast room was very busy and other couples had the same problem. We even had a long wait for tea and coffee. However there is quite a good choice of continental breakfast and cereals if you want avoid waiting. I feel that there was not adequate amount of staff for such a busy Saturday morning rush in order to keep everyone satisfied. But don't let that put you off. The hotel is very nice, staff very friendly and approachable and very good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kat h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

I am pleased to see that you appreciate the décor in the Hotel and find the bed/bedding to be comfortable. I am sorry you had to wait such a long time for your breakfast; I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and will be investigating the matter.

I do hope we see you again soon.

Kind regards - John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I've stayed at the newly renovated Francis Hotel on two occasions since the refurbishment. Clearly a great deal of money has been spent and the works extensive. Colours and designs are often bold and might not suit all tastes but maybe that is the point? Hotels have in many cases become a little too bland.

Rooms appear generously sized, well furnished and the beds very comfortable. Nespresso machines in each room (an increasingly common and welcome touch).

Staff are happy, positive and helpful. Breakfast is a good buffet with hot items cooked to order and delivered from the kitchen.

The in house restaurant is Brasserie Blanc - decent menu where it is possible to have three courses, a glass of house wine and a bottle of water for £20.

All in a nice experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Achilles_F12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to send in a constructive review following your two stays with us; I am delighted that you have been back twice since the refurbishment. Just a small point, the Nespresso machines are in our superior and feature rooms only. I do hope we see you again very soon.

Kind regards - John Willcock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews