We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but noisy.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice but noisy.”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Nice hotel, well decorated, lovely room. Very comfortable bed with masses of pillows, made for a very comfortable night's sleep. However do not get a room overlooking the front of the hotel- we came for a 2 day break, with no kids in tow we were hoping for a lie in but the trucks for linen collections and deliveries arrive from 6:30 to 8:30am with plenty of noise and clanging of trolleys, road noise could also be heard all night, the windows are just single glazed panes. For this reason I would say the room wasn't great.
Good location for hotel, everything's within a 10-15min walk.

Room Tip: Do not get a room overlooking the front square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cakerbakerjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
I was sorry that you found your room to be noisy during your stay. Unfortunately, being a city centre hotel, at times we do experience some street noise although in the main it does not cause inconvenience to our guests and we allocated the room with every confidence that you would be comfortable. If you were to stay with us again, please request a quiet room when making your reservation and we will reserve a room at the back of the Hotel.

Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,180
    706
    210
    67
    19
See reviews for
299
1,350
70
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had a lovely night in the Francis Hotel. The location is of course perfect in Bath and I loved the stylish decor. We were upgraded and the room was a good size although a bit of an adventure to find up and down little flights of stairs. The staff could not have been more helpful - finding us an ice bucket and then making sure it had water as well as ice in for the bottle we had brought in to celebrate my birthday and then helping me out to the car with the bags the next day.
Loved the picture of the Roman Baths on the inside of the shower but the bed was my favorite feature. The most comfortable bed I have had for a very long time. You just sink into the soft mattress topper but it is firm underneath, just perfect.
The only shame was that we were only staying one night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avalon880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words. Very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penarth, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic hotel in a perfect location!
From here you can walk to any area of the city, I would not recommend bringing a car, the queues everywhere and the high cost of parking just don't seem worth it when the train station is so close!
The hotel was clean and the rooms very nice, breakfast was amazing (but not cheap) and the service was good.
The tacky reception is a bit of a worry when you first walk in, but the rest of the hotel is tastefully decorated.
If your staying in bath, do not go to the chain pubs and restaurants, the independent ones offer far better foods and drinks for probably a lot less, and there are loads to choose from!
I would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for sending in a constructive review following your stay in Bath. Parking in Bath is costly and, if it is convenient, coming by train is a good option. As you say, everything is within walking distance. There are a lot of very good independent bars, cafes and restaurants in the city. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I haven't been to the Francis Hotel for many years and what a difference milti million pound refurbishment makes, sadly not for the better. This is a classic Hotel in a beautiful Georgian city. The Reception has white shiny buttoned PVC on the walls HORRID The rest of the reception rooms are OK but not really in keeping with the style of the building. The rooms are rather dark NO drawers or shelves for clothes No hooks on the back of the doors to hang your complementary bathrobe. The tea & Coffee tray is on the floor in the cupboard The bathroom floor has very cold tiles the controls for the bath & shower are badly displayed with very small icons on the top of the various levers & taps, you need to be 6'6" to see them while standing in the bath. The beds are VERY comfortable.
Very good breakfast choice but at £19.50 it ought to be, rather a long wait for cooked when the Hotel is full. Continental is the same price which is not acceptable. The male staff are dressed in suits with odd striped shirts ( not ironed) & no ties they look unprofessional & scruffy.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the side road above the entrance to Brasserie Blanc they are very noisy &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philippa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
It is disappointing that you don’t like the some of the design of the newly refurbished Francis Hotel. In general, we have had extremely positive feedback; sadly, it isn’t possible to please everyone’s tastes. The shelving situation in the rooms is currently being actioned as, following feedback from guests such as yourselves, we appreciate that this is an area that was overlooked on the original design. It is inexcusable that the uniform of the staff member was unironed and I have spoken to the team. On a positive note I am pleased that you found the bed to be comfortable.
Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Enjoyed a lovely peaceful, restful night at the Francis Hotel prior to visiting the Thermae Spa. The hotel is a clever and stylish amalgamation of 5-6 old Georgian houses making up one side of a very pretty square. The rooms are imaginatively decorated - I loved the line drawing of Bath that made up one wall, and the photo print of the Roman baths that lined the shower. The bed was luxurious and comfortable with a mass of pillows. We had a lovely view over the rooftops of Bath. We ate in the Brasserie Blanc which was actually a bit disappointing - Cafe Rouge but with a heftier price tag - there are more interesting restaurants nearby. We had breakfast in our room and it was very good. Parking on site is handy but expensive (£15 per night) and as the car park isn't huge, you won't be able to leave your car there after you check out if you want to spend some time in the city. Better to park at the nearby long stay car park (Queen Charlotte) - about £9 for 24 hours and only a 5 minute walk away.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor - the views are good in any direction
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triki07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay at the Francis and liked the design of the interior of the building; thank you for sending in a review. We are very lucky in Bath for eateries; it is full of restaurants and cafes with some really great independent places very close by.

Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Lots of positives:
- excellent central (but quiet) location on one of Bath's nicest squares
- very recently refurbished: quirky, fun, stylish
- nice bar with exceptionally-reasonably priced champagne!
- generally nice and stylish room
- Brasserie Blanc restaurant - good quality food (although do book)
- 2pm late check-out offered readily for the Sunday afternoon.

A few not so good points:
- check-in: we arrived at about 11.30am, and asked whether we might get our room before the 2pm advertised check-in time; the response was dismissive and pretty hostile. (We came back at 1pm and another member of staff couldn't have been more helpful)
- we were in a feature room - the top category; it wasn't that huge; the bed was dreadfully uncomfortable (a strange ill-fitting mattress cover didn't help); there was only a shower as none of this level of rooms has a bath
- it wasn't especially outstanding value for near £250 per night.

So it's nice, and we enjoyed it, but it didn't totally hit the mark.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send in a review following your stay with us. I am pleased that you had a good time and we have taken note of your comments regarding Reception; I am very sorry that you experienced a less than positive reception. It is disappointing that you found the bed to be uncomfortable as this is an area that we have had many positive comments in the past.

Kind regards –John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Booked a night at the Francis Hotel Bath in December '12, and we had a very pleasant stay. Got upgraded upon arrival, and our room was very nice indeed. We hit a little snag with the remote being missing, but upon arrival back from our afternoon out the staff had found it - the service really was very good throughout handling all our requests. Downstairs, the lounge area where we enjoyed some mulled wine looks quite posh, but not over the top. We didn't try the restaurant but the hotel looks well-decorated throughout. Considering it's also got a pretty good central location, we'd definitely consider staying here again.

The one tip, not hotel related, is that if you are going to Bath: BRING YOUR SWIMMING COSTUME! The Thermae Bath Spa rooftop pool is stunning and it'd be a crime to not visit it, but if you forgot your gear and it's not Summer - good luck hunting one down in the local shops. The local shops (Debenhams, H&M) etc. only seem to stock awkward sizes, if anything at all... that was truly a pain.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WoDi80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your great recommendation! I'm sure there will be many future guests who will benefit from reading your review. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards - John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,382 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 31 in Bath
2,765 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Mercure Bath
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing