We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was a perfectly located hotel in Bath. The room was on the small side, but it was very tastefully decorated and very clean. The desk staff was welcoming. The Roman Bath House, the Jane Austen Centre, The Royal Crescent, The Circus, shopping, dining... are just steps away from this property. This hotel was a little pricey, but it was worth it for location alone!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Summer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
We are lucky to be so well located for all the local attractions. I hope you come back soon to explore some more.

Kind regards
John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,166
    699
    207
    67
    19
See reviews for
293
1,337
70
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This hotel is one of the good ones. It has been refurbished to high standard. The rooms are warm and new. I have noticed materials used in refurbishment made in the UK
The hotel is in the city centre, which is handy for sight seeing.
Staff provide very good service.
Breakfast was of high quality and high service standard. I would come back indeed.
We have travelled for a week end as a couple.

Room Tip: Front rooms have good view but you can hear traffic noise Back rooms don't have such a good vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and recommendation. See you on your next trip.

Kind regards
John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We decided to try the Francis post refurbishment, it looked funky and bright. We were not disappointed. The decor is something you either like or not. Fantastic location 100 m seemingly from almost everything. Luckily they have parking behind the hotel which you have to pay for, but it's better than the alternative of no parking.
We had a issue with the safe and a hook falling off in the bathroom. The hotel upgraded the room immediately, which was superb and made the weekend even better.
The pillows and mattresses are superb.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AKS1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Just returned from a very enjoyable stay at The Francis Hotel. We could not fault the hotel; its staff were all pleasant and helpful, the room (at the front) had a lovely view of the square, was comfortable and well appointed and not noisy, and the breakfast was particularly good - nice to have the hot food freshly cooked and a plentiful buffet with lots of fresh fruit, fruit compotes and smoothies, as well as the usual pastries etc. The hotel is well situated, within a short walk of all the sights, shops, bars and restaurants. We would recommend it and will return.
One small problem was that we telephoned the hotel on their Bath number to make our booking and were automatically put through to an Indian call centre at a charge of 10p a minute! Communication was difficult and they did not seem to understand our request for a particular room. We feel this service lets down an otherwise exemplary hotel. Having booked with the call centre we did then email the hotel with our requests which we were pleased to find on arrival were granted.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cat063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments about your stay at the Francis Hotel.

I am sorry that you had concerns when you were making the booking prior to your stay. Our in-house reservation team work from 8.00am until 6.30pm during the week. Should you call during this time or at the weekend and the line is busy it is automatically directed to our Central Reservations Team. I am very sorry that this was not as helpful as it perhaps could have been and I have passed on your concerns. I am pleased to see that your requests were carried out on your arrival.

Kind regards
John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Positives: Great bed and pillows. Great location in the city centre (although Bath is so tiny, you are never going to be far away). Nice decor.

Negatives: extra £15 to use the car park is cheeky (and you can't stay beyond 2pm the day you leave - we had to move our car to a public car park to avoid paying another £3 per hour in the hotel car park). A little bit expensive overall - we didn't eat or drink in the hotel because there are much cheaper places to eat round the corner. The light shade above the bed was full of dust and the drinks tray was unclean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mejulie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your stay. I am pleased that you liked the bedding and décor in the Hotel.
Parking in Bath is a premium and we try to use our limited car park at the rear of the Hotel to the best advantage for the convenience of our guests, which at weekends, can be challenging.
I am very sorry that some areas in the room were not satisfactorily cleaned. This is an area that we are currently focussing on and I am confident that concerns such as this will not be a problem again.
Kind regards
John Willcock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at this hotel after having a great experience at hotel muse in Bangkok which is another M series hotel. None the less we were equally satisfied with the quality of the room, amenities and fixtures. The room was spacious for an entry level room located on the ground floor however was quiet, light and a great size.
The bed was extremely comfortable, breakfast had a great selection and had an early check in and late check out.

We would stay here again without hesitation

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pepe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, Interim General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Francis after spending time at the Hotel Muse in Bangkok. It looks wonderful! I do hope we will see you again when you are next in Bath.

Kind regards - Nicholas Bees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Great location and excellent staff who were more than helpful. We booked a "Feature" room - the best available but were surprised that there was no bath, just a shower. We asked if we could move and were shown a lower grade room which had a bath, also a view of the square and all in all was just as good as the "better" room. We saved about £30 per night so if you want a bath remember to ask when you book as I perhaps should have done. The staff were very helpful and also managed to find a phone charger for us. Parking seems pricey at £15 per day but in Bath that is not bad and so much more convenient. The revamp the hotel has had is all pretty good though the arrangement of the seating in the lounges could be improved as it is all a bit structured in sections and not as welcoming as I think it could be. Perhaps a few comfy sofas would help. But overall I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. Brasserie Blanc is good and in the same building and if you prefer a restaurant/wine bar try Beaujolais just round the corner - it is excellent.

Room Tip: Overlooking the square must be best and it is not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisBath, Interim General Manager at Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, I’m delighted you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Wishes - Nicholas Bees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 34 in Bath
1,369 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 34 in Bath
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 34 in Bath
2,742 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this historic Regency style 4 star townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery collection boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish bar and lounge offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy dining in Brasserie Blanc which adjoins the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Francis Bath
Bath Francis Hotel
Mercure Bath
Francis Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing