We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, spacious & business-oriented, is better than it looks.”
Review of Hilton Bath City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Bath City
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in Bath
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 12, 2013

As a student at the University of Bath I would grumble incessantly at the rectangular blandness of the Hilton Bath City - totally out of place in an 18th century architectural jewel like Bath. Near the foot of Walcot St. and alongside the Avon near the Pulteney Bridge - it does stand out (and not in a good way). And then I went looking for accommodations during the Glastonbury Festival. Well, I'm not grumbling about the Hilton any longer. We found the Hilton to be a comfortable property - with one of the major knocks being the rather furious thrashing of the lifts (see the helpful recommendation below about not staying in a room ending in 01). However, our room at the south end was quiet, spacious, clean and more than reasonably up to date. Staff was sincere and helpful. Breakfast was generous and excellent, and the dining room provided plenty of space to gather for tour planning. All in all, we would certainly stay there again, and have/can recommend without condition or reservation.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the rooms adjacent to the noisy lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PSC206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Your recommendation and compliments of the hotels comfort, cleanliness and helpful staff are much appreciated. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,910)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,736 - 1,742 of 2,910 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2013

Had a 2 night stay and although the exterior is quite bland once inside the hotel was excellent. all staff were efficient and they smile!! unlike many others. The hotel is 10-15 minute walk from station so very central.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thank you for your 5 star review and compliments of our hotel, staff and location. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back at some point in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed here for two nights in 1 room. the location is fantastic, close to all the key attractions around Christmas. Parking is easy. Beds were comfortable and everything was very clean. Breakfast in the morning was very good.

Room Tip: You can still get the free lobby internet from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your family stay. I am glad that you found the hotel to be ideally located for enjoying all the Christmas attractions in the city. Similarly, that the hotel is a comfortable and clean environment in which to relax. We hope to welcome you and the family back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The service was so aweful.
The room didn't including toothbrush unless you ask reception. After I called reception she said the toothbrush was out of order. Therefore I said to them I think I live in hostel instead of hotel. Then they finally give me the simple toothbrush. It was really ridiculous experience ever.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sukarien2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you for your review. Covering the eventually that a guest requires a toothbrush, we are able to supply dental hygiene kits from the concierge or reception desk and whilst we do not provide mechanical or electric toothbrushes, the dental kit does contain a manual toothbrush. I am sorry for any confusion or misunderstanding this issue caused you. We hope to welcome you back next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed at the Hilton Bath and it was great we had two rooms next to each other. The Breakfast was great food was hot and plenty of it. We had a evening meal on the Monday night 2 courses for £14.95 and the food was very good no complaints. The Hotel is very close to the Christmas Markets and we really enjoyed our stay and the staff were great.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed our famous Hilton breakfast and dining in the restaurant was an enjoyable experience. Thank you also for your compliments of our location and professional staff. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back at some point in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights to celebrate my birthday. The hotel is in an excellent location, easy walk from the station through beautiful Bath. The room was small but perfectly ok for a short stay, bathroom very good, reasonably good shower. The staff were very friendly and helpful, we checked in early. Breakfast was good and we eat in the restaurant one evening which was very nice. The major downside for the stay was the appalling noise and behaviour of the other guests on the 2nd night. The night staff worked hard to get them under control and we are grateful for their efforts. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knittycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your birthday stay. Your compliments of our hotel, its amenities, location and staff are very much appreciated. I am truly sorry to read that the behaviour of inconsiderate guests marred the second night of your stay, we are grateful for your praise of the nights team and their intervention in this matter. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Do not stay in a room with a 1 at the end of the number, you will be kept awake all night with the noise of the lift. Room not very clean. Staff very polite but that does not make up for the lack of sleep!!!!! Breakfast really good, lots of choice. All round a bit of a disappointment really for the price. Location very good. Parking £15, but when you spend that much money on a room it really should be free.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.2 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
Apex City of Bath Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,446 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Bath City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Bath City

Address: Walcot Street, Bath BA1 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bath
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: $133 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Bath City 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable 173 bedroom hotel with an excellent city centre location, located 10 minutes from the railway station and close to Bath Rugby Ground. Beautiful views from our Restaurant of Pulteney Bridge, overlooking the River Avon. Please kindly note the hotel does not own a car park. Parking is available in the local vicinity and there are 3 Park & Ride options, please speak with our Reception Team for details. Facilities available in the hotel are gym, meeting rooms, restaurant, room service, lounge and bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Bath City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Bath City Hotel Bath
Bath Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing