We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it for the location”
Review of Hilton Bath City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Bath City
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in Bath
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Hotel in fantastic location for exploring the city, centrally situated. Parking underneath hotel, £15 for duration of stay, although not great if you intend to come and go with your car, fine if leaving for the weekend. Didn't think price for parking was too bad for a whole weekend and no need for the car to explore the city. Room ok, not particularly spacious but fit for purpose. Drinks in bar stupidly expensive, but probably pretty standard hotel bar prices. Breakfast choices very good. If staying here you *must* pop across the road to The Fine Cheese Company and buy a smelly souvenir or two! Lovely cafe joined to the deli. Take earplugs to block out noise from the massive seagulls living on the roof or risk being woken by squawking in the small hours!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jooliar_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for your review following your stay with us. We are pleased that you found us ideally situated for exploring Bath city centre with its local attractions and historical sites. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at some point in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,980)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,036 - 2,042 of 2,980 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed for only one night in June and enjoyed the whole experience. The bedroom was typical Hilton American standard. The rooms at the back of the hotel, overlooking the river are the quietest but there is some noise from the hotel staff working in the yard at the rear early in the morning. Staff were very helpful, particularly the bar staff who provided ice in a bucket without demur as there is no ice machine available on any floor. Breakfast was of a high standard and catered for all tastes. The best point for the hotel is its location - right in the centre of Bath with a convenient Waitrose right next door for those essentials that a hotel charges a fortune for!

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are probably the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us so much. We are most appreciative of your compliments regarding our staff, particularly the bar staff and we are glad that you enjoyed our renowned Hilton breakfast so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

As my first review has disappeared though I'd spend more time and write a more detailed review.

We stayed at the Bath Hilton for our daughter's wedding over the weekend 7-9 June 13.

So in no particular order,
We had a diner booked in the restraint for 11, which was not particularly full, so why did it take an hour for the food especially after requesting the childrens' food to be quicker? When it did arrive the food was hot and everyone was served at the same time.
Two lifts, especially with their small size, in a hotel of this size meant lots of queuing to get up and down to our room which is great when the Bride, Bridesmaid were trying to get down from the 4th floor for the ceremony!!
In the room used for the ceremony the spare tables were piled against the wall behind where the bride and groom sat to sign the register.
And a comment of "sorry to hear that" when my wife reported the fleas we had found on Sunday morning to reception!
Considering the cost of the rooms to also have water Stains in one corner of the ceiling and the paper peeling off the two connecting walls!?

If staying be aware of the high wifi costs and the high car park charges!!

Room Tip: Back of the hotel has the better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paddler101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

We are sorry to hear that you experienced an hour’s wait for the 11 meals you had ordered in the restaurant, especially as you had requested that the children’s meals be served first. Similarly, that you experienced some maintenance and housekeeping issues in your room, we are most grateful to you for bringing these matters to our attention. Please be assured, the comments you raise will be addressed directly with the appropriate Heads of Department. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stopped for 1 night at this Hilton.
Service was wonderful. Recommended a good restaurant for dinner (the Tramshed) and gave good directions to the tourist areas.
Room was decent we had need of the sofabed so that made it a little tight but fine for 1 night.
Overall a decent Hilton hotel

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for your 5* review, we are very happy that you liked the hotel and visiting Bath city so much. We hope to welcome you back next time you are travelling in the UK.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

After booking the hotel on-line all I wanted to do was book the spa sessions for Saturday. First problem is trying to get to the Bath Hilton reception desk. Even with the direct number for the hotel I always ended up talking to someone in America. Eventually gave up. Second, the website lists this as a spa hotel, which was the main criteria for choosing it. All you have to do to get to the spa is walk half way across Bath to the Municipal spa building. Third, I booked two nights and wanted to include spa sessions. When I got to the hotel reception they said they had a special offer for that specific need. But you had to book in advance. I really did not want to know that.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We spent three nights here during our stay in Bath. The staff was very accommodating. The hotel was clean and comfortable and the room was a nice size. The staff graciously answered our questions and were happy to give directions. We had breakfast here during our stay and the food and the service wee very good. The shopping area, the Roman Bath's and the Abbey are within walking distance as are many restaurants. Our only complaint was that there was a limited housekeeping staff and it took forever to get our room cleaned. One day we had to call down after 5:00 PM when we returned from our day's outing.

Room Tip: We had a plaza room and it was spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michiganhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for your review and 5* rating following your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you found the hotel to be a clean comfortable and welcoming environment in which to stay. However, we sincerely apologise that you experienced slow service regarding housekeeping and your room being cleaned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Locationwise I guess the Hilton Bath is hard to beat. Very conveniently located on the edge of the historic centre I'd say it is a ten-minute walk to the Roman Baths / Cathedral. The Royal Crescent is also very nearby. Pricewise I think it can be a real bargain. We paid less than GBP 70 for a room and as Hhonors Diamond we were upgraded to a very nice room overlooking the river. Standard rooms seem to be a bit cramped from what we saw.

Reception staff was very friendly when checking in, professional and relatively efficient. The public spaces are made up quite nice, although it shows the property has been around for a few decades. Especially the corridors could do with a make-over. Those visiting the older Hilton properties in the UK might know what I mean. Room itself was fine though. All the amenities you would expect, coffee/tea, water, good bed, working space and a comfortable bathroom with (in our case) bath and seperate shower.

Breakfast was very busy and at times staff were not able to keep the restaurant area clean let alone clear the tables. You will get everything you'd expect from the Hilton Breakfast (full English and continental) and of a good quality. Fresh fruit offers could be improved.

What I would rate as definitely deficient in this property is the inability to offer a turn-down service, not even on request. Best they could do was bring some new towels. Not something you'd have to expect from a proper Hilton.

regarding the price we paid I would however rate this hotel somewhere between Good and Very Good - and would be back for this deal.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoctorLudwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for your review following your stay with us. We are pleased that you found us ideally situated for exploring Bath city centre with all its local attractions and historical places of interest. Similarly, that the staff made you feel welcome, were professional and you enjoyed the view from the bedroom window.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.2 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
Apex City of Bath Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,483 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Bath City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Bath City

Address: Walcot Street, Bath BA1 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bath
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: $126 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Bath City 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable 173 bedroom hotel with an excellent city centre location, located 10 minutes from the railway station and close to Bath Rugby Ground. Beautiful views from our Restaurant of Pulteney Bridge, overlooking the River Avon. Please kindly note the hotel does not own a car park. Parking is available in the local vicinity and there are 3 Park & Ride options, please speak with our Reception Team for details. Facilities available in the hotel are gym, meeting rooms, restaurant, room service, lounge and bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Bath City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Bath City Hotel Bath
Bath Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing