We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous place to stay in Bath”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kennard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kennard
Ranked #11 of 160 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous place to stay in Bath”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I spent one night here in August and it was a perfect place to see the city. An easy walk to the centre of Bath. The room was luxurious, the breakfast had a good variety of choice and was beautifully served by our friendly hosts. Would highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: No lift so make sure your luggage is not too heavy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesM189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    895
    111
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
140
551
93
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
211 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We spent two nights in this lovely hotel this week and cannot recommend it highly enough. Mary and Giovanni were thoughtful and gracious hosts, giving us many suggestions on where to eat and what to see in their beautiful city. We had a superior double room and it was very spacious and functional. Mirrors were well placed and lighting was good which is not always found. Their breakfasts were delicious and they even had it available a bit early on the day we had to leave before time to catch our tour. You will love their warm and friendly hospitality nd their lovely historic hotel. This is a real winner!!!

Room Tip: Superior doubles are spacious and well appointed, worth the extra fee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chinana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend in August and were given Room 1 (The Brown Room). We were met at the door on arrival and our cases were taken to our room, which we appreciated after a long journey. The room was perfect, had everything we needed, including a floor fan, as the weather was quite warm. We had a view over the pretty garden and although the room wasn't huge, the high ceiling and large sash window gave a feeling of light and space, making it a very comfortable room. The bathroom was a decent size, with everything we needed. The owners are very welcoming, offering local information if you need it, and happy to help with anything you need - but without being pushy or intrusive on your break. As mentioned by everyone, the breakfast was fantastic, and high quality, with attentive service again from the owners in the beautiful breakfast room. The Kennard is very central for exploring Bath, so we highly recommend this place for people travelling by train (as we did) who are looking for a conveniently placed B&B where you can walk everywhere. We visited Bath for our 10 year wedding anniversary, which the owners must have made a note of when we booked, as we returned to our room on our first night to find a chilled bottle of Prosecco, a little vase of flowers and a note wishing us a happy anniversary. Such a nice thought, which we really appreciated. Overall, this is a fantastic B&B, which we will return to, and would highly recommend to others.

Room Tip: I'm sure all therooms here are a very high standard, it's a beautiful house that is clean an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDocsHampshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
162 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed here, unfortunately, just 1 night, but the Kennard was simply perfect: excellent location, very clean, beautiful, "yummy" breakfast served in a very elegant room with the value of a 5 stars hotel, big triple room, very confortable beds and very nice garden, free parking outside.
But even better was the staff, thrt is to say the Baiano family; we had problems with the car rental during our stay and they were really helpful and nice to us.
Considering that Bath is a really nice town too, we really hope to come there again in the future and stay for more nights.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvia1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is our go-to place on our annual trips to the UK. Mary and Giovanni are amazing -- the time and effort they put in to making the Kennard a top B&B is evident all over the place. And the breakfast is perfection -- better than any 5-star hotel. No kidding. We recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wende S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverado, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great location across the bridge from central Bath. Free parking and a really short walk to everything you need to see. Room was beautifully decorated, clean, and well-appointed. We were the first room right past the front desk, so I was skeptical at first it might be noisy, but it was very quiet. Having a fan was also very nice - those older buildings can be quite stuffy, but this was not the case. Breakfast was great (yay - espresso!). The owners are very nice and helpful. The room key had a discount card attached that saved us a few pounds here and there. Unexpected bonus. Would recommend this place and stay there again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kathi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We only stayed one night and had a lovely time, the room was very clean (loved the Molton Brown toiletries), excellent location, free parking and amazing breakfast.

Only slight negative is that it is an old house, therefore floors creek, nothing can be done about that, but it is worth noting. However, don't let that put you off, a really warm welcome and excellent location (did I mention that??!!).

Will be back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blueto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#10 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kennard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kennard

Property: The Kennard
Address: 11 Henrietta Street | Off Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 6LL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kennard 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian townhouse bed & breakfast in the centre of Bath. Free permit for on street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kennard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing