We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel of Period Character”
Review of The Kennard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kennard
Ranked #11 of 155 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We were in the triple (room 5) at the front of the hotel (I call it hotel though on Tripadvisor its down as a B&B) £150 per night including excellent breakfast and generously equipped room. Unlike some triples , the 3rd bed was not a put up but a full size bed (just right for our 18 year old 6 foot son).
The hotel is in a great position on a road that is not busy but only a stroll of say 5 minutes into Bath.
This hotel is beautiful - a reminder of England of many years ago, beautifully furnished (breakfast area is a treasure) and service is generous and very efficient; even the cleaning lady was very friendly despite having to wait for us, having had a long lie in. Parking on street is free with a permit provided by the hotel.
Spotlessly clean and well maintained with a pleasant rear garden that would be nice to sit in if it ever stops raining in England. If you are American and want somewhere charming and full of English character then stay here.
The front room was noisy from 7.30 till 8.30 due to street deliveries so if quietness is preferred then a rear room would be better; room 5 is however reasonably spacious- a great room really. . Replenishments included biscuits, bottled water and generous tea & coffee sachets.
Bath is nice too; quite posh - a bit of a mix between Harrogate and York but a little wealthier, I suppose.

Room Tip: Room 5 is a great triple ( 3 full size adults) but theres some noise in the morning 7.00 ish. Rear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cagedavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,083)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

611 - 617 of 1,083 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

A charming little hotel, ideally located, 10 minutes walk from the city centre. Situated in a one of Bath's typical Georgian terraces, the interior and decor recreate the Georgian feel. We had a first class service from the friendly owners.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alanwickerjnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The Kennard comprises a lovely Georgian town house on a quiet street very close to central Bath.
Less than 5 minutes from the shops and Abbey.The owners are a charming couple, the breakfast is first class, rooms lovely and, although not really cheap, they are certainly excellent value by Bath hotel standards.We go back every year.

Room Tip: The ground and first floors have the better rooms and, of course,less stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed at the Kennard with friends for 2 nights this week and will definitely be making a return visit. It's a fabulous hotel within walking distance of the centre of Bath. We stayed in a standard double room (The Red Room) which is on the ground floor at the back of the building and has a lovely view of the garden. The room was beautifully decorated and furnished and spotlessly clean. The breakfasts were excellent. The owners Mary and Giovanni were very friendly and helpful and we'll certainly be recommending this hotel to family and friends.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of building are lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMESwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Great hotel! Immaculately clean,very friendly owners-they even bought cream fpr my coffee when they found out that was my preference-they were very helpful with sightseeing and restaurant tips. Uncomplicated and easy 10. Min walk from train station. Highly recommend .

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RWDENVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Lovely place with a nice garden. Location is ideal, just a short walk from the center of Bath.
Breakfast was absolutely wonderful! The breakfast room is very pretty, there is plenty of fresh fruit and yoghurt and there is a great variety of cooked dishes. All very well done.
Our room was impeccable and quiet, as it was at the back, and the bathroom was very comfortable and clean.
Only negative point: the room was very small with limited storage space.
All in, highly recommended for a short stay in Bath.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cocobu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Loved, loved, loved this hotel.
The owners are really nice and helpful. The hotel is decorated to a much higher standard that the price would suggest. The bed are really comfy, rooms are pleasent looking. The bathroom was absolutely beautiful, with luxury products in the shower, loved the smell of the shampoo and shower gel.
Breakfast was perfect, huge menu, and the biggest buffet ever. You could find anything from nutella to several jams, freshfruit, huge selection on cereals to peanut butter.
Can't fault anything and can't wait to go back to this lovely play.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbeaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,286 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,883 reviews
0.0 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#13 of 155 in Bath
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kennard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kennard

Address: 11 Henrietta Street | Off Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 6LL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $147 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kennard 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian townhouse bed & breakfast in the centre of Bath. Free permit for on street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Kennard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing