We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location and Hospitality”
Review of The Kennard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Kennard
Ranked #11 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and Hospitality”
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Our 2nd stay here, and we were welcomed like old friends.
The hotel has a great location for exploring beautiful Bath. The hotel is elegantly furnished, as are the rooms. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners, who go out there way to make your stay as enjoyable and as comfortable aspossible.Great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickyboyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    931
    115
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
148
572
98
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 5 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Stayed for the weekend when visiting the Christmas Markets this year. Located only minutes from Bath's amenities yet still quiet enough to get a good night's sleep. Rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated and breakfast was exceptional with locally sourced, good quality produce which was very well presented. The owners know exactly what their guests want and need and I would not hesitate to recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ontourUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, FL
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

The Kennard Hotel is elegant, comfortable (thoughtfully designed rooms with many amenities and placement of conveniences i.e hair dryer in drawer ATTACHED to built-in plug) with a breakfast that a five-star hotel could not best! Mary and Giovanni run a first-class establishment for a fraction of the price of any large chain "deluxe" hotels. The quiet location is so close to town and you get the real feeling of Bath's history in the architecture of the street.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeidiTitusville_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Centrally located in a typical Bath town house. Friendly and helpful owners who provided a pass for on street parking and they are knowledgeable about Bath's attractions and gave helpful recommendations on local restaurants. We were advised about the free walking tour of Bath which is not to be missed (if you like walking) as it gives you an initial orientation to the place The hotel is run to a high standard and the quality of the breakfast is exceptional.Our room was very clean and comfortable. Ideal for a short break. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a good place to stay in the city centre

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

This is a great place to stay if you are looking to avail yourself of the many delights Bath has to offer as it is just round the corner from everything yet set in a quiet road adjacent to a lovely park. Inside, it is immaculate and the rooms are well up to 4* hotel standard in all but size. Our double room was small as was the en suite shower room (although it had excellent fittings). The breakfast was a real treat and I can't see how any mere mortal could want any better! There is no sitting room and we would have liked a communal area as we were staying with another couple who had a room below us. Not really sure where a hotel ends and a b&b begins but I feel this is as good as the latter gets and better than some hotels I've been in. My party's two rooms did lack space and we did have to sit on the landing to drink a glass of wine and plan our next day but I still think it was well worth the money and the proprietors are very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lambdens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We had a lovely stay at the Kennard Hotel in Bath. The location is superb, as it is less than a 5 minute walk across the bridge to the old town. We stayed here as we thought it would be quiet and it was. Our room was nicely decorated, and spacious.

The breakfast was excellent with an amazing selection of teas and coffees, as well as fresh fruit. We had the traditional english breakfast. Yumm

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stegasaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Our family of 5 adults arrived in Bath at this beautiful B&B and were pleased as it was everything we reviewed on trip advisor. This was our first stop during our 14 day trip and no one wanted to leave. Our full english breakfast was amazing. The garden out back was beautiful and a perfect place to have a glass of wine. We truly enjoyed our stay at the Kennard Hotel. Thank you Mary and Giovanni!

Room Tip: Stairs only no lift. So if you have alot of luggage request a lower level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,397 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.1 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kennard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kennard

Property: The Kennard
Address: 11 Henrietta Street | Off Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 6LL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kennard 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian townhouse bed & breakfast in the centre of Bath. Free permit for on street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kennard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing