We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very welcoming Guesthouse” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brooks Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brooks Guesthouse
Ranked #29 of 192 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very welcoming Guesthouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Very friendly, welcoming and helpful staff. Lovely bright and nicely furnished breakfast room. Room very clean and nice large bed. Will definitely visit again. Would recommend. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Opt for the larger room with kingsize bed. A lovely spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    302
    88
    36
    15
See reviews for
187
508
40
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Reception was very welcoming, rooms were put together nicely, view was great and location was spot on. Didnt have to drive anywhere. Can not wait for my next visit to bath.. I will recommend my friends to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovemyrottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for her birthday in early March and we were both expecting a little more for the money we paid.
That being said, our room was very clean and had everything we needed. The breakfast was ok, nothing special. We had fun in Bath but this was bang on average.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

We were really looking forward to our stay at the guesthouse, as the website made it look like an upmarket hotel with great rooms and foodie breakfasts.

Unfortunately, from the moment we walked through the door to find that the tiles in the reception were all loose with many cracked and missing, we knew that it had been a long time since this was a luxury place.

We were then shown to our kingsize room (two singles pushed together) which we noticed, as soon as we sat on the bed, had a completely broken mattress and head board. Looking around the room, there were also various large cracks in the ceiling and bubbling paint on the walls making the room feel like a dingy hostel than a luxury guesthouse.

We asked to move rooms - the receptionist was accommodating and showed us various other options which gave us a chance to see the other rooms in the house.

We finally ended up in a double room which was quite pleasant, with a comfortable bed. It also seemed to have been recently renovated which was nice. There was however a strong smell of damp (I notice that other reviewers on this site have mentioned the same smell in the same room).

The breakfast was also completely average - very few hot veggie options, and a 'specials' board that didn't change in the 4 mornings we ate there.

All in all, if we had been paying £50- £70 per night as a hostel we would have been thrilled. But this is no means a luxury guesthouse that can fairly charge £140 per room! I would urge caution when booking if you want a fancy stay!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlabrooks, Owner at Brooks Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for your review sorry you thought we are a hostel we are a guesthouse as we state in our name and that is also how we are classified by the Tourist Board .
Hostels tend to have bunk beds and dorms in the UK not antiques, oil paintings , pin stripe carpets ,designer wallpapers and pocket sprung mattress beds .
Hostels also have breakfast that you cook your self or from a vending machines whereas our breakfast includes locally sourced ingredients from artisan and independent producers home made granola , museili , home made marmalade , juices etc
Sorry you did not like our vegetarian options we offer Eggs Florentine, pancakes , vegetarian full English and porridge which represents 4 options alongside the buffet table .options of granola yoghurt shots and muffins and oat cakes
Glad you liked the second room we offered you.
Bath is an expensive city and our rates are typically 10% cheaper than the average, hotels are typically £200 + a night in Bath at weekends
hope to see you in Brooks Guesthouse Bristol our rates are £99 a night B&B so more affordable
thank you again for choosing Brooks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We were traveling with two young children (4 & 7), and booked a family room. We were given room 10, which is just to the left as soon as you come in. While it was great that we didn't have to climb stairs with kids, luggage, and a stroller, we had to hear other (very loud) guests come in at all hours of the night. We had this problem all 3 nights of our stay, as late as 3am one night. Room 10 also smelled terrible when we first went in, like horrible body odor. We smelled it for the first 2 days, then the 3rd day it finally smelled better. The room was also quite cramped, even by European standards, for being a "family suite."

Breakfast was great, and the staff was friendly. However, for a young family I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evsmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlabrooks, Owner at Brooks Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
thank you for your feedback Sorry you did not like the family room it is a room not a suite we only have rooms not suites .They are priced accordingly offering good value for families.travelling together in the one room. Sorry you were woken up had you told us we could have moved you to another room & done more housekeeping though your room was serviced daily. thank you again and sorry you were disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

My husband suprised me with a birthday trip to bath. We stayed at Brooks for one evening.
A very helpful receptionist helped us with our parking - literally just around the corner from the guesthouse, and provided us with a small map, circling the tourist attractions.
Perfectly located - walking distance to all the popular attractions. We didnt use the car once!
The Guesthouse has lovely shabby chic bedrooms, complete with kettle and complimentary, handmade cookies.
Hoping to visit Bath again in the near future - and if we do, we will be staying here again.
Thank you for making my birthday away - even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlabrooks, Owner at Brooks Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
thank you for your positive review delighted you had a lovely birthday. Glad you liked the home made cookies and shabby chic decor. Hope to see you again in either Brooks Bath , Bristol or Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

I stayed at Brooks guesthouse for few days with a friend. It's perfectly located in Bath, easy to reach from the station, walking distance from the main attraction in town. Despite its location on the main road is very quiet, the lounge is warm and cosy and the bedroom very clean and nicely furnished.
The atmosphere in the house is lovely, staff is very professional, helpful and friendly.
Breakfast is amazing and the breakfast room very pleasant with a simple and tasteful deco, perfect to start your day in the beautiful town of Bath.
I'll definitely recommend it and I will go back there next time I will go to Bath.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silvia o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlabrooks, Owner at Brooks Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
thank you for your lovely review hope to see you again either in Brooks Bath ,Bristol or Edinburgh.
We really appreciate your custom and feedback thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.1 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#15 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
0.6 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#14 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brocks Guest House
Brocks Guest House
#53 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.0 mi away
2 Crescent Gardens
2 Crescent Gardens
#17 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oldfields House
Oldfields House
#23 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Guesthouse

Property: Brooks Guesthouse
Address: 1 Crescent Gardens | Upper Bristol Road, Bath BA1 2NA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooks Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique guesthouse in Bath city centre, featuring 22 unique & individually styled en-suite rooms. Situated 2 mins from the Royal Crescent and a flat 7 min walk to town. Serving award winning breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Brooks Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooks Guesthouse Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing