We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brooks Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
$402
$311
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$154
$145
MGallery
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$180
$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$119
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Harington's Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
$101
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Holiday Inn Express Bath(Bath)(Great Value!)
$107
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$148
$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Bailbrook House Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
$112
$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,130)
Filter reviews
1,130 results
Traveler rating
618
341
112
42
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
618
341
112
42
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barguest fridgeroyal crescentguest houseeggs florentineparking permitbreakfast roomcity centretop floorhomemade granolashort walkmain roadtriple roomfull englishstreet parkingtrufflelounge area
Filter
Updating list...
600 - 605 of 1,130 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2014

I booked the Brooks Guest House and Romantic Package with Bottle of Prosecco for my Husband’s birthday. I informed the Manager about the reason of our stay and what’s a surprise the room was decorated with balloons and banners. I requested a king double room, room was great, clean, modern and also included a very comfy bed with great quality a goose duvet and pillows.

The Staff were extremely friendly and helpful ( Tomasz, Piotr, Veronica , Kasia) offered information on the local area, attractions, shopping and restaurants.

The breakfast was delicious with a choice of varied Organic menu. We have chosen a daily special- Eggs Florentine. In addition to the breakfast we received home made crunchy cereal and fair trade coffee.

Great location to visit the town, short walking distances to the public car park (overnight free 8pm to 8am)

The Brook Guest House is superb and great value for money.

Will definitely visit again!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malgorzata2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Although the reviews here are mixed, I booked, driven by the location. Brooks is very close to Royal Crescent and a short walk from the city centre. The room- a double- is a decent size with a small table and plastic chair. It's an old building with high ceilings, decorated tastefully. There's enough hanging space in the wardrobe but little storage otherwise. OK for a couple of days but not more. Parking in the nearby Charlotte Street car park is £8.50/day. On street parking is free from 8pm to 8am, though Brooks has a few parking permits you can use for daytime parking. There's an honesty bar with wine, beer and a few snacks in case you get hungry at night. Free wifi. TV is tiny but you don't come to Bath to watch TV. Shower is clean and water pressure is good. Breakfast is cooked to order in a nice room in the basement, a good choice is available.
The b&b is unattended at night; if you arrive late your keys will be left in a secure safe outside.
The negatives: bed in room 23 is very soft, and the least comfortable bed I can remember sleeping in. Central heating is programmed to turn off at night, and by 3am the room is very cold. On the whole a fair price for the product at £69.

Room Tip: Room 23 to be avoided in winter or if you hate soft beds.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank avermes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlabrooks, Owner at Brooks Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you for the feedback just to clarify our staff" live in " the guesthouse in a staff flat but they are not "on duty 24 hours a day " as its not possible to stay awake 24 hours a day.
We staff our reception all day and all evening long , we don't usually get requests at 3am you have to go to a hotel if you need room service at 3 am not a B&B
Our pocket sprung mattress are 1000 , but it might not be the same as your bed at home sorry we can't match what you have at home.
We have 15 parking permits and 50% of guests come by train so typically we have enough for everyone
£69 is £40 under the average price for Bath so we think its a fantastic price better than Premier Inn for example. Glad you liked Bath & our location

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed for one night with my friend. We booked a spa treatment and got an option to pay a bit more so we could get a voucher for the thermal bath. The guesthouse is at a good location, quite close to the centre. The staff is very friendly, helpful and polite. We stayed in room 17 on the top floor in a twin bedroom. The room was clean what is very important for me so I was very happy. The beds are very comfy, we could sleep well throughout the night with no problem. The breakfast was good and made of fresh ingredients served by a very polite waiter. They have a breakfast menu so there are more options and not just the usual English breakfast and there were a table with juices, cereals, butter, table sauces, fruits in additional to the breakfast. We are extremely thankful to the nice receptionist who allowed us to leave our luggage there for a few hours after we checked out, and offered us a tea and biscuits and showed us in the lounge area when we returned to pick up the bags soaking wet from the rain. It was a good experience and we can only recommend the place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reka2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Room 19, second floor - compact, good looking but unpleasant smells.

Breakfast £17 for both of us (two coffees, one natural yogurt and one Eggs Florentine).

Breakfast is for free if you book through Brooks Guesthouse website - receptionist told us on ''check out''. We booked through Expedia. Receptionist on ''check in'' told us breakfast will be free. Very confusing.

Car Parking: £8/24h, make sure you get there early, limited number of parking permits.

Otherwise, ten minutes from Thermae Spa and Roman Spa.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlabrooks, Owner at Brooks Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you for feedback , we charge £8.50 for breakfast but this includes tea coffee toast yoghurt muffins oat cakes , cooked breakfast , juice, however if you only want one of those items that is your choice most guests avail of all the options .
Parking is £8 we have 15 permits and 50% of our guests arrive by train or bus so it works out that everyone can get one typically. Glad you liked room 19 its just been re decorated , not sure why there was an unpleasant smell but if you told us we would have investigated & sorted it
Glad you enjoyed your stay
PS its usually cheaper to book direct with hotels as we can give you a better deal might

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Everything about our stay was great. We had a fantastic warm welcome, with Veronica staying to welcome us even though we were late. The room was very comfortable and clean, and the decor throughout was really beautiful. The highlight was the breakfast - amazing selection of food, beautifully presented. Honesty fridge, stocked with beer, was also a great touch. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallymac99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews