We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Guesthouse in Bath with super Breakfasts!”
Review of Brooks Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brooks Guesthouse
Ranked #30 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wexford
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Guesthouse in Bath with super Breakfasts!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We booked quite a number of rooms in late Jan 2013 for a special family occassion. All the rooms were great, ours was a family room and we all slept well. Good showers.
What made it really speical for us was the wonderful lounge with open fire that was always lit. As a large group we could meet there before going out and once back again. they have an honesty bar, so you can enjoy a nightcap.
Breakfast was sublime, wonderful eggs Benedict, eggs Florentine, frech toast and so much more! Set us all up for the day!
Would recommend, a 10 minute walk to the main part of Bath but just up the hill was the Crescent and the most amazing playground! Love Bath!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Castleview70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooks G, Manager at Brooks Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you and family enjoyed all the little touches we offer at Brooks Guesthouse during the colder mouths. Our breakfast team are always pleased to hear good feedback about their work. We do hope to welcome you back at some point in the future.

Kind regards

Ben Hudson
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    313
    95
    38
    15
See reviews for
196
522
41
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Only moments from the Royal Crescent, this is a beautiful, well decorated guest house. The staff were friendly, the room large and well decorated (we stayed in a family room - large double bed and two singles). The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and plenty to eat. Just what you need for a full day's sightseeing!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooks G, Manager at Brooks Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay at Brooks Guesthouse Bath in our family room.
Thank you for your comments on Breakfast our chef and his team will be chuffed.
We hope to welcome you back to the guesthouse in the future.

Kind regards

Ben Hudson
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Very quaint full of old world charm. Our room was small but adequate. Very clean and a modern bathroom. Breakfast was extra but lots of choice and very good. I had the smokedsalmon and scrambled egg yum yum. Husband went for the full English but he always wants another sausage! Staff were friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble. We found the night quiet but pillows were too soft for me. It was about 10 mins from the centre quite a pleasant walk but it was freezing when we were there. Parking up the side road was £8 per day. Expensive but that's Bath for you. Consider this guesthouse if you are visiting.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariemacLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooks G, Owner at Brooks Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest, Thanks so much for taking the time to review the guesthouse we apprechiate your feedback. We have three different sizes of double room, either standard double which are compact with 4ft 6 or 5ft beds then king size which accomodate a 6ft super king bed or superior king double with a 6ft doubel bed and more space in the room. For future reference there is usually just £10 - £20 difference between the different room types so hopefully we have something for everyone depending on the purpose of your stay. Our pillows are goose down but please note we do keep microfibre pillows which are more dense and suitable for alegy sufferers so we would urge guest to ask and we can just swap over pillows or let us know at the time of booking if you return to Bath. We hope to welcome you back to Brooks Guesthouse soon. Kind regards, Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed in room No 8, on the top floor. The acommodation was good, everything well decorated and with very good care. The breakfast was excellent and the attention from the staff at the reception and in the restaurant were great.

One of the things that we liked is that the Guesthouse is at less than 10 min walk from the centreof the town. You walk 10 minutes and you get to the Roman Baths or to Cafe Lucca or to the Fashion Musseum.

We would recomment visitors to go! It is important to see which intermediary you are using. In our case, the intermediary sent us a receipt where you don't find dates, which makes things confusing for whoever is at the reception

Room Tip: Better if you find a room that is not in front of the street. You have cars all the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCasasbuenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooks G, Owner at Brooks Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear guest, Thanks for your positive feedback on your stay with us in Bath its always great to hear that all the hard work from the team dosn't go unnoticed. Thanks for pointing out the lack of detail on the booking confimation you received from the agent; we are swpeaking with them in order to avoid confusion with future guests. Please note all the bedrooms have double glazed windows and interlined curtains and usually the road outside is quiet at night sorry if this was not the case during your stay.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you in Bath again soon. Kind regards Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Friendly, warm and comfortable. Our twin room was very clean and comfortable with a smart bathroom, the decor in the guesthouse is really funky and well thought out, the breakfast was absolutely gorgeous. Its a good 10 minute walk into the centre of Bath and if you dont mind that then I would whole heartedly recommend this lovely guesthouse.

Room Tip: I requested a room at the back as some of the comments I had read before our trip mentioned traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooks G, Owner at Brooks Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest, Thanks so much for your nice comments. We hope to see you in Bath again soon. Kind regards Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Would highly recommend this as a base for Bath-just a 10min walk from the City centre.

All staff very friendly and helpful. Our room was lovely - clean, good size, comfy bed and good powerful shower. Loved the homemade biscuits waiting in the room.

Breakfast was lovely - organic compotes, yoghurt, fresh fruit and cereals, followed by hot options such as eggs benedict, eggs florentine, full English and toasted brioche with strawberries and creme fraiche. Perfect boiled eggs and soldiers on offer too-happy dunking!

There is a guest lounge if you want to use it and an honesty bar.

We had a spa option which meant we got two 2-hr tickets for the Bath Thermae Spa which we'd highly recommend-2 hrs was enough time for us too. Rooftop pool is divine-especially in current cold spell-frosty head and toasty body.

For places to eat we'd highly recommend Bills Cafe and Restaurant, and the Raven - Raven does lovely pies but also fantastic soup for a light snack. Pump tea rooms are over-rated; expensive and very stingy on the cream and jam for scones.

Brooks was such a good distance from the centre-10 mins walk in to start and end the day was perfect, and the distance made it feasible to pop back in the afternoon of evening.

P.s On your walk in you will pass Calconna and Smalls; if you like coffee you MUST go. Takes coffee to a whole new level-all it sells is coffee (and cake) but they are all specially blended in house. Never been or seen anywhere like it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyhols2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooks G, Owner at Brooks Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest, Thanks for your great review of the guesthouse and particularly for mentioning the home made cinnamon and ginger biscuits in the rooms and the breakfast quality. We are constantly looking to improve our guest experience and have put a lot of effort into our breakfast over the past couple of years to give our guests a really fantastic locally sourced freshly cooked breakfast with quintessentially British style. We hope we can surve you another breakfast again soon. Kind regards Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at the Brooks Guesthouse on a trip from London. We only stayed one night in one of the family rooms. The room seemed to be on the top floor. The room was small but most hotel rooms and B&B's in the UK are on the small side unless you stay at a luxury inn.But I loved the oldworld charm of the hotel. The breakfast was really good and I was very pleased overall with our stay.The location was great we had to walk a little ways to the center of Bath but I enjoyed the walk. The reason why I chose this hotel was that it was much more reasonable than hotels closer to the center of Bath.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank teresahaynes791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
1.1 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.0 mi away
2 Crescent Gardens
2 Crescent Gardens
#16 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#13 of 154 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 154 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brocks Guest House
Brocks Guest House
#56 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Guesthouse

Property: Brooks Guesthouse
Address: 1 Crescent Gardens | Upper Bristol Road, Bath BA1 2NA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooks Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique guesthouse in Bath city centre, featuring 22 unique & individually styled en-suite rooms. Situated 2 mins from the Royal Crescent and a flat 7 min walk to town. Serving award winning breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Brooks Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooks Guesthouse Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing