We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & comfortable”
Review of Brooks Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brooks Guesthouse
Ranked #31 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Te Kuiti
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clean & comfortable”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here one night in early September. Our beds were great, nice linen, quiet room. Easy walk to town. Decided against the breakfast due to the cost and made do with what we had.
I would recommend this place to future travellers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kopakitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    317
    96
    40
    16
See reviews for
199
524
41
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berthoud, Colorado
Level Contributor
130 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Location is just a couple blocks outside of the main commercial district - about a 5-10 minute walk. We did not have a car so did not have to fiddle w/ the street parking. Bus stops right near the house. Breakfast was fantastic - about 6-8 different choices each day - amazing really. We had a larger room w/ a king bed and 2 single chair-beds (sofa beds but from single size arm chairs). For the price and location - it worked perfectly for our family (2 teens and us) as a base to explore Bath by foot - not have to deal w/ a car or bus. It is older - but comfortable and really no complaints!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I chose the guesthouse based on the style, location & cost. We were luckily able to use the parking permits which saved us a small fortune in parking fees but ended up parking a fair distance away from the hotel. the lady on reception was lovely & always smiling. she was faultless. however, we realised that the rooms look a lot better on the site than in reality. though tidy, there was an element of shabbiness to it- bathroom tiles chipped, odd stains on walls & the loo roll holder was practically hanging off. we paid £120 per night & were given the attic room- very tiny indeed. it was cosy but not what we expected. we loved the breakfast area & thought the honesty bar was a great idea. We are unlikely to return to this house though as it wasn't quite central enough for the price tag.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kgleaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestbury
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

A very nice welcome pleasant room nicely decorated and large bed

Lounge was comfortable honesty bar and notebook pc available

Breakfast in basement and good menu however we could see into kitchen which sadly showed our cooked breakfast waiting and going cool on the pass

Eggs benedict arrived cool and waitress not really too bothered. Bacon cold and leathery

Not asked if we enjoyed our stay on leaving

Overall quite ok but little touches could have made a difference and a return visit more likely

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golferbillPrestbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlabrooks, Owner at Brooks Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
thank you for your review glad you liked the decor and bedroom sorry your breakfast was cold there is no excuse for that we have won awards for our breakfast so I have spoken with our team to ensure this does not happen again .
The receptionist that did not ask you how your stay was has now left the guesthouse, we always ask guests how their stay is as we love talking to our guests
apologies that did not happen when you stayed with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Brooks guest house is located just a short walk from Bath city centre and the Regency crescent. We got a double room on the top floor, which was okay but had only one bed-side table and lamp. The lounge is nice and the basement breakfast room is nicely decorated and with an eclectic mix of old and modern designed furniture. It is clear that much thought has gone in to getting the ambience right, however sometimes slips when it comes to the service provided.
Breakfast options sounds tempting on the menu, but my scrambled eggs with smoked salmon was just a sad mess. Scrambled eggs with truffles had no truffles. The toast was brown pre-sliced bread of the cheapest variety. And so on. We travelled for two weeks in England on our holidays, and Brooks was the most expensive place we stayed in. And, I am sorry to say, the most disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MollyMalmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlabrooks, Owner at Brooks Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for staying at Brooks glad you liked your room and the decor sorry you thought it was expensive we charge £89 for a double room B&B weekdays and £119 per room at the weekend and we have not changed the rates for 2years . Bath is expensive after London it is the most expensive city but we are £20 under the average room rate . Our chef Lucas is on holiday but you still should have got a fantastic breakfast I will speak to our team. , Best to send back food you are not happy with as that way the chef can re- make it until its perfect . we want customers to love their breakfast , apologies again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Queen Square in Bath is about 10 minutes walk from Brooks so it's a very good location for exploring. We discovered Victoria Park and the Royal Crescent were both much closer and that it's a relaxing route into the centre that way. Ben was welcoming on arrival and was very ready to answer any questions, as was Carla. We thought that rooms facing the main road might be noisy but in fact traffic seemed fairly light until 'rush hour' in the morning and the noise wasn't intrusive. The whole place has had a lot of thought put into decor and furnishings. Quite bold, bright and distinctive. We had a king bed: very comfortable. The curtains were huge, took effort to close and must have helped build up muscles! The bathroom was well equipped but the highlight was a good powerful shower. There's free wifi and there's a lounge where there's free Internet access if you haven't brought your own ipad etc. The comments book confirmed the good experiences. about Brooks written about on trip advisor. We'd say that the breakfast was a highlight. Can
recommend the eggs Benedict and am told the scrambled eggs with truffle oil were also good.
Lucas is the chef and definitely knows his stuff. Seems to be Brooks approach to be a bit
different and the whole team made the visit not just a place to stay but an excellent and memorable experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms will be different. The staff were very happy to describe them when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelalot053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Thank you for providing exellent accommodation for my stay in bath. Staff were very friendly and helpful, breakfast was lovely, guesthouse facilities were excellent and the location was conveniently close to city centre.

Room Tip: Certain rooms have a patio balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.1 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 154 in Bath
787 reviews
0.2 mi away
2 Crescent Gardens
2 Crescent Gardens
#17 of 154 in Bath
369 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 154 in Bath
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brocks Guest House
Brocks Guest House
#54 of 154 in Bath
290 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lamp Post Villa B&B
Lamp Post Villa B&B
#154 of 154 in Bath
160 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Edgar Townhouse
The Edgar Townhouse
#41 of 154 in Bath
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Guesthouse

Property: Brooks Guesthouse
Address: 1 Crescent Gardens | Upper Bristol Road, Bath BA1 2NA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooks Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique guesthouse in Bath city centre, featuring 22 unique & individually styled en-suite rooms. Situated 2 mins from the Royal Crescent and a flat 7 min walk to town. Serving award winning breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HRS so you can book your Brooks Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooks Guesthouse Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing