We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying at the Dorian House-A very pleasant experience.”
Review of Dorian House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dorian House
Ranked #19 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
“Staying at the Dorian House-A very pleasant experience.”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed for four days from September 14 to September 17th. At all times we felt like "at home", being cared for beautifully by the Managers Danieka and her Husband plus the rest of the staff. First-class accomodations, excelent and plentiful breakfast and pleasant sorroundings. Also, a short walking distance from the center of Bath. All in all, a very nice experience at affordable prices.

Room Tip: Our room (number 7) was spacious and with plenty of natural light. There is also a room downstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Armincar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    769
    230
    44
    20
    8
See reviews for
78
776
18
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed at Dorian House for two nights last weekend whilst visiting daughter who is a student at University of Bath. Ideally situated for walking to student homes in Oldfield Park. Stayed in the Du Pre room and what a find! The room itself was well decorated with every amenity found in hotels of a much higher price. Fantastically comfortable bed - having just returned from overseas my husband who is quite tall was very grateful to have a bed that didn't require his legs hanging out to fit!

Very quiet and peaceful and the best breakfast we have had anywhere in a long while. Only tiny niggle if I had to be particularly picky was the bath towels. Fabulous quality but it would help to have a large bath sheet available (even on request, although we didn't ask) for larger guests. However I would certainly not let a bath sheet detract from my 5 star rating!

Fabulous, helpful staff who could not do enough for you. Certainly looking forward to our next stay. Well done Dorian House - other establishments in Bath need to bring themselves up to your standards!

Room Tip: Book as soon as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bouncydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

On our recent visit we stayed in the Rossini Room which is smaller than the room we stayed at the Dorian in july 2011. However, a tastefully furnished and quiet room with a comfy bed.
My wife thought that the room could do with an additional light on the dressing table and raised this with the staff as we left the hotel. We know that suggestions are always welcome and I am confident that my wife's comments will at least be considered.
The hotel is really well managed with a cheerful and attentive staff. It really is a pleasure to stay here

Room Tip: The Garden Room is a good size and has its own external access.The Rossini Room is smaller but both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilliamHoward89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asbury Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The Dorian House is perfectly located within a short walk to Bath and all the town has to offer. Our room was very clean and tastefully decorated. The back garden is beautiful and a lovely place to sit and relax. The staff here are equally lovely and attentive. However, the stand out feature was the breakfast! Hands down the best we had on our vacation! The full English kept us full and satisfied and is enough to make us return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

What a wonderful hotel.
We arrived and were made to feel welcome.
Our rooms were very clean,spacious,and had a great veiw of the city.
Everything about the hotel was relaxing and elegant.
We enjoyed the full English breakfast and i would stay at this lovely hotel again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bridgette l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed here as part of a large group for my sister's wedding. I think it would be better to describe Dorian House as guest house rather than B&B: it's more expensive than the average B&B, but it's also a lot more stylish. Lovely rooms, plus a lounge where you can hang out and cello music during breakfast. It's also only a 10-15 minute walk into Bath city centre - the very helpful staff will point you the right way.

One tip. If you're in a large group, you may want to make sure that you don't have a shower all at once, particularly outside the normal morning/evening hours. We managed to drain all the hot water having showers in the afternoon. But for a guest house, it's not unreasonable for hot water to be limited.

I'd certainly consider staying there again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rich-cambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Disappointed with the quality of the accomodation. Booked the 'Queensize' room, naively thinking it would be an upgrade from a standard room, but instead we were put at the back of the hotel in a small, dark room with small windows which didn't provide much of a view onto the rear garden. I then checked the internet to see whether we'd been put in the correct room and it transpires they do not show pictures of the 'Queensize' rooms (there's a surprise), so there was no way to verify!

Anyway i felt cheated and misled. It was our wedding aniversary and I was expecting the accomodation to be slightly more impressive given it is meant to a 5 star hotel. In hindsight I would have booked their standard double room, which seems to be superior based on the pictures on their website.

On the plus side the breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Don't book the 'Queensize', you're better off saving and booking their standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,238 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grays Boutique B&B
Grays Boutique B&B
#10 of 154 in Bath
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#5 of 154 in Bath
1,603 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paradise House
Paradise House
#4 of 154 in Bath
1,716 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 154 in Bath
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorian House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorian House

Property: Dorian House
Address: One Upper Oldfield Park, Bath BA2 3JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dorian House 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dorian House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorian House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing