We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One to miss” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wentworth House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wentworth House
Ranked #152 of 192 Bath B&B and Inns
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One to miss”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2008

We checked in around 2 in the afternoon we were shown to our room and on entering we instantly noticed how cold it was. There was no heating on and so we decided to go out assuming it would be warm when we got back. We arrived back to the hotel at 8pm and still there was no heating on. We were freezing and phoned the reception to see when it would come on. They told us 10 o'clock. Unbelievable considering it was a freezing November night..... A shower was out of the question.
The toilet seat was broken and the extractor fan didn't work.
One day the bed wasn't made and the tea, coffee and milk was not replenished. The room door was left open so anyone could have gone in! When we complained we were met with an unsympathetic attitude. They told us that they have problems with their staff!! We told them it was unnacceptable when paying £135.00 a night and we really did expect better than this.
The walls were paper thin and we could hear conversations from other rooms.
On the second night a hen party came in from a night out and partied on into the small hours making it impossible to sleep....the management seemed oblivious to the fact that there were other guests in the hotel too!
The breakfast was edible but there were not enough staff to cope with the amount of guests meaning we had to wait 20 minutes to be served. They ran out of bread and had to go out to buy more!
All in all a dissapointing experience.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank UkBertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    84
    69
    68
    136
See reviews for
52
243
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2008

Stayed at Wentworth Hotel last December. Went with my Mum for the Christmas Market, so booked a twin room. When we arrived we were shown to a double room and told that was the only room they had available. Even though our booking confirmation email from them stated a twin room. We had no choice but to share a bed!
The room was dull and the décor was nothing to be desired. The bathroom was very small and in desperate need of updating.
After exploring the rest of the hotel, it became apparent that the whole place was in desperate need of updating and a lick of paint!!

I will say the staff were fairly pleasant but pretty useless when it came to explaining why our booking had been messed up! The only positive was the breakfast!

Didn't want to stay there again this year, but it was the only hotel with rooms available. Booked it in August....Got a phone call the other day to say my booking was being cancelled and there were no rooms available. When I asked why, the person at the end of the phone was unsure and couldn't answer my question.
Booked it through www.booking.com so I contacted them. They were BRILLIANT and tried really hard to sort the problem out. Turns out Wentworth has a policy at 'this time of year', where they only accept bookings for 2 nights or more!! Where is this stated??!! Also why didn't they tell me this when the booking was made, AND before they took 50% of the booking fee?! Have checked their site and it does not state this or show restrictions on the dates I booked!

In the end decided that I wouldn't stay there even if they sorted it out. So now I am unable to go to the Christmas Market with my Mum and all our plans have been sabotaged!

I think Wentworth seriously need to think about what they are doing, I am so upset I feel like I want to warn everyone about them!

  • Liked — The breakfast
  • Disliked — Everything apart from the breakfast
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank princess_gabble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bath hotels

East Anglia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2008

Having booked the hotel 4 months in advance and being charged the first 50% of the fee, the hotel phoned a mere week before we were due to arrive to inform us they had no free rooms. With the addition of less than favourable reviews from previous guests I can only say that this must be the worst, most disorganised hotel in Bath. Thanks to them a family trip has been ruined due to a complete lack of any other spare rooms in the city for the dates we booked.

Thank you VERY much Wentworth House for making it clear what standards you run your business to and saving us the displeasure of staying in your low-grade hotel. To dub it Fawlty Towers would be far too kind.

  • Liked — Absolutely NOTHING
  • Disliked — The hotel, the staff, the service... need I go on?
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank togosh08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2008

When myself and my other half got to the hotel. We found the staff to be very unhelpful to start with. We were then shown to our room which turned out to be very cold. There was mold on the windows, dirty towels, dirty carpets, The shower needed a good clean. One of the pipes was held on with abit of green tape. Also the tiles on the wall were blown. And as for the bed well i would"nt even let my pet dog sleep on it. We changed rooms three times and there all the same. Not WORTH the money

  • Liked — leaving the hotel
  • Disliked — everythink
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sexy091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zakynthos, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2008

The room was not clean, the bathroom was very basic with a broken shower hose. Breakfast was awful and the meat definately pre-cooked - we ate out the second morning as couldn't face it. We had evening meal the first night which was apalling and inedible. We booked 3 nights and left after 2, preferring our own home comforts despite hving to pay the full fee.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suenal2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2008

Just arrived back from a one-night stay at Wentworth House, found it completely fine, despite having read the criticisms on the website. It wasn't perfect, but it definitely wasn't terrible, the room was clean and a decent size, as was the bathroom. Staff were friendly and pleasant. Really couldn't see any of the faults described below.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank Georgethemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2008

agree with all negative comments, dirty room especially shower, which also had a broken head and soap dish , and the black mould around the bottom was disgusting . a 20 minute walk into bath city centre down a very steep hill,so had to get a taxi back . no evening meal available at time although advertised. cooked breakfast of poor quality although continental not bad..not worth anywhere near the cost , and the usual story here im afraid, paid for 3 nights, money asked for on arrival, but cut loss and left after 2 .. my advice definitely leave this one out..!!

  • Liked — the car park
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank droob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
Devonshire House
Devonshire House
#37 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#15 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.3 mi away
Astor House
Astor House
#66 of 192 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#46 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Milton House
Milton House
#23 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dorian House
Dorian House
#19 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth House

Property: Wentworth House
Address: 106 Bloomfield Road, Bath BA2 2AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wentworth House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Wentworth House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth House Hotel Bath
Wentworth Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing