We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Bed and Breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wentworth House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wentworth House
Ranked #153 of 192 Bath B&B and Inns
Zurich, switzerland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Charming Bed and Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

I loved this place for a charming B&B in Bath. It was a bit out of the way, So you do need to rent a car. Once you get into town
We did find it such an enjoyable place to stay. Felt like I was in a proper English Cottage.
Room decor was from another century which we loved! Staff are lovely and felt very welcome. Great for a couples get away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tyger9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    84
    69
    68
    136
See reviews for
52
243
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel due to location and facilities. Having looked around most hotels do not have car parking facilities or private bathrooms. This hotel has both and we were able to leave our car here even after check out as we were having a last wander into the town. We were very pleased with our stay, yes some things need updating and replacing but this is an old character filled large house and it adds to the charm of the delightful setting. Breakfast was excellent. Great choice and wonderful service. Staff were friendly and knowledgeable and very willing to help in anyway they could. The only downside is that we were not staying longer:( but we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reggie41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great welcome from the manager & excellent check in. Both rooms were good & tidy although the radiator did not appear to work in our room - hotel provided an oil heater to use although the heating did come on later in the evening.
People here have complained about the standard of cleaning, we certainly had no issues even checking the canopy over the 4 poster bed, no sign of any dust etc.
Dinner not available but we were given directions to several restaurants in Bath. We tried the Bull where the food & service were also excellent.
Breakfast the next day was really good. Eggs cooked as requested, plus a good selection of cereals, toast, jam etc.
Overall excellent value for money compared to some other establishments stayed at during our trip.
The owners could spend some money updating some of the decor as long as they don't spoil the character but I would certainly recommend Wentworth House to others

Room Tip: Suggest one of the 4 poster rooms with conservatory
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CelticBoy1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

After being given a Hilton 3 course meal voucher for a Christmas present myself and fiance decided to have a couple of nights break in Bath, we do not live very far from this beautiful city but wanted a break as not had one for over a year. I did not want to pay the over rated Hilton prices for a room and as a business person myself would rather give money to the smaller local businesses. I found Wentworth on the internet and decided due to its location we would give this hotel a go. The location was perfect of which we could walk into the city centre and these directions were printed out for us by the hotel and explained by the manager.
We arrived at 5.30pm and were greeted by the Hotel Manager who was very helpful, we booked a double room and were delighted to find we had been given a room with a four poster bed which was located at the top of the building.
Breakfast was served at specific times and was more than adequate for our needs, We felt the manager was very helpful and gave us taxi numbers to pick us up and when we returned from a long day sight seeing he served our drinks from the hotel bar although no one else was around.
There was a charge for the hot tub of which we did not partake in as we were only staying for two nights and the outdoor pool was covered overed due to it being still very early in the year, I could imagine it would be nice to use in the summer, if we ever get a summer???
Prices are very expensive when staying in or near to Bath and I feel we made the choice to support smaller businesses especially after paying £9 for a glass of wine at the Hilton of which I could have bought 3 bottles.....

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise although there are alot of stairs to get to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hotnosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

work mate and myself stayed here on sat 20th , it was booked by someone else having seen the website ,where shall i start arrived after finishing work at 8pm ,this place is easily recognised by the huge stone gate pillar hanging off to the front of the hotel , "hotel" i say ,well ,met inside by the receptionist , manager ,chef ,chambermaid ,barman , waiter all being the same person , i wont say cleaner as i will get to that bit in a while ,his manner was pleasant and we where shown to our room or should i say pit ! ,a twin room at the top of the house passing tired wall paper and paint work, dirty carpets and various dusty ornaments and pictures along the way all of them if you took to a car boot sale you would be lucky to come home with your petrol money , room 3 if i remember (avoid at all costs ) key in door , here is your room bathroom across the corridor , two builders working away for weekend just want somewhere to sleep and a decent breakfast ,that you would expect for £130 per night , well the room its self was very tired dirty walls and paintwork that of what you could see from the dust on it turned light on and ceiling fan came on (nice touch ) and the cobwebs came off :) door had been kicked in at some point or a previous guest forced it trying to escape this doss house , tv was from a dolls house, plenty of tea and coffee and biscuits was a good point ,mould all over window furniture resembled something unsold at the end of an auction , beds well i dont think i have ever slept on anything so uncomfortable turn over and you will roll out of it carpet not been hoovered ,hopefully the sheets had been changed ? the best bit about this room is the view of the hot tub when some guy and his wife got in it quite a show ,however i doubt very much they clean or filter the water so why on earth would you want to bathe in someone elses filth ? next to the wheely bins anyway , the swimming pool ha ha ha ha worth stopping off just for a look !, its black filthy water just slime god knows what is growing in there obviously closed to the public (dont want to get the carpet any dirtier i suppose when you get outand go back into the hotel ) ,that leads me to the bathroom ,remember the one across the hall ,i thought the white lino was marble effect it wasnt it was dirt, the tiles are coming off the wall in the shower some missing and walls bulging and it looks like someone has taken whatever is growing in the pool and wiped it all around screen and tray ,the shower itself is on backwards hot being cold and cold being hot ,oh and if you need the toilet get some toilet paper first as unless your arms are 6 feet long you wont reach it, lime scale down the toilet ( well we take it it was ) extractor full of dustand fluff , previous guests pubes in the shower (unless the cleaner has alopecia around there privates ! breakfast ha ha ha went down at 7.50 the waiter ,manager,chef, chambermaid, receptionist ,barman greeted us asking for a pot of tea ,told "boiler not been on long hot water not ready , fair enough , sat in dining room drab tired and carpet not been cleaned for god knows how long, nice touch though the half filled with green stagnant water double glazed window next to our table ,maybe some gold fish to swim in it?, very dusty everywhere, the tables ,well i seen better ones at our local tip varnish all off the tops of them rough as hell not even a table cloth to hide the fact ,was told hot water was ready ,its in a flask make it yourself ,cant even offer you a pot of tea or coffee make your own? must be busy with the cleaning we thought :) ? ,toast make your own as well but (id take a book to read while its in toaster )or take your own toaster i think they have the same ones in tesco for about £10, few bits of fruit and jam and cereal , oh not forgetting the cereal bars with 39p on them so as you know your getting your monies worth , now for the cooked breakfast (a feast before your very own eyes not!) snotty eggs warm beans tom bacon and tinned mushrooms is what i had my friend on the other hand went for snotty egg beans tinned mushrooms bacon toms and yesterdays sausage( i say that as the chef , manager ,receptionist chambermaid,barman would of had to of started cooking it the day before as for how hard it was ) and not forgetting the black pudding or was it a piece of tarmac from the pot holed carpark ? guess we will never know as wont be returning ever ! yes you had £130 out of us, good for you mate ,money well spent if it will stop some other poor couple from getting ripped off by you ! your prices are not bad considering it is bath very good infact ,however you can pay the same money in alot of other places there and it will be clean and worth the money all your doing is giving bath and the hoteliers that take pride in there businesses a bad name luckily they are not all like you ! and what is your response going to be ? if any , we should of said ,you would have moved us ? cant please everyone ill except that except out of 200 odd reviews you have 90 odd terrible have you just been unlucky with your guests or is there something afoot here ? anyway i hope you spend your £130 wisely i.e a hoover some dusters and polish for starters ! what a great shame such a lovely property in its self is being run so poorly maybe not your fault through lack of funds and staff if that be the case you should move on to something else that could be fantastic in the right hands ! hopefully in posting this review ( the first i have ever done b t w as not into that really ) i have saved someone a ruined visit to your lovely city of bath , ps dont bother responding id just get on with the cleaning if i where you regards mr sanders

Room Tip: other reviews speak for themselves i can only speak as i found room 3 Avoid !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tye1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bath hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

The Wentworth House Hotel in Bath is an old converted house made of the typical local stone, and sits well in its surroundings.
While there is on-site parking, there are no formal spaces, and some drivers can be less than considerate in the way that they park, so take care.
The hotel manager was polite and helpful, directing us to the nearest eateries with recommendations. While dinners are not formally advertised at the hotel, the manager did say that something could be arranged if we needed it, and breakfast offered plenty of choice: a cold buffet with a choice of cereals, and the opportunity to order a cooked breakfast.
'The Bear' is the nearest pub/restaurant, just a few minutes down the main road. The atmosphere is very nice, but be aware that you may need to ask for your meat to be 'well done', as burgers and other meat tend to be served rare, even after sending it back and asking for it to be cooked properly (my wife has an issue with eating burgers that are still red in the middle).
Our room in the hotel was a double (No. 18), and was very comfortable. Our only gripe was that, with the room being under the kitchen, we were able to hear the washing machine going, and this did keep us awake a little. The room was, however, warm and clean.
Guests should be aware that the stairs are narrow and a little steep, so heavy cases may be troublesome.
The location of the hotel is very good: a fairly short walk to the town, but the return journey takes a little longer due to the steepness of the hill. A good exercise, nevertheless.
Overall, a good base for a stay in Bath, and we would be happy to stay again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Astor House
Astor House
#66 of 192 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Devonshire House
Devonshire House
#37 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Milton House
Milton House
#24 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dorian House
Dorian House
#19 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#15 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#45 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth House

Property: Wentworth House
Address: 106 Bloomfield Road, Bath BA2 2AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wentworth House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Wentworth House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth House Hotel Bath
Wentworth Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing