We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful!!! avoid the bad reviews are true!”
Review of Wentworth House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wentworth House
Ranked #149 of 158 Bath B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awful!!! avoid the bad reviews are true!”
Reviewed December 4, 2011

I've never wrote on trip advisor before but felt compelled. We are a young couple 25 & 30 and just needed somewhere to stay to see the sights of bath; at 15 mins walk and somewhere to park with nice website pictures it was a little overpriced but looked ideal. however I wish we had looked on trip advisor! The websites pictures are very deceiving it it nothing like those! It is very outdated, which would be fine if it was clean but it was dirty! We walks into our room to find the bin had not been emptied so made us question if the room had actually been cleaned! Hairs and stains on the bed! Plus I've read on here the tv issue and we had the same. The tv didn't work a signal problem, a girl came and gave it a wiggle and then it worked. Carpets hadn't been cleaned for weeks and if there was a fire on the top floor not sure how you would get out!! Oh and when the reviews as NO HOT WATER it's true! Not just a fault on the day but a dripping cold shower I couldn't even wash my hair! I can see from previous reviews that you will say it's a 2 star and all checked etc etc but the hygiene is not up to a 1* . Please don't be defensive writing your response as you have with everyone else just take it onboard and make changes you could have a quaint little place! I wouldn't be writing this if the hotel was £50/60 a night as you get what you pay for but at £100 I don't care if it's bath or not your Hotel (house) is not worth that much so people will feel ripped off!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Honesty555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wentworth106, Manager at Wentworth House, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
This review is wrong on all levels.It seems you dint like anything about the hotel, I would like to mention that hotel was fully booked for both the nights on the weekend you stayed and we did not recieve a single complaint from any of our guests.

I very well knew you would not like anything about the hotel after seeing your reaction when you saw indian staff working in hotel.The hotel rooms are cleaned up to hygiene standards,I would really recommend the writer to read the tripadvisor review of the customer who stayed during the same time as your stay.

The problem which you mentioned about hot water is completely false as you did complaint of no hot water but then it was recitifed staright away as you didnt knew how to operate the electric shower and our staff ensured there was hot water in your bathroom.

We never recieved any complaint for television not working if so we would have recitified it immediately.

I would implore all guests in any hotels you are staying in to at least communicate with the reception desk in order to give the hotel a chance to rectify any deficiencies. We in the hotel business are only human and are delighted to help. Just talk to us !

Wentworth House is a 2 star hotel providing all factilities according to the rating.£100 is not only for the room it does involve other charges like breakfast,parking (it is highly expensive in bath - £3.50 per hour) , television facilities,Bar etc.Bath is an expensive place and i am sorry you will not find any accomodation at £50.00 offering free parking facilities,breakfast etc on christmas market weekend in Bath if so i will be glad to know about the hotel.

I do apologise that you didnot enjoy your stay at Wentworth House Hotel.We always want to make our guests happy and do not appreciate when we get false reviews like this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    86
    72
    70
    138
See reviews for
53
252
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2011

We found this to be a lovely traditional hotel with very friendly staff. We were upgraded to a king size four poster room as we had booked a double room but only a twin was available. We found it to be clean and close to town centre. Great breakfast, cooked to order and piping hot unlike other hotels we've stayed in where you have to help yourself from hot trays. Would highly recommend and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wentworth106, Manager at Wentworth House, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Thank you for your kind review about Wentworth House Hotel.I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay, in particularly the upgrade which was offered to you.

We do believe in providing fresh and hot breakfast to our guests with variety of fruits,cereals and muffins, and its always good to know that what you are offering is being appreciated .

It was good that you found hotel clean and tidy and will highly recommend to others.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to this lovely hotel with a free upgrade on your next visit as well.

Kind regards
Wentworh House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We booked the family room of this hotel for a girls weekend in Bath. Unfortunately there was a problem with the heating in the room and a heater had been left in the room which was effective if you enjoy extreme heat or cold (this was not explained to us on arrival- however we found someone still working on our room when we were shown to it).

The bathroom was our main area of complaint. There were signs of mold across the ceiling and you could see day light through the sky light where should not have! The bathroom was extremely cold and when we investigated the heated towel rail (which had a hot caution label above it) we found on further inspection that the electic cord had been removed so there was no way this would have ever going to give heat. This was clearly not a recent situation.

On the saturday night we went to put the television on and this did not work either!

The room was somewhat dated but the beds were comfortable and towels were fine.

Breakfast was fine however very disorganised. The room cost £155 per night, I can not compare it to cheaper hotels such as Premier Inn as I have had much better service for far cheaper price when staying in them.

We did not make a complaint until the last day as we did not wish to ruin our weekend and therefore we did not give them chance to rectify the above issues. When we did make a complaint we were advised that the manager was not available and the 'Directors' would be in contact. Three days later I am still waiting for a response.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wentworth106, Manager at Wentworth House, responded to this review, November 26, 2011
Thank you for your review.Its really unfortunate that you did not enjoy your stay.I apologize for the heating problem as it was not hotel"s fault- electricity department had some problem with the wiring,though we tried our best to resolve the problem and offered you an portable heater.Secondly regarding the mould i would like to mention the deep scaling of the bathrooms were done before your check in and we could not find any trace of mould in your bathroom.Lastly for Television i think you did not operate it right which led to confusion of TV not working.As you did not inform us about your problems during your stay we couldnt do much about it.But we do appreciate that you had a comfortable bed and had no complaints with the breakfast.I would also like to mention that Bath is an expensive place, so we do not have any budget hotels like premier inn in here.Once again I apologise for all the inconvience it may have caused.

with kind regards
Wentworth House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bath hotels

Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

My boyfriend booked this hotel for a weekend away in Bath and was drawn by the nice pictures on the website, including the swimming pool and hot tub (with lovely view over Bath).

However, when we got there we found that the owners had built a large garage across said nice view, the hottub costs an extra £6 (even for residents) and you had to book over an hour in advance to let it warm up, and that the hotel interior was a mixture of tired and dated mixed with European cocktail bar.

To try to be helpful to other searchers all I'd like to say is that: this place is very expensive for what it is and the website is misleading. Alternatively use your money wiseley and get somewhere closer to Bath for cheaper!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wentworth106, Manager at Wentworth House, responded to this review, November 26, 2011
Thank you for your review.I would like to clarify few things regarding your complaint.I am really not sure what garage you talking about as there is no garage and if you had booked a room with view you would have got the same.All first and second floor rooms offer view overlooking bath as mentioned on the website.Secondly the hot tub is available only for the residents and it is clearly mentioned on the website that hot tub is charged at £6.00 per person per hour .The notice period to book hot tub is 5-10 minutes as long as it is not booked by anyone else.I do apologise that you did not enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Do not stay in this hotel. The customer service is a disgrace to the hospitality service.
the hotel stinks like a fish n chip shop.
the bathrooms are a mess, old pubes on the floor, sink needs a good clean. not hot water in the shower. would not pay £5 quid for the room

The breafast was also pathetic. poor quality food and the dinning room stank.

Please do your self a favour and DO NOT STAY HERE.

Ive been coming to Bath for 5 years and it is the worst accom in the city by a long shot.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kangarooni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wentworth106, Manager at Wentworth House, responded to this review, November 26, 2011
Thank you for your review.It seems that you have not left anything which you dint like about the hotel , well I would like to mention that hotel is a two star property maintaining all the hygiene and cleaning standards and your requirements were much higher.We have had amazing feedback for the breakfast with no complaints.I apologise that you dint enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

this hotel is a horrible place. we booked 3 days and left after one, preferring to cough up again for a decent hotel - there were bed bugs, other peoples pubes in the bed, mouldy slimy hair in the plug hole - no hot water. Whole place stank of an indian takeaway - tried to complain but manager would not come to sort out the issues, and the cheeky devil deducted a further £140 off our credit card once we had checked out. We managed to find another beautiful B&B ( Appletree Guest House ) through the tourist information centre, who said they have had no end of complaints about this charming place and will no longer recommend it - says it all really!

Room Tip: go somewhere else for a good room!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HC1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wentworth106, Manager at Wentworth House, responded to this review, November 26, 2011
Thank you for your review.However i would like to clarify few things hotel is a two star property following all health and safety rules and regulations.The room you stayed in was newly refurbished,infact all the rooms have been recently refurbished and we had customers staying in the same room before and after you checked out and have never recieved any complaints till date.Secondly, this is a B&B property serving English food so i would like to clear that there can be no smell of indian takeaway in the hotel.Although, It seems by seeing the Indian/Asian staff you could smell the Indian takeaway.Unfortunately i apologise that you did not enjoy your stay but as there was no evidence or valid reason for your checkout we charged you according to the policy which is clearly mentioned on your booking terms and conditions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havant
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Having read some of the reviews we were concerned our fourposter bedroom would be awful, but were pleasantly surprised at how lovely the whole experience was.
Room was on the small side but very comfy king size bed, view over swimming pool (although garden was being redone at the time of writing), and a large modern clean bathroom.
Staff friendly and breakfast very good.
Expensive but comparable with other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Didn't try restaurant or room service
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wentworth106, Manager at Wentworth House, responded to this review, November 26, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments about Wentworh House Hotel.We really appreciate that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.It is very pleasing too read that you had a lovely experience.Do come back again sometime it would be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Kindest regards,
Wentworth House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
5.8 mi away
The Old Malt House
The Old Malt House
#1 of 1 in Timsbury
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Devonshire House
Devonshire House
#37 of 158 in Bath
230 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Edgar Townhouse
The Edgar Townhouse
#43 of 158 in Bath
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#18 of 158 in Bath
792 reviews
0.3 mi away
Astor House
Astor House
#68 of 158 in Bath
171 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#15 of 158 in Bath
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth House

Property: Wentworth House
Address: 106 Bloomfield Road, Bath BA2 2AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 158 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wentworth House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Wentworth House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth House Hotel Bath
Wentworth Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing