We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, welcoming and comfortable guest house.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Windsor
Ranked #42 of 160 Bath B&B and Inns
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely, welcoming and comfortable guest house.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

This was our first stay in Bath and I chose The Windsor as the reviews were good. It did not disappoint! We stayed for two nights at the end of February 2014 and were given a warm welcome by the Receptionist who offered us tea and coffee as our room wasn't quite ready (we were a little early). We stayed in the Sydney room which was downstairs and at the front of the guest house. The bed was super king size and very comfy. The windows looked out onto the pavement which was at eye level and we found that we needed to close the curtains is we wanted privacy. However, we were out and about for most of the daylight hours so this was not an issue. The heating and air conditioning were easy to operate. The location was within a short walking distance of the city centre. We left the car parked near the Windsor on Great Pultney Street for the whole two days. We paid £12 a day for a parking permit which the hotel provided, which was great as we did not have to think about carparking fees and having to replace a ticket, etc. When we stayed at The Windsor, they were redecorating the dining area, and we were offered breakfast to be served in our room. We took up their offer and the order was spot on. My husband is lactose intolerant and they catered for him perfectly. Overall, I would recommend The Windsor and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for your kind review, it is so nice to hear that you were happy with all aspects of your stay. Do come back should you return to Bath.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    211
    95
    50
    25
See reviews for
151
392
46
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at the Winsor in Bath. Staff were very friendly and attentive and the location was brilliant. One of the few hotels in Bath that will let you stay one night only.

Be careful on match days - it's right next door to the Rec and parking can be interesting. The staff were very helpful however and found us a parking space.

We would recommend to friends and will return if we ever have need to stay in Bath again we will be booking in!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathers34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, do come back and see us with your friends next time you need a night away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed here for one night in late February. We booked a superior room as we have a small child and when we arrived our room was ready ahead of official check in time and was complete with the requested cot. The staff are extremely friendly with good local knowledge and helped us find a place for lunch alongside issuing us maps and guidance on local attractions. The centre of town in literally a 5 minute walk.

The room we had was large and to the rear of the hotel so very peaceful. It was well appointed and very clean. All rooms are named not numbered which adds to the feeling of homeliness that we felt throughout our stay.

When we went for breakfast a high chair was already set out which I felt made the stay more personal. Breakfast was good, we had the included continental but the cooked breakfasts look very good too.

Overall a good stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiltedmuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review, it was a pleasure having you to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

I have stayed at The Windsor hotel now 3 times over the last 6 months with both friends and as a couple . The hotel is ideally located, it is a charming hotel with first rate Service. The staff are wonderful and the rooms are very comfortable and full of character. I would not stay anywhere else in Bath!.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your review, it is so nice to see guests return time and again, we hope to see you soon if you return to Bath.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed here over a Sunday night so parking outside less of a problem and worth taking up the offer of a parking permit.( cost £12)
Friendly service from all staff in elegant town house with approximately 11 rooms I think .Location excellent on Great Pulteney Street so level and quick walk into Bath. E mail contact from the hotel before the stay was useful though we declined the option to upgrade the room (for £10.00)
Comfortable beds and fluffy towels .
We opted for a standard room and were given one at the top of the house ( Walcott ) up a winding stair case. Views were great , room fairly small but very comfortable. Slight problem was the heating -the radiators were warm at the bottom only. Following a quick phone call we were moved within 15 minutes to a wonderfully warm ( and superior) room Laura .This was larger and obviously more elegant and had we realised the difference then should we stay again we would plum for this up graded option.The staff wanted us to be comfortable and our stay a positive one and were understanding regarding the problem .
Continental Breakfast was full service,( rather than self service ) plentiful and tasty ( though if you wanted a full English this was extra cost- full English extra £7.00 - a bit steep ) in the delightful dining room with views Great Pulteney Street road at an elevated level .
It was lovely spot to while away a leisurely breakfast. There was the option to buy light snacks wine and champagne during our stay which was a nice touch.
There were no problems leaving luggage in the reception area for collecting later once you had checked out .
It was elegant, comfortable and a relaxing place to stay and we are happy to recommend it .

Room Tip: Superior rooms worth the slightly increased cost. Rooms at the top are up a thin and winding stairc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elainegwasd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review. I am delighted we were able to offer you a complimentary upgrade and you enjoyed the larger superior double room. We will always endeavour to please all our guests to make eir stay as enjoyable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at The Windsor Guesthouse for the Valentine's Day weekend. Our time here was, in short, brilliant.

We arrived to a beautifully arranged room comprising of rose petals, occasion-specific chocolates and a pre-requested bottle of bubbly. Gorgeous. Our time at The Windsor started in the fashion in which it was set to continue.

Overall, the quality and cleanliness of the room was outstanding, as was the attentiveness and manner of all the staff. We experienced both the cooked and continental breakfasts on offer. Both were exemplary.

The hotel's location is brilliant: it's a short walk to the centre of town but far enough away that you're out of the hustle and bustle of the town.

Our one gripe was, incidentally, not to do with the hotel itself but with the couple in the room above us who (we concluded after some lengthy deliberation on the matter) were exercising their toddler in one of those bouncy-type things. You know, the ones which incite the children to stop their feet on the floor as if attempting to create a rift to the centre of the earth. This created noise which we deemed excessive. It should be noted, though, that this was not the hotel's fault and we did not report the problem based on its relative lack of significance.

That said, one must question whether or not the hotel presents the best value for money available. But the old adage "you get what you pay for" is truer of The Windsor than anywhere else I've stayed. It is for these reasons that I must recommend The Windsor most highly.

5 stars.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your beautifully worded review. I am so pleased you enjoyed the romantic touches we provided for the Valentines week. I am sorry you were disturbed, even slightly, by the toddler upstairs, we would not have minded a quick call down to Reception where a swift phone all to the offending room would have followed. Anyway, do come and see us again, it's always nice to see a friendly face.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Nice rooms. Very welcoming and efficient service. Perfectly located in bath. Delicious breakfast. Wifi available.
Nice rooms. Very welcoming and efficient service. Perfectly located in bath. Delicious breakfast. Wifi available.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean-florent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are happy you were so happy with all aspects of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
0.4 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Edgar Townhouse
The Edgar Townhouse
#39 of 160 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windsor

Property: The Windsor
Address: 69 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location. The Windsor, a truly superb Grade 1 listed Georgian Townhouse on Great Pulteney Street, arguably one of the best streets in Bath and one of the finest boulevards in Europe.Just two minutes level walk to the city centre and tourist attractions such as the famous Roman Baths, Abbey and Thermae Spa. Two minutes to the huge variety of shops and diverse range of restaurants Bath has to offer, we are the perfect choice for both leisure and business guests.The Windsor houses 15 individually styled ensuite bedrooms. Period features, free wifi, air conditioning, flatscreen TV, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, mini safe and ironing board come as standard. The addition of thick soft fluffy towels, cosy dorma duvets, pillows and luxury Gilchrist and Soames toiletries complete tha package and add to the guest experience. Acclaimed for our warm and friendly staff, we are always ready with a smile and happy to help with anything from restaurant suggestions to planning your onward journey. We pride ourselves in our customer service and along with our award winning breakfasts, our aim is to send you home with a desire to return. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windsor Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing