We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wet weekend in bath”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Windsor
Ranked #42 of 160 Bath B&B and Inns
brummie
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wet weekend in bath”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in February. Good points ......couldn't get a better location for central bath, friendly helpful staff, lovely breakfast.
Unfortunately we were given a room in the basement, with only a skylight for a window. I'm a bit claustrophobic so found this very oppressive. There was a humidifier in the room that clunked on and off all night. The room was huge and well facilitated but not for me. My advise would be to ask for a room on a higher level. Thought it was a little pricey too.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BrummieSunnygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are delighted you were happy with our great location, our friendly and helpful staff and our delicious breakfasts.
I am sorry you were not overly enthrawled with your room, it is a very popular room because of its huge proportions and quiet situation. If you come back, try the garden room next door with all the same facilities, but with added benefit of its own private garden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    211
    95
    50
    25
See reviews for
151
392
46
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

At first seemed like a fine hotel, accommodate us and our 3 kids, but........

After asking for complementary x box games for the kids, found that one case was empty another discs was broken. Disappointing at the time but far from the end of the world. Three days later accused of stealing x box games. Bad form. Steer clear you don't know what they'll claim from you after the event.

Definite no no.

Room Tip: Basement room for families suffers from lots of road noise. Watch out for x box games con, games of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
You are clearly angry that you were asked to return the complimentary x box games we provide for children staying in the family room. Having apologised personally if this request offended you, it is your prerogative to vent your anger in any way you feel appropriate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Lovely Friendly Staff!!!!! - Very helpful and Accommodating!!!!
Perfect location!!!! - could get from A to B very easily.
Most comfortable nights sleep had in a long time!!!
Have read the other reviews re bedrooms. Ours was on the second floor to the back of the hotel called the Abbey Room, I found this room a very good size and the bathroom with it's large mirror and ample space - Brilliant!!!!
Water ran very well, including the shower!
When booking the Windsor Guest House, I was aware that it was a continental breakfast, and I was also aware that if I wanted a Full English breakfast, I would have to pay a supplement.
It would of be nice if the continental breakfast had been laid for Guest.
And without bone picking as I really thought this to be a quaint place, another reason I picked this hotel was for the wi-fi. Not everyone needs this requirement, but we did......it just wouldn't play ball!!! - which was very irritating, I would have rather it worked properly, and have had to pay for the service. (sorry to moan!)....but it really needs sorting out!!
Thank You! for your hospitality and see you again!!

Room Tip: Get yourself a room on the first floor, especially if you have a lot of luggage, but otherwise secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyLoxley0865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your very positive review. I am so pleased you were happy with so many aspects of your stay. Regarding the WIFI, we have a series of routers on all floors which pass the signal through the building. Occasionally, a guest in the room below will unplug the router to charge an appliance, which will prevent the signal being passed to the room above. We have now labelled all routers and ask all guests on check in not to unplug the routers so everyone can enjoy our complimentary wifi. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

To me for a hotel to be given a 5* rating it would have to be perfect and offer things that other hotels may not offer. The Windsor hotel is on the infamous Great Pulteney St in Bath and is a beautiful Building with lovely tall ceilings. However, once you are inside the rooms are very dated.

We stayed in a standard double room. It had an ensuite however, the shower was tiny and surrounded by wooden panels which were aged and need upgrading. The shower itself was like a running tap as opposed to a spray and every time you turned on the tap it squealed very loudly. The room itself was big enough but not huge and the decor again was dated. The bed however was very comfortable! I think the only extras you got with this hotel was fluffy towels and shampoo to use.... Although Is this really a luxury in this day and age of hospitality?

Breakfast was included in our room rate. This was a continental but if you wanted a hot breakfast this was extra. Again... 5* service?!

The positives about this hotel would be the location... Close yo the rec for rugby fans and just a stroll into town. Our stay was by no means horrible, it's just not 5* luxury.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANONYMOUSETRAVELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Windsor for one sat evening in jan 2014. We found the windsor to be a nice guest house although not the cheapest at £165 per night, bath is generally expensive at the weekends though. The hotel is well located for central bath and has all the expected facilities.

Our room was right at the top of the building up three flights of stairs and well appoitented.

We would def stay here again and enjoyed the overall experiance.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NickP1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antim town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Beautiful central location , very friendly and helpful staff , we really enjoyed our stay and it was so handy to everything . For anyone with car and arriving on Saturday it can be difficult to get a parking space close , but don't let this put you off the Winsor more than makes up for it .

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biglofty1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at this hotel,early december 2012, it was a chance booking as we decided to visit bath purely on impulse.I found this hotel via the visit bath website and decided to give them a ring whilst we travelled.
The lady who answered the phone was very pleasant she informed us that they had availability so we decided to give them a try.
On arrival we were shown a variety of rooms and decided to go for the garden room.
The room was very well appointed it was quiet large, having french doors leading out in to the private courtyard the bathroom was also very nice having a separate bath and shower.
Breakfast was very good but I must mention that on the second morning of our stay I opted for the Eggs Benedict and that when served the egg yolks were not runny, it was a big disappointment but it was still very tasty.
This Guest House/Hotel is very good having excellent staff great decor and situated perfectly for a easy relaxing stay in beautiful bath.
Well done we will definitely be back

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skinnypete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
0.4 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Edgar Townhouse
The Edgar Townhouse
#39 of 160 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windsor

Property: The Windsor
Address: 69 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location. The Windsor, a truly superb Grade 1 listed Georgian Townhouse on Great Pulteney Street, arguably one of the best streets in Bath and one of the finest boulevards in Europe.Just two minutes level walk to the city centre and tourist attractions such as the famous Roman Baths, Abbey and Thermae Spa. Two minutes to the huge variety of shops and diverse range of restaurants Bath has to offer, we are the perfect choice for both leisure and business guests.The Windsor houses 15 individually styled ensuite bedrooms. Period features, free wifi, air conditioning, flatscreen TV, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, mini safe and ironing board come as standard. The addition of thick soft fluffy towels, cosy dorma duvets, pillows and luxury Gilchrist and Soames toiletries complete tha package and add to the guest experience. Acclaimed for our warm and friendly staff, we are always ready with a smile and happy to help with anything from restaurant suggestions to planning your onward journey. We pride ourselves in our customer service and along with our award winning breakfasts, our aim is to send you home with a desire to return. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windsor Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing