We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 5 star”
Review of The Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Windsor
Ranked #43 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Charlotte Room which was too small for comfort. It contained only one chair, the hair dryer was u/s, power points were limited and it was impossible to use the mirror in the bedroom whilst sitting.
The continental Breakfast was limited and brought to the table. I would have preferred the normal buffet approach with a wider selection of food. Disappointingly, the hot accompaniment, that I ordered and paid separately for, was brought at the same time as the other food.
No used dishes were removed from the table during my meal despite the potential for that to happen and even worst in my view, was being left to dine in an area where vacated tables adjacent to where I was sitting were left uncleared throughout the breakfast period.
On a positive note the French receptionist was extremely pleasant and helpful. Nevertheless, in short the only thing I could recommend about this Guest House is the location .

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank fatboytaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (839)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

459 - 465 of 839 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

Booked a "family room" in the "basement". Disappointed to find that the room was actually two floors below the street level (which understandably, greatly impacted natural light into room). Additionally, room was damp, water damaged and very much smelled like a basebase (dank, musty). Upon providing this feedback to staff, received the obligitory apology with the comment "it has rained alot" and made no effort redress. Rain in England?!? who knew?

The real pity is the rest of the building appeared to very nice. So while the majority of the properity may very well be "a 5 star guesthouse", the basement is a 1 star mold farm.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank msandrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed in the Sydney room, which was a large family room. It was very quiet and clean and beds were very comfortable. One of the nicest places I've stayed in awhile. Staff was friendly and the location was convenient to walk to the city center.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in midweek. Had a very large comfortable room in the basement with all that you need. Plenty of light still as we were at the front of the beautiful Georgian building in a beautiful quiet street. Few minutes walk to the centre. Staff very pleasant. I agree with previous review. Breakfast is ordered individually so it comes all at once. If you have cereal your toast is cold by the time you get to it. Only ever gave one butter each and I agree, the coffee was luke warm and weak. It's as if they are limiting you to cut costs. Make it a buffet and we can eat at our own pace.

Having said that I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJSkippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed just 1 night here but we were pleased with all aspects. Perfect location for easy walking access to all Bath attractions. We were on the top floor and the stairs are steep but the room was fine and spotlessly clean. Staff very pleasant and knowledgeable about attraction opening times etc. Breakfast very good and We did opt for a cooked one! Would choose to return if visiting Bath again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Reading some reviews on this B & B it seems that people do not read before booking therefore their expectations are not met. This is an excellent B & B, a couple of minutes walk from the centre, situated in a lovely road. We had a standard room on the front, not large but adequate and got a very good rate. They offer parking permits at extra cost which we thought was fair as obviously if you arrive by train you do not need one. Staff very welcoming and we found breakfast ample.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suze057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Just had two days at this excellent B&B good room, not large, but suited us. Clean establishment, welcoming attentive staff, good range of breakfasts available and as we intend to return to Bath, in the not to distant future we shall in all probability return here, as there are a range of comfortable rooms available, which we were shown when asked . I have seen other reviews that offer additional room info, if you need it.

I am happy to recommend the Windsor.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sunsipper380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,486 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#21 of 34 in Bath
254 reviews
0 mi away
The Edgar Townhouse
The Edgar Townhouse
#35 of 157 in Bath
302 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#10 of 157 in Bath
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windsor

Address: 69 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $104 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location. Just minutes' walk from the city centre- restaurants, shops and attractions, Bath Abbey, Thermae Spa, Roman Baths. We are renowned for our friendly and helpful staff and our Breakfast award ensures good local produce to our guests. Come and enjoy the Georgian architecture on arguably, the best street in Bath and the widest boulevard in Europe. Our rooms enjoy air conditioning, complimentary WIFI, hostess trays, hairdryers, mini safes, irons, White Company toiletries, Egyptian cotton linen and large fluffy towels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windsor Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing