We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced and over-rated!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Windsor
Ranked #43 of 192 Bath B&B and Inns
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overpriced and over-rated!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Beautiful house in fabulous location. That's where fabulous experience ends sadly. Staff seemed very friendly but we both felt it was very forced. At no time did either of us feel we were genuinely welcome there.Husband offered parking at back of hotel (for a fee, of course) as we were there for the Bath Half Marathon - Start and Finish line outside the door. He was given specific instructions by the owner as to where to park, which he followed. In the meantime I was completely ignored and had to wait until he returned to be shown to our room. Spent a very uncomfortable 5 mins in dining room reading menus whilst the staff stood in a huddle and whispered. Some very thick cobwebs on the stairs up to room. Otherwise all pretty clean looking. Up in our room 3 hours later, my husband got a phonecall telling him his car was parked in the wrong place. Took a further 30 mins for the night staff to explain where to park but told he would not be charged due to the confusion and inconvenience caused. All good after this - almost. Nice room overloking the park with fab shower and very comfy bed. Breakfast in dining room next morning was okay. Only okay. I had the breakfast muffin and husband pre-race porridge. I asked for ketchup and waited. And waited. And waited. Eventually got up and got it myself. Waitress came back TEN minutes after I initially asked for it. If I had waited for her my breakfast would have been stone cold. Husband said porridge was tasteless and lumpy. Breakfast was not included in the £150 per night charge. Outrageous. We actually skipped it next morning and went to a cafe in town. Really not impressed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
I am sorry you were not happy with the welcome you received from us, it has been unheard of that our guests feel the attention they receive is not genuine, we take great pride in our high levels of customer service and hospitality. I am dissappointed that the offer of a private parking space on the day of the Bath marathon, was not appreciated. No one previously has failed to undersatnd my directions on where to park and I'm sorry you were the first. With regard to breakfast, we had 30 very satisfied guests, many of whom enjoyed our complimentary runners breakfast, including the porrige with blueberries and banana, highlighted as being much enjoyed- again i'm sorry that you were the exception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    208
    93
    50
    24
See reviews for
151
387
46
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Good location, comfortable places, but the room was too small and cluttered. At £150 a night, I would have expected breakfast to be included, but it wasn't! The staff were polite and helpful but the woman who described her self as the owner came across as a bit pompous and condescending.

Over all, very expensive and not worth the money!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GFDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Wow, that's a first! Although I may not be described as shy and retiring, my enthusiasm and genuine interest in each of our guests has never been interpreted as anything other than sincere. Your comments have given me cause for concern and I will take them on board.
With regard to the breakfast, as you know, an excellent continental breakfast is included in the room rate and only guests who choose to have a cooked breakfast, are charged for one. We feel this is only fair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

A lovely place, we were greeted on arrival by lovely friendly staff, throughout our stay nothing was too much trouble, we had a beautiful room, topped with crisp white cotton bed linen, white fluffy towels. Service at breakfast was excellent, the food superb and the dining room is just simply beautiful. It is very well placed in Bath with the town centre just a few minutes walk away. We will definitely be coming back next year, if not before. All the staff were proud to work there and quite rightly so.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DenAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
What a lovely review, thank you. It is a joy to welcome guests who see that we aim to please on every aspect of our guests' stay, customer service, rooms, bedding & towels and breakfast. I will pass your comments on to our the staff and look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Upon arriving, we were immediately made to feel very welcomed. The staff are very friendly and help to make the hotel seem very cosy and a home away from home. The location was excellent, being a hop, skip & jump away from the town centre. The room we stayed in was lovely and the decor was in keeping with the Georgian style. The cooked breakfast was the perfect size and was delicious. The only negative comment I would make was that it felt very drafty on the bedroom floor. Although I only noticed this when putting baby in the travel cot! Nevertheless, we would love to stay at The Windsor if we're ever in Bath again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claire c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review. It is nice to hear you were happy with so many aspects of your stay, the service, your bedroom, the home away from home feel and the delicious breakfast- I am delighted.
I have investigated the drafty floor and can find not even a hint of a difference in temperature! Could it be that one of the two windows was even fractionally open, allowing a waft of air into the room? I am glad, however, it did not detract from your enjoyment and that you all had an enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Small room but nice aspect with view over garden
Bit noisey due to having kitchen right above us but not to bad overall
good staff nothig was to much trouble went the extra yard to assist.
Parking at 12 pounds a night was OK very good location close to all the good things in bath.
Would stay here again

Room Tip: As in a heritage building rooms vary greatly in size and position if possable ask avalabity / state...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whereswalshie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for your positive review, please come back and sample one of our other rooms, it is always nice to see a familiar face.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

My partner and I recently stayed here for our anniversary. The staff are all very friendly and helpful and are available 24/7. The room was absolutely amazing with a great garden view. You can also call the reception to purchase wine, chocolates and balloons etc. Buffet continental breakfast is included in the room price, but for just £6 extra you can order a hearty cooked breakfast. Although it is a buffet, there are staff providing table service - a lovely touch. Overall, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the rooms are beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bec434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We have been coming to bath for the past 6 years and always try to book the Windsor hotel. The only negative point of our stay this time was the size of the room- it was tiny compared to previous occasions but still comfortable and I was just happy to have been able to book at such short notice.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dizu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Edgar Townhouse
The Edgar Townhouse
#40 of 192 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#14 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windsor

Property: The Windsor
Address: 69 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location. The Windsor, a truly superb Grade 1 listed Georgian Townhouse on Great Pulteney Street, arguably one of the best streets in Bath and one of the finest boulevards in Europe.Just two minutes level walk to the city centre and tourist attractions such as the famous Roman Baths, Abbey and Thermae Spa. Two minutes to the huge variety of shops and diverse range of restaurants Bath has to offer, we are the perfect choice for both leisure and business guests.The Windsor houses 15 individually styled ensuite bedrooms. Period features, free wifi, air conditioning, flatscreen TV, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, mini safe and ironing board come as standard. The addition of thick soft fluffy towels, cosy dorma duvets, pillows and luxury Gilchrist and Soames toiletries complete tha package and add to the guest experience. Acclaimed for our warm and friendly staff, we are always ready with a smile and happy to help with anything from restaurant suggestions to planning your onward journey. We pride ourselves in our customer service and along with our award winning breakfasts, our aim is to send you home with a desire to return. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windsor Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing