We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Italian food and welcome”
Review of Rustico Bistro

Rustico Bistro
Ranked #14 of 574 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $81
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Traditional and authentic italian restaurant
Herts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian food and welcome”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Excellent evening with group of friends. Freshly cooked rustic Italian fare and good wine selection. Calves liver was beautifully cooked - no mean feat!! Banoffee pie to die for!! Worth ensuring you get a table on the ground floor.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SaraHitchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    493
    121
    31
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A taste of Italy”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

It was cold and wet when we visited here but once we stepped inside we felt we were in sunny Italy. It is small but very welcoming, the staff are charming Italians and the chef Sicilian ( I am a big Montalbano fan) . The menu made wonderful reading and I finally went for wild boar sausage cooked in Savoy leaf cabbage which was delicious as were the starters enjoyed by the rest of my group. I had been told by a family member who visited before, that I should try the Lasagne, made from Mama's recipe, I did and it was delicious. After a rest we even managed desert and coffee.
We stepped out into the rain feeling happy, warm and full of good food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blod12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Italian outside of Italy (and inside of Italy)”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is the best Italian we've ever had outside of Italy. It is as good as the best food we had while visiting Italy. It is a small bistro with a nice ground level room and a cozy sub level dining area. An outstanding little rustic bistro, just as the name conveys. Our server (who I think was also the owner) only added to the wonderful dinner. He took the time to talk to us about where we were from and about where he learned his craft etc... We had the cioppino and the special seafood linguine. I would recommend both highly, and luckily the cioppino was on the regular menu so is always available. Of course we had to have a bottle of red wine, and we didn't order the least or most expensive, and it was lovely. We finished off with the standard tiramisu which was as good as the entrees. Don't miss this place if you are in Bath and enjoy authentic Italian food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jefocean79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The food and atmosphere were both good. Service was excellent ad the house wine very drinkable. i would recommend

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“As Italian as it gets”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant resembles almost perfectly a traditional italian "trattoria" with its very friendly atmosphere and simple decor.
The food is very good and authentic...
Perhaps a bit pricy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fillus83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rustico Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Rustico Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing