We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food as great as the welcome!”
Review of Rustico Bistro

Rustico Bistro
Ranked #14 of 574 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $81
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Traditional and authentic italian restaurant
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food as great as the welcome!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is a cosy little restaurant where you are greeted as if into a family and treated to a fantastic feast. It was a real find and cannot wait to go back. We have recommended it to loads of people and everyone has been delighted -

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Douglas Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    493
    121
    31
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Stortford
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nearly sublime”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Visited here on a Saturday evening with my girlfriend based on the restaurant having a high ranking on tripadvisor. My expectations were fairly high before we even entered!

We were seated downstairs and were felt like we had walked into someone’s home, which we were not sure if this was a good thing or not. But anyway, onto the food...

The menu was very small, which was fine by me because it meant that there was less of a difficulty choosing! The menu was also different to the website so maybe they do not update this regularly. This was again no problem as the options were still strong. They also had a number of decent looking specials on the chalkboard which looked tasty.

We shared an antipasto alongside bread and olives. There was nothing fancy about the bread as it was just a small bread roll, breadsticks and a few olives each. The antipasto was delicious and had a nice assortment of cheese and meat.

For main we had an assortment of sausages in a bean stew with mash and the fettucine with fresh mussels. Both were lovely. The lamb sausage and the beans were delightful. The fettucine came in a pretty large portion and had all the beautiful, simple flavours you want in a pasta seafood dish.

We did notice, whilst being nosy and looking at other people’s dishes, that portion size was fairly small and that the fettucine we ordered was by far the largest dish we set our eyes upon that evening. This is not a problem if you are not a big eater but maybe something to think about if you go into the restaurant starving.

Another point to mention would be that we felt the menu may have been a little bit overpriced given the portion size. For example, the sirloin steak (8oz) special was £22. The wine was also rather pricey as we chose the cheapest bottle of red which was a £16.95 bottle of Cabernet Sauvignon. Furthermore, we requested the desert menu but we felt that the deserts, although home-made, were a little bit too expensive (between £5-6) so we opted out of desert.

The atmosphere and the ambience was not exactly what we are used to and it is hard to pinpoint exactly what made it feel different, but we didn’t feel like we had stepped into a little bit of Italy which is what we strive to find in an authentic Italian.

Overall we felt that the atmosphere was not quite as good as other restaurants we have dined at and the food was a little pricey. On the other hand, we do not have much to complain about as food was simple and very effective, which is in my opinion what you want from an Italian. The service was attentive as well. I would recommend this restaurant to others but maybe it would not be one that I would revisit time and time again; very good, but not superb.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seth B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb!”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

What a lovely place, small, lively, serving good food. Very friendly staff. The owner made us feel at home and we chatted with the chef while he was cooking. To be recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank honest76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“What a find”
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Great simple food , cooked very well. Fresh fish and pasta all washed down with some lovely Italian wine. Great service And very friendly staff . Be back very soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bobswifft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent service, very nice atmosphere”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is a good place for "foodies". The focus is on food and service and not on a fancy and pretentious atmosphere.

The food is very good - my pasta was perfectly cooked, and the fish was done correctly. Flavors were very nice. I've been here twice now and it doesn't disappointed. I also like the simple yet stylish wooden tables. The service is outstanding. Attentive yet not annoying (sadly, many nice restaurants these days have overly intrusive service). Good place for a nice cozy dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lily33532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rustico Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Rustico Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing