We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent and authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rustico Bistro

Rustico Bistro
Ranked #15 of 567 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $82
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Traditional and authentic italian restaurant
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“excellent and authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Visited here on our first night in Bath; don't be fooled by the simple exterior, the food and service were both excellent. Bright lighting did mean it wasn't particularly romantic setting, however perfect for friends wanting value for money.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tara a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    481
    118
    30
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You won't be disappointed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Ate here on a Friday evening. Pleased to be able to get a table upstairs at the last minute, and not at all disappointed. Very attentive staff; good food and drink; all in all very enjoyable experience. Perhaps the food doesn't quite merit a five-star rating, but for honest Italian food in a lovely setting (we were frequent visitors to Bistro Papillon, the previous tenants), its hard to beat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames Valley
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A lucky find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

If I lived in or near Bath, I suspect that I would rapidly become a regular customer!

We ate there on a Sunday evening, a time when the service and food in many a restaurant is at its worst, but we could fault neither, in this small and very unpretentious bistro.

We chose from the Specials [carpaccio of beef to start, followed by filet of sea bass], both of which were excellent.

The wine list offered plenty of choice of both red and white at sensible prices, but we were tempted by rose - there was just one, and that unknown to me, but my questions about it were immediately answered by an offer to taste it.

Home made tiramasu was good, as was the bought in sorbet [it's nice to get an honest answer...]

Space and furnishings are typical of many small bistro [small and simple] but tables are not so jammed in that one cannot move, and the background music was at a level that did not inhibit normal conversation.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThamesValleyGeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Italy, passion, Rustico.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Hello there I'm just a tourist in Bath, the food was great, I had the beef carpaccio followed by a filet steak perfectly medium rear, my patter had chicken leaver and fettyccine with fresh tuna aubergines and fresh mind, just delicious.
To finish we sheared a profitterol with chili and chocolate, usunual but amazing. The service was really professional and I could see a wonderfull atmosphere between kitchen and waiters, I love the blond waiter was so cute.
I can just say the best italian restaurant I went in uk, I don't really trust all this big companies like Jamie Oliver and carluccios to much commercial and not authentic. Trust me I'm Itallian.
P.S. sorry for my English

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Testuccia87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great little place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We enjoyed our meal in this friendly little place.
The food was delicious, though we found it all much too salty.
The service was excellent.
If they would cut back on the salt, we'd gladly return...often!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rustico Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Rustico Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing