We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best of Italy in the Georgian City”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rustico Bistro

Rustico Bistro
Ranked #15 of 567 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $82
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Traditional and authentic italian restaurant
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best of Italy in the Georgian City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

This is a little gem of an Italian restarant set just off the road between the Circus and the Royal Crescent. Run by two brothers Darix and Franco who have taken their culinary skills from native Italy through Bermuda and onto Bath.

The food is so fresh, it is virtually cooked at your table! The reason for this is that the restuarant is small but beautifully formed, so much so that the kitchen is the centre of the action. How do they cook so excellently in such a small space? Well, that has to be their secret, but these brothers know their business and guests always feel very well looked after. For fish, meat, amazing deserts and great Italian hospitality, this is a must visit venue when coming to Bath

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    481
    118
    30
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great classic Italian food with great personal service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

I took my 2 sons to this restaurant looking for authentic good Italian food and this is what we got with good personal service and no fuss. Thoroughly recommend this as our best meal in Bath

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aussibriggsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great B&B Recommendation for Italian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

My daughter and I stayed in a local B&B and the hosts told us of a Italian restaurant they go to all the time. We decided to try it and we were pleasantly surprised by the great food, atmosphere, and good wine. Owner and staff were fun and very helpful with selection of food and wine. Great stop, great food. Thanks for the fun!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hikingjpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Everything you would want from an Italian Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

My partner and I booked this restaurant at short notice following recommendations from Italian friends who had eaten there whilst staying in Bath. We live in Bath and quite close by but hadn't been before. The moment we arrived we knew we had made a good choice. Friendly smiles and despite being early evening already plenty of people eating. The restaurant is compact on two floors and we ate downstairs. Already knowing the portions were large we both opted for the home made lassagne which was really the best we have ever eaten. We also had a green salad. We also had the excellent garlic bread and brilliant tiramisu and a coffee. We also had a very reasonable bottle of white wine - with service the total come to around £58 which we thought was great value especially for Bath. The service was very fast and attentive without being overbearing and there was a really good relaxed atmosphere with a good mix of people. To sum up this is the sort of restaurant you find in Europe but can be hard to find in the UK i.e. really good honest food, excellent service and very good value for money. We will definately be going back

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Outdoorman_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A cosy, friendly bistro with delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

So lucky to have this bistro just down the road from our flat - we are regular visitors and never disappointed. Very friendly owners and staff and we always feel welcome. Delicious food served with a warm smile.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rustico Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Rustico Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing