We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Veggie Cafe I've ever been to!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Metropolitan Cafe

Metropolitan Cafe
Ranked #233 of 567 Restaurants in Bath
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Healthy
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Wine and Beer
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Wine and Beer
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Best Veggie Cafe I've ever been to!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

I have been up to the Metropolitan Cafe a few times with friends for one of their incredible milkshakes and cakes but recently went in for lunch. I'm a big meat eater but after eating here I didn't notice the lack of meat as everything was so full of flavour which I didn't expect with veggie food. The staff were very welcoming and on the ball. I would highly recommend this cafe to anyone and will be returning soon with my mother.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bo1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    6
    0
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really yummy vegetarian food and great coffee!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

This place has definitely had its ups and downs, but with new management last month it seems to be definitely on the way back up! I had a delicious egg sandwich today and fantastic coffee. The staff are all very friendly and the service is quick, it's a lovely cosy place to stop for a break from a busy shopping day! I love people-watching from the windows. I will definitely recommend this place to my friends now, it's hard to find a good range of affordable veggie options in Bath!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank squidqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Shopping, tea & cake!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Great day of autumn shopping in Bath yesterday looking for birthday and wedding presents. Went into Bloomsbury and the staff were very helpful when trying to find some jewellery. After much deliberation settled on some earrings from an English designer Rodgers & Rodgers. As it was late afternoon decided to stay for a cup of tea and slice of cake in the cafe upstairs. Haven't been to Bath for a long time and it was great to visit a shop full of great ideas and cafe that is not one of the high street chains. What more do you need than some retaol therapy, a lovely cup of tea and some delicious cake...next time will try some of the vegetarian options for some lunch!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chocolatelover15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“from perfect to terrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

This WAS my favorite cafe in Bath. It used to offer a large menu, a quirky setting and good service. Since moving to new management the menu has been halved, children's menu has been binned and all service has gone out of the window. Today i went to order a tap water, a cake which was sitting on the counter in front of me and one banana milkshake- the order took 20 minutes to reach my table about 5 footsteps from the counter. I do not doubt the staff have a busy job but this was ludicrous.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank candy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
134 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good value vegetarian cafe in a quirky shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Nice place for a coffee and cake especially with a vegetarian friend as difficult to find a good veggie cafe in bath ! A soup and sandwich with a glass of wine went down very well !!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetrocafeBath, Manager at Metropolitan Cafe, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thanks for the great review, hopefully see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metropolitan Cafe also viewed

 
 

Been to Metropolitan Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing