We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, friendly staff, highly recommended!”
Review of Paradise House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Paradise House B&B
Ranked #4 of 155 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2009

My wife and I just came back from our visit to Bath and our stay at Paradise House. We truly enjoyed our stay at this B&B. We stayed for 2 nights. The house is beautiful and clean with pretty gardens and stunning views of Bath. We stayed in the four poster room (nr 12). It was a very nice cosy room with a direct view into the garden. Very romantic and perfect for special occasions. It has a high standard bathroom with Jacuzzi and TV. The bed was very comfortable, the room was cleaned every day.

The manager Peter was very welcoming and friendly, gave us all the info we needed.
The other young gentleman who was his deputy, was very friendly and helpful as well. The breakfast was excellent; I especially enjoyed the smoked salmon, but there were other options to choose from. Everything was fresh and tasty.

We arrived 2 hours before our check in but we were able to leave our bags in the hotel and go to see Bath which was very helpful. The same happened when we checked out and we were even offered tea while we were waiting for our taxi which we thought was a very nice gesture.

We had a great trip, Bath is a very nice city and Paradise House made our stay very enjoyable. The day we go back to Bath we would definitely stay at this wonderful place. I highly recommend this beautiful B&B.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrzizu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,859)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,634 - 1,640 of 1,860 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2009

Spent 3 nights here with my sister before joining a group in London. Usually we have 2 twin or double beds. The room we wanted was not available the first night, so Peter the marvelous manager arranged for a rollaway bed in a lovely queen room the first night, then moved us (we packed, they moved the stuff!) for the next two nights!
Mulled wine and mince pie every evening, tea upon request or in the room, fabulous 'designer" breakfasts, a dear house kitty... couldn't have asked for more, but Peter and Barbara were quick with help for any request (which tour? which restaurant? which train?) The only thing we'd like to have next time is WARMER weather!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank txkoshari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2009

We stayed at the hotel in January for one night and thoroughly enjoyed it. We arrived at 2pm and were lucky enough to secure one of the permit car parking spaces outside of the hotel using the permit supplied by the hotel.

We were shown into the drawing room which was beautiful, and given an overview of the hotel, local area and some recommendations for dinner, all pointed out on a map which we were able to keep.

We were then shown to our room which was absolutely lovely, a double room with views over Bath (at the back of the hotel, 2nd floor) with ensuite fabulous shower and a small seating area. The room was very well appointed with everything that you need for your stay including fresh milk for your tea or coffee, always a nice touch.

The room and bathroom were immaculately clean. The Molten Brown toiletries were a welcome addition.

The hotel is very well placed for a short stroll into the city. It can be deceptive when you drive to the hotel, but in fact it is a much quicker walk than you anticipate thanks to a cut through a small park area. It took us just under 10 minutes into the city centre. You do have to walk through a subway to miss the very busy road junction, but we took a cab at night (about £5/6). The walk back up from the centre is up a steep hill, but you can't come to Bath and not expect any steep climbs!

The breakfast the next morning was lovely, as a veggie and my husband a meateater, we always get to cover most of the breakfast menu, and both of us commented how nice the cooked breakfasts were.

Before we left for the day, we were able to check out our plans on the laptop in the drawing room thanks to the provision of the laptop connected to the free broadband - a very useful tool and a great idea (especially for checking the weather forecast!)

We booked our room through laterooms and secured an exceptionally good b&b rate.

I wouldn't hesiate in recommending the Paradise House Hotel, truly a great guest experience!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mogstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2009

With it being our first visit to Bath we spent ages choosing the right place...and we weren't disappointed.

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left it was wonderful. When we arrived we were greeted by Peter and a member of his staff and lead to the Drawing Room for tea/coffee and an introduction to Bath while our bags were carried to our room

Our room (#11) was one of the garden rooms, & although we didn't have a brilliant view we only needed to step out of our door to enjoy the spectacular views of Bath! Our room had a large bed & a jacuzzi bath. The room included Molton Brown products, white spa dressing gowns, sky tv & little shortbread/flapjacks with the tea & coffee. As we were there on valentines day the maid also left a heart shape chocolate by the bed too...its the little touches which make this place special.

Breakfast is served in the drawing room from 8am...get there early because if you do you might get the table by the window...which we did on the 2nd day...and ate breakfast whilst looking out over Bath! Plenty of choice at breakfast, all cooked to order.

The only negative is the very steep hill leading up from the town to the hotel...not good if you are hard at walking...don't let this put you off because a taxi to the town was only £5-6 if you cant face the walk. Walking to the hotel from the town center takes about 10mins, where all the sights of Bath can be found.

The whole hotel is spotlessly clean with beautiful gardens....visit it now & you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bean25Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2009

My boyfriend and I decided that a weekend in Bath would be the perfect way to celebrate my birthday this year and so after looking at several hotels online, we booked Paradise House (mainly because we couldn't find a single bad review!) which was easy and efficient. When we arrived Peter, the manager, was really welcoming and helpful - he gave us maps and restaurant tips and offered to book a taxi to take us to dinner that night.
The room was absolutely beautiful - set on the second floor which afforded the most stunning views across the city. Every tiny detail had been thought of - right down to the Molton Brown toiletries and having classic fm already playing in our room when we arrived. We spent two very comfortable nights there and each morning the staff served a wonderful breakfast. There was fruit, cereal, yogurt, juice and a full cooked breakfast on top!!
Throughout the whole experience, the team at Paradise House could not have been more helpful, and the house itself more comfortable. Simply perfect...we shall definitely be returning in the near future!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Cat_D401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2009

This Guest house is a truely amazing place to stay and great value for money.

We stayed in one of the standard double rooms and it was a very nice, clean, spacious and decorated room. The settingof the room gave cosy feeling and is perfect for couples on a romantic get away. One of the things that stood out was the lovely bed and walk in shower. Other things such as tv, dvd player, satellite channels made the stay even more enjoyable.

The service in the was great and staff are very helpful in helping you plan you stay ( activities etc).

The house has an beautiful garden area and great view of Bath from the room. The house itself is situated in the middle of Bath so was really useful for us to get to the shops and Bath Spa.

We really like the lounge area in the house as well with a really nice open fire.

All in all an brilliant place to stay .. everything we could have asked for, and will be definentely going back !

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank travelle2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2008

Having visited Bath Spa on several occasions and having the excuse of my wife's birthday looming, I decided to arrange a short stay away for ourselves. Looking online, I had a few places to choose from, but having read the reviews of Paradise House I was pleasantly surprised to find not one negative review.
I booked through the internet, then called to confirm, and to arrange a display of Roses in the room for our arrival, and nothing was too much trouble for them to arrange - even though this was the day before we arrived; relatively short notice.
On arrival, Peter the proprietor showed us to our room, which was on the ground level, facing the garden. The Roses were ready, and complemented the room perfectly. The room itself, while not the largest room we have stayed in was immaculate, with a beautiful Bedknobs and Broomsticks type Queen sized bed. The decor suited the room perfectly, tasteful yet understated, which made the room somewhere where both myself and my wife would have been more than happy to spend a full day there, reading and relaxing, had we had time.
After our evening meal at a restaurant recommended by Peter, we enjoyed a refreshing nights sleep and rose early to a very quick tour and photo session around the gardens, followed by a fantastic full English Breakfast. The food was perfect, just the right amount of locally sourced produce. We both found that neither myself nor my wife were hungry for lunch at all, until well past mid-afternoon.
Once we had checked out, Peter was more than happy to look after our bags as we had a short shopping trip round Bath, and even though we were no longer 'guests' when we returned to pick the bags up, he insisted on preparing coffee and biscuits while we waited for the taxi he ordered for us, at no charge.
The people, the location and the room together made this short break into one of our most memorable visits to Bath, and we will definitely be returning back to Paradise House.

Gavin and Victoria.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GJB1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.8 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.7 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,304 reviews
1.6 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#6 of 155 in Bath
1,672 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grove Lodge
Grove Lodge
#2 of 155 in Bath
248 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brindleys Boutique B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise House B&B

Address: B&B 86-88 Holloway, Bath BA2 4PX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $128 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Paradise House B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant Georgian House, dating back to 1735, built of classic honey coloured Bath stone. The dignified exterior conceals more than half an acre of magnificent walled gardens with splendid views out over the city of Bath. Small and privately owned, our aim is to offer the best personal service with attention to every detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Paradise House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing