We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort, style and a warm welcome”
Review of Paradise House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Paradise House B&B
Ranked #4 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Comfort, style and a warm welcome”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is probably the 10th time we have stayed here and the usual high standards are still maintained. We were a little bit cheeky and asked for an upgrade and they were happy to oblige; we were given Room 14 which had its own sitting area and kitchen. Room was warm, spotlessly clean with a super king sized bed. Breakfast was as good as ever. We arrived in Bath late morning and we were able to check in and park our car before the short stroll down to the centre of Bath

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRewse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,611
    102
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
181
1,199
18
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We booked Paradise House on the strength of the TripAdvisor reviews and the photos on the website so we were a little nervous as we arrived. We needn't have worried! The hotel is beautiful, we were welcomed into the drawing room with a roaring fire (welcome on a freezing day) and given tea and cakes whilst checking in, then we were shown to our (upgraded) room, Room 5. This is a lovely room, on the second floor with wonderful views over the city and a gorgeous en suite with a roll top bath as well as large shower.

The room was clean and comfortable, tea and coffee are provided, TV, DVD, DAB radio and free wifi, Molton Brown toiletries and large towels and bathrobes made for a luxurious stay. Best of all was breakfast in bed. Usually this is a poor relation to the breakfast offered in the dining room - but not here.

The hotel has a beautiful garden and in warmer months this must be a lovely spot for an evening glass of wine enjoying the view. Unfortunately it was freezing on our visit so we had to admire it from the window. It's a short but steep walk into town, which meant all of Bath was easily accessible.

I hope we will be able to return soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrM279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Paradise House was a great base for a happy weekend in Bath. We arrived late on a foul night in January after a long drive. The satnav brought us to the exact spot and we parked on the street easily. As soon as the door opened the Paradise House magic flowed over us. The manager was very welcoming and took the time to sit down with us to provide an orientation for Bath. He was very relaxed and the effect was soothing after a stressful drive in the snow. The fireplace in the lounge was great, but we hit the four poster pretty quickly. The room was good and the bathroom luxurious, especially the underfloor heating and Moulton Brown. There were a couple of small issues with the room; the mattress has a bit of dip in the middle. Time for a replacement? The bedside lamp didn't work. This was replaced the next day, but for a top price room it should've worked. Breakfast was superb, and it was a short stroll into town for shopping and rugby. At the end of a long day we were glad we took a taxi back to Paradise, as the walk back can be invigorating. The benefit of the hillside location is a fantastic view over Bath. We weren't able to enjoy the gardens in January, but it's obvious this will be a great place in the spring and summer. In summary, this was a great place to stay. A couple of pragmatic niggles with the room prevented a 5* score, but you couldn't beat the ambience, welcome and location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CertaCito80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We were really impressed with this hotel. The rooms were luxurious, service excellent and friendly and the location was superb. The breakfast was also top notch. Amazing value for money, would highly recommend to anyone

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank numphar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed just after Xmas and it was fantastic, while the rooms are cozy, the service was great, people are friendly and the rooms have super charm... not to mention the breakfast is fantastic! It would be great in the summer too an they were helpful to find the tourists spots in town as well as the hidden gems.

Room Tip: its a short walk to town up hill on the way back so if you are older this is not the spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpakrado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Our stay was so fantastic we have already booked a return visit. Everything from the location, welcoming staff, amazing breakfast, breath taking views, cleanliness and comfort of rooms was fabulous. I Highly recommend this hotel, it's great value.

Room Tip: The superiour room had a great view over looking the garden and town, fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We visited Bath on Monday 18th Feb, we arrived really early at the hotel but were greeted with a warm reception, checked in, given a map, offered a cup of tea and went on our way into the Town centre.

Was a great location, less than 10 minutes walk to the town centre, felt really quick!

Room was really nice, amazing view, very very clean and modern! Felt totally comfortable! I'm normally one for checking the sheets etc and wearing socks at all times but didn't feel the need as everything was so spotless!

Great sized bathroom and good bath!

Huge and very comfortable bed!

Yummy breakfast served to us in our room.

Very friendly staff, would 100% recommend and go back!

Room Tip: Definitely worth upgrading to a superior room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppyT01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.8 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
0.7 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,246 reviews
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#5 of 157 in Bath
1,618 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gainsborough Bath Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise House B&B

Property: Paradise House B&B
Address: 86-88 Holloway, Bath BA2 4PX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Paradise House B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant Georgian House, dating back to 1735, built of classic honey coloured Bath stone. The dignified exterior conceals more than half an acre of magnificent walled gardens with splendid views out over the city of Bath. Small and privately owned, our aim is to offer the best personal service with attention to every detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Paradise House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing