We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely stay in Bath”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Paradise House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Paradise House
Ranked #5 of 160 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A lovely stay in Bath”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

This was a beautiful B&B - the rooms were tastefully decorated and there was a lovely cosy fireplace in the main reception room, perfect for warming you up at this time of year! There was a fabulous view, both from the front room/garden and from our room - you could see out over Bath towards the Royal Crescent. Russell and Nicci were very friendly and gave us a warm welcome. They were very knowledgeable about Bath and recommended some great restaurants (we particularly loved a local Nepalese restaurant with really tasty, authentic Nepalese cuisine). The breakfast at the Paradise House Hotel was delicious, I'd definitely recommend the smoked salmon and scrambled egg bagels. Oh and the bed was extremely comfortable! All in all, a wonderful stay. Thank you :-)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyandSimon8475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,548
    101
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
176
1,148
17
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Paradise Hotel. The staff were fantastic - very helpful and welcoming. The breakfast was delicious (fresh fruit and a high quality full English) with fresh coffee. There was a lovely seating area with a warm (highly appreciated) fire. Beautiful views of Bath from the garden. Very easy walk into the city center (albeit up a slight hill on the way back.) The room was very comfortable and luxurious and we had a very good nights sleep.
Would highly recommend.
Many thanks.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Great time in Bath. I treated my girlfriend to this stay in Bath and this is a truly wonderful place to stay with friendly and helpful staff who made us feel very welcome. We were treated very well here and this place has very beautiful views from the exterior of the hotel. Room equipped with everything luxurious and clean. Thank you.Nicci and Russell x

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2012

First visit in Bath and such a good impression. As a lot to do with this wonderfull UNESCO's city but, for sure, also with our stay at the Paradise Hotel. We were so warmly welcome and well treated. Room no 5 is the best hotel room in the world I havn't done.

See you

Damien

Room Tip: Room no 5 is a best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damien V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Comfortable room, excellent staff and a great stay!

We arrived in Bath in the afternoon of the 2nd Jan 2012. It was raining and dark, so the Bath Paradise Hotel didn't look too appealing from the street. Once inside, however, we were astonished at the warmth and coziness of the place! We were ushered through a short passage and into a sitting room with an adjoining dining area, and a warm fire crackling away in the hearth. After a short discussion regarding parking permits and the sights to see in Bath we were shown to our room.

We had booked a Queensize Double, the cheapest of the selection at the hotel. The entrance to the room was outside of the main house and we had to brave the cold and wet for a few steps to get to it, but an umbrella was place neatly in a vase just inside the door. A very thoughtful and useful touch since my wife and I made good use of the cover for our four day stay!

The room was warm and very, very comfortable... exactly what we needed.

Breakfasts were served in the dining room and sitting room, and there was the option of having breakfast served in your room. The food was great - full continental and a selection of cooked dishes were available.

The hotel was a short walk (5-8min) from the end of the High Street and only about a 10 minute walk from the entrance to the Roman Baths and Bath Abbey - quite central.

We really enjoyed our stay and can reccommend the Paradise House Hotel to anyone visiting Bath.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Rather a curious place, caught somewhere between a hotel and a B&B. Poor welcome - rang the doorbell which was eventually answered by the manager, shown our parking space and then when we reached the door with our bags we found it had been shut on us again and we had to wait some time for it to be answered by someone else. Our room was lovely, beautiful four poster bed, comfortable and warm. Creaky floorboards, angular furniture, damp patches - I hit myself badly on the sharp corner of the bath and have a brilliant bruise as a reminder. We found the staff rather cold, particularly the male manager, and felt awkward about coming down to breakfast at 9.15 (breakfast ends at 9.30). Breakfast was nice, but a little mean in terms of the buffet and we watched other residents walk into the dining room, not know what to do with themselves or where they were supposed to sit and be ignored by nearby staff. Classic FM in the background, played very low and everyone whispering or silent - very old-style seaside B&B! We felt there was a lot more that could be done to make guests welcome - longer breakfast hours for a start. Check out time was 10.30 am, again earlier than a typical hotel but more in keeping with a B&B. Felt the rooms were rather over priced all in all and that the owners were resting on the beauty of the place, rather than really making sure their guests have the best possible stay. There's also a terrible underpass you have to go through to get to the city centre. Clearly not the hotel's fault, but there's nowhere else to cross with the whole road being railed off and it's the kind of place you want to run through fast or avoid.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamana15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARADISEHOUSE, General Manager at Paradise House, responded to this review, January 7, 2012
We were sorry to hear that this guest did not have a pleasurable stay with us at Paradise House and can assure them that we have taken their comments on board. Since this review was posted we have been in touch with Tripadvisor to advise them to remove the word “hotel” from our listing as Paradise House is a B&B and run on this basis.
Please be assured that the front door was not closed intentionally. All of our guests are given a room key as well as a front door key so that they are able to come and go as they please in a home from home environment. We can only assume that a guest must have closed the door whilst the guests were bringing their bags in, or the door was blown shut by the wind. We can only apologise for the delayed response of our staff in opening the front door. We will of course address the creaky floor board and damp patch this coming week when the room will be taken out for annual maintenance and re-decoration.
Our management couple are highly trained and have been working in the hospitality industry for a number of years. They have always been polite, welcoming and offer excellent customer service which has been noted many times in other reviews. Sadly, it appears this did not live up to these guests expectations during their stay.
We pride ourselves on our breakfast which includes fresh fruit salad, seasonal berries, grapefruit, prunes, cereals, porridge, fruit and plain yogurts, orange juice, grapefruit juice, apple juice, cava (for those wanting a bucks fizz) as well as a hot options menu including Full English Breakfast, Full Vegetarian breakfast, Smoked Salmon and Scrambled eggs, Continental breakfast and Toasted Bagels topped with Scrambled eggs and salmon and cream cheese and salmon. A variety of hot beverages, toast and an assortment of preserves is also included. We also offer a continental breakfast in bed until 9.45am. We feel this is a generous offering and we receive many favourable comments to this effect.
The weekends can get very busy and sometimes many guests can arrive in the breakfast room together. We endeavour to seat guests as quickly and efficiently as possible, however at times there may be a short wait especially if our staff are serving other guests. It is never our intention to “ignore” guests. May we assure you that none of our other guests who stayed during this time complained about being ignored on arrival at the breakfast room or during breakfast service.
We try to create a relaxing and tranquil environment at Paradise House which is why our choice of music is Classical. Music tastes are extremely personal and we feel that the music played on Classic FM is inoffensive and in keeping with the period property. In fact many guests comment how relaxed they feel when they stay here and enjoy listening to classical music whilst sitting in the drawing room and taking in the wonderful views across the garden and city.
As mentioned earlier we operate Paradise House on a B&B basis which does mean that we do not have the large housekeeping team like larger hotels. Our cleaning team only work in the rooms in the mornings which is why our check out time is 10.30am, although occasionally through prior arrangement this can be extended.
We thank this guest for commenting on the beauty of Paradise House. It truly is a beautiful location and we are lucky to have such a wonderful, private walled garden with magnificent views of the city so close to the city centre, along with on and off street parking. We definitely do not rely on the beauty of the property to make our guests happy. We pride ourselves on our customer service and always strive to exceed customer expectations and help to make their stay enjoyable and memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

My room was very noisy, walls/doors are extremely thin. Staff should learn to respect privacy and not come in the room when the guests are still in bed.. not very professional.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Libby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.6 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.7 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#6 of 160 in Bath
1,579 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gainsborough Bath Spa
0.6 mi away
Brindleys Boutique B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise House

Property: Paradise House
Address: 86-88 Holloway, Bath BA2 4PX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Paradise House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant Georgian House, dating back to 1735, built of classic honey coloured Bath stone. The dignified exterior conceals more than half an acre of magnificent walled gardens with splendid views out over the city of Bath. Small and privately owned, our aim is to offer the best personal service with attention to every detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Paradise House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing