We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“go primarily for the walk and the cafe” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holburne Museum

Holburne Museum
Book In Advance
$18.64*
and up
City Sightseeing Bath Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #12 of 151 things to do in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With an impressive collection of fine and decorative art, this newly transformed Museum, with Garden Cafe, is situated in lovely grounds and is set to become Bath's must-see attraction. Open daily, admission free. 10am to 5pm (11am on Sundays)
banbridge
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“go primarily for the walk and the cafe”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

we walked over in the summer sun through stunning rows of houses and crescents, up to the striking front of the house. We sat waiting for friends in the beautiful modern glass add on at the back drinking coffee and watching the walkers through the gardens. Lovely way to while away an hour or so. the museum itself is quite eccentric in that it reflects the taste of the collector rather than having a single theme. That can make it a bit overwhelming if you try to do it all.
Do go to the section about the family who owned and built the collection and listen to the audio - it's a good scene setter. Thereafter I would recommend you pick one or two areas that interest you and spend a little time looking at the panels and info - don't forget to look at the bottom of the display panels and check if the drawers open.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank codowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    300
    69
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fine Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Excellent Art display including special exhibition of modern English paintings. Additionally a gallery of Bath life and its artisitys, p-lus a small but fine ceramic display.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phil_mary159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Free”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

What a pleasant surprise - free entry (except to the special exhibitions).

This is a very interesting museum, with a good collection of objects and well designed displays. I especially enjoyed the extra items hidden away in drawers. The text panels are clear, well placed, and easy to read, except for a few where the text seemed a little 'greyer' making it harder to read. Perhaps it was the light in that area.

I didn't eat in the cafe, but the view from its windows of the grounds was very nice. Well worth a visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LynetteMin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
103 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice place to have a look”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

I'm not the biggest fan of art, but this museum had some interesting exhibitions. They had the portrait of the Duchess of Cambridge on display when I was there, and had a "host" in the room, ready for discussion and armed with a book of the artists other works, which was fascinating to see. A lovely museum to look around - I'd allow 30-60 minutes as an average visit time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charlette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Leek and potato soup lovely. Staff very pleasant. Good atmosphere. I would recommend as good value for money and pleasant setting.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Valerie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holburne Museum also viewed

 

Been to Holburne Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing