We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful room and breakfast”
Review of Brocks Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brocks Guest House
Ranked #57 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful room and breakfast”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We spent two nights in this lovely home. Our room was nicely prepared for our arrival, so we could relax and rest after the overnight flight. We arranged for early check-in due to flight arrival time -- I think 12:30 or 1 p.m. instead of the usual 2 p.m. This is a B&B, not a hotel, so it is important to communicate your arrival time.

I think we were in room 3 at the front of the house, which was lovely for our family of 3 (17 year old son sleeping in the fold-out couch -- he reports it was comfortable). We were there on Wednesday and Thursday nights. There is a pub next door, so there was a bit of noise one night as people departed from the pub, but only lasted a couple of minutes. Thursday morning is recycling day, so there was also a bit of noise that morning as the recycling (bottles) were picked up. Other than that, the room and the house were extremely quiet. There are other rooms that face the back garden, but we really liked our room in the front.

Hostess makes a terrific and delicious and plentiful breakfast. You choose the menu the night before -- We had full English breakfast one day and some of us tried pancakes and an omelette the next morning. There are other options as well, fruit, cereal and juice are out and you can self-serve.

If we return to Bath, I would definitely return to Brocks Guest House. Location was quite convenient, too.

Room Tip: Our room faced the street. Most of the time it was perfectly quiet (silent). You may want to ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhylP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brocks H, Manager at Brocks Guest House, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Brocks. Just to clarify, there are no pubs on Brocks Street. The noise you heard would have come from guests leaving the Circus Restaurant two doors down. Very popular and highly respected, it is one of the top ten restaurants in Bath. Next time you are here you really must try it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    78
    31
    8
    2
See reviews for
58
156
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Enjoyed both the lovely room and the hearty full english breakfast. Use the hop on hop off bus as a lift, got down at the Royal Crescent stop and then walk downwards for about 30 seconds. Seating area was warm, cozy and inviting, just like your own living room. About 20 min walk to Bath Abbey.

Room Tip: Top floor has the best view but needs a bit of exercise to get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night, an excellent location near the Royal Crescent and Circus, and within walking distance of everything Bath has to offer. The managers Mike and Karen we so friendly and helpful, and made a lovely breakfast! The room we stayed in was #3, large and light, clean and the whole hotel had a lovely homely boutique feel about it. Overall very impressed and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: #3 is the honeymoon suite and very large and light
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skirkham86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2013

ideal location between the circus and royal crescent. Room was good but no wifi / internet. Internet is available in the lounge but this was locked after about 10 pm. We had a 10 min wait at the door before anyone answered after numerous bell rings and 2 phone calls. Bath center a short walk away, a lovely city. Parking is with a permit but there is limited space I recommend parking the car and leaving it for the duration of your stay if you get a space. I would recommend guest house to friends and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sean_hill7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This was all round one of the best guesthouses, perhaps the best, we have ever stayed in. Located in Brock Street between the Royal Crescent and the Circus, the house is lovely, the room was comfortable with a glorious view over the northern side of Bath and plenty of glorious blue sky and sunshine to be seen on our visit in early April, a rarity of late. The breakfast was excellent as well, with a wide choice, eaten within a charming breakfast room/lounge. The owner, Karen, was extremely friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. The extra touches were also the signs of a caring approach, such as the bookshelves on the top floor, and the research done into the history of the building since the 18th century. We will definitely be back. 5/5

Room Tip: We had a room at the top of the house at the back so was very quiet. The traffic down Brock Street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johntimelord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This place is lovely. From walking up the street it's on (right by the Royal Crescent), it looks like nothing. However, it is far from nothing.

The owners are so welcoming and the place is really homely, with a well kept communal area. They even do things like putting orange slices out for their customers. The rooms are big and gorgeously decked out, including magazines and leaflets that tell you about Bath's attractions. When you get your key, it comes with a 'fob' that gets you money off restaurants and museums, which is an added bonus. The breakfast is divine, and there are plenty of options to choose from.

When we went, my boyfriend was doing the half marathon, and although we had already checked out, they let us come back and use the baths, and even offered round cups of tea.

Fantastic place; fantastic hospitality. I would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Livs21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Spent one night at Brocks with a friend for a girly get away. Lovely room, nice and quiet in a perfect location, the road links circus with royal crescent. Karen, the manger and her staff are so accomodating and friendly, they make you feel so at home. It was a wonderful stay and we have re booked to go back in December for the Christmas markets.

Room Tip: If you want to to attend the Christmas markets in Bath strat looking for accomodation now, it is alr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 31 in Bath
1,367 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#49 of 157 in Bath
236 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 157 in Bath
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brooks Guesthouse
Brooks Guesthouse
#32 of 157 in Bath
1,040 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Halcyon Hotel Apartments
0.5 mi away
The Henry Guest House
The Henry Guest House
#23 of 157 in Bath
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brocks Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brocks Guest House

Property: Brocks Guest House
Address: 32 Brock Street, Bath BA1 2LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brocks Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our elegant Georgian home was built by John Wood the younger in 1765, and is ideally situated in the loveliest part of Bath between the Circus and Royal Crescent. We aim to offer you comfort and personal attention. We will gladly help you plan your stay in Bath, giving guidance with visits, tours and routes. Our rooms are beautifully decorated and very comfortable with all the expected amenities of a 4 gold star guest house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Brocks Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brocks Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing