We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, comfortable and a great location”
Review of Brocks Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brocks Guest House
Ranked #54 of 155 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2011

I didn't realize how wonderful the location was until I took the mayor's two-hour walking tour of the city. Nestled between the Royal Crescent and the Circus, this B&B is a stone's throw away from Gay and George Street, with a mecca of pubs, restaurants, and a great deli. A ten-minute walk gets you to the city's three major attractions -- the Roman Baths, the Bath Abbey and the thermal baths. The manager Richard is most accomodating ("nothing's too much trouble"), they serve a full English breakfast and they even have free wifi in the lounge (unfortunately not in the rooms). One item to be aware of is the shower temperature; water flow is apparently a problem throughout Bath, but can be managed with guidance and some patience. I booked only for one night at the end of my Cotswold Way walk, but ended up staying for several more nights because of the excellent location, nice rooms and friendly service.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BostonFlamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

225 - 231 of 296 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2011

Brocks is a rare find in Bath from its fantastic location, to the comfy and very clean rooms, the great british breakfast and the warm family atmosphere. The rooms are large and airey and the bathrooms spotless. The breakfast room is also spotless and the menu offers a good choice of food catering for all tastes. Brocks is situated a short walk away from all the best sight seeing attractions and just far enough away to get a good nights sleep! (We have stayed in the Travel lodge in George Street and it was hell!!)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eleanor w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed in July for four nights during a family vacation. We found it clean, convenient, and comfortable. We loved being up the hill in a somewhat residential neighborhood, away from the mobs of young people clubbing downtown. We were not driving a car so the difficulties other travelers experienced with parking did not affect us. We also liked the security; you receive a key for both the front door and your own room. Richard, the proprietor, was really helpful and provided us with everything we asked for, such as more towels and an early breakfast. He also provides guests with recommendations for local restaurants and sights which we found to be spot-on.
If you stay here, be aware that this is an old building and the plumbing is a little quirky. I sometimes had to pump the toilet handle more than once to get it to flush, and the water pressure was low in the shower, with temperature that fluctuated a bit as other people used water in the building. I see this as a trade-off you make when you choose to stay in a historic property.
I have two very minor complaints which did not detract significantly from my stay; the linens were a little tired (though clean), and there were no croissants at breakfast as advertised (though there was plenty of other food to eat!!). Croissants should probably be taken off the brochure if they are no longer being served. Other than that, the place was perfect for us and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvlwhenican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

had a wonderful relaxing stay with our friends. Very close to the town centre, within walking distance of restaurants/shops etc. Room very comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roxy2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed here for two nights and loved it. The family room is much larger than expected, and the bathroom is wonderful-longest bathtub we've ever seen! The staff was VERY accommodating and friendly. We truly enjoyed their full English breakfast! If we ever return to Bath, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GOMSUDogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Located at the Crescent and the Circus, this B&B sounded perfect - and the location was. However, Richard was not there when we arrived. We went into a gallery next door to borrow their phone to call - they said it happened frequently. We later found out he had left a key with the next door restaurant. We were there for 3 nights and found the housekeeping sloppy. Waste baskets not emptied, towels not changed, teas not replenished. Breakfast was OK - not bad, but not great.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ja45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Having stayed at Brocks before, we thought we would stop again, and for the main part were not disappointed. This is a homely guest house in a prime location between The Circus and the Royal Crescent, but with none of the pretentions or stuffiness that could be expected from such a place. In fact the owner Richard is very laid back and lets you do your own thing. The breakfasts were once again fantastic, but I fear that the room needed to have some attention paid to it - i.e, there was dust coating the radiator and other furniture, and there were holes and small stains on some of the bedlinen. I wouldn't expect this in any guest house, let alone a four star one in Bath. However the main downside to stopping here is the parking. We stopped for two nights and spent nearly £25 in parking at the fairly close by long stay car park. I say close by but you couldn't walk to it with your luggage! However, this should not prevent anyone from stopping at Brocks because overall it is a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harlyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,287 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 155 in Bath
1,083 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Halcyon Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#48 of 155 in Bath
238 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Henry Guest House
The Henry Guest House
#21 of 155 in Bath
833 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brooks Guesthouse
Brooks Guesthouse
#32 of 155 in Bath
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brocks Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brocks Guest House

Address: 32 Brock Street, Bath BA1 2LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $117 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brocks Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our elegant Georgian home was built by John Wood the younger in 1765, and is ideally situated in the loveliest part of Bath between the Circus and Royal Crescent. We aim to offer you comfort and personal attention. We will gladly help you plan your stay in Bath, giving guidance with visits, tours and routes. Our rooms are beautifully decorated and very comfortable with all the expected amenities of a 4 gold star guest house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Brocks Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brocks Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing