We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty”
Review of The Roman Baths

The Roman Baths
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.62*
and up
Roman Baths and Bath City Walking Tour
Ranked #1 of 156 things to do in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Roman Baths is one of the finest historic sites in Northern Europe, and one of the most popular tourist attractions in the UK. Hidden beneath the present city of Bath lies the stone remains of one of the finest religious spas of the ancient world.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beauty”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We loved every minute looking at the sheer craftsmanship, the Romans showed the pride in their work.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank suzyesme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15,161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10,719
    3,684
    619
    106
    33
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
177 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Interesting.”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

They have put on a good display with lots of information about how the baths were discovered & the history through the ages. There are lots of film clips to watch & you are given an audio guide, included in the admission price. You can taste the water, at the end of the visit, which was better than I had been told. It had just a slight metallic taste.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Flo413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fascinating and must be visited!”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This was the best thing we did whilst visiting Bath. An excellent insight into Roman life, very well preserved and so much to see. We found it thoroughly enjoyable and interesting. We spent about 2.5 - 3 hours there to really take our time and see everything properly. The audio guide is excellent and we also particularly enjoyed the additional audio commentaries from writer Bill Bryson, who gave his own personal feelings on the site. An absolutely amazing place.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Happybunny666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
95 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Amazing sight, drink the water but it taste like crap”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We went on a tour here on the way to Stonehenge. Bath is a really cool place to see. It really takes you back a thousand years to see a place like this. I usually don't think about the Roman history of England until you see a place like this. You can't take a bath here, but they do let you drink the water. It is horrible but do it anyway. The city of Bath is really cool too.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Drew-of-ten-sees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wow thats a nice place!”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Bath is a great place to see and full of roman influence! The roman baths and the abbey are next door to each other, so you can visit both. The Abbey is free of charge, but you can make a small donation if you would like to, for maintenance. Probably best time to visit the Roman baths will be in the summer, as most of the museum is outside and it can be quite cold. Well....I leave it to you to decide!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tokyo_Drifter13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Roman Baths also viewed

 

Been to The Roman Baths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing